Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2900 (Misses' t-shirts) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 201 times 40 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Coconuts
photo
Friend of PR
About Coconutsstar
MI USA
Member since: 12/2/09
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/11/09 9:23 PM
See other patterns in this category: Maternity    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
3 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Patzee said...
Hi, Coconuts! Thanks for the review. I'm not that good of a sewer, but I think that 200 Polartec is a bit too heavy a knit for this top. It's designed for lighter weight knit fabrics. I'm sure it just added to your frustration. Have you tried using the message boards here on PR Review? It's a great place to get some help when you are having problems with a new pattern, material, or as you mentioned, not knowing how to finish a sleeve hem. There are so many terrific sewers that are always willing to help someone work through a pattern or process. Stop by the messages boards and ask your questions. I'll be looking forward to your next review. Thanks!
12/13/09 2:10 AM
homejewel said...
I have to agree with Patzee. I have made this pattern (have not posted the review yet) and agree that Polartec would be too heavy of a knit for this pattern. I used an interlock knit and it turned out well. I have reviewed another Kwik Sew top pattern using polar fleece that turned out well that you might consider if you are looking for a polar fleece top: http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&reviewnum=39165 Kwik Sew patterns are designed to be traced. That is why they are printed on thick paper. I can't remember what the directions say about hemming, but I would use the same method for the sleeves as the bodice. I used a coverstitch machine on mine. Some people have had good success applying a knit stabilizing tape and then using a double needle.
12/21/09 3:20 AM
iSewQuiltArt said...
Polartec would be too thick for this. I have made and reviewed it and found the fit was nearly spot on for a C cup bust. I cut a size L and its roomy enough to be comfy without being overly large. The KS patterns are drafted for a C cup bust so if you are larger you would probably need to do a FBA. I haven't sliced my pattern up to access the other neckline options. I am lazy and rather than trace- which I might later, I folded the pattern edge back bit by bit and marked the new necline for the front with a chalk pencil then joined up the dots as I was cutting. Smooth perfect neckline. You could also poke pins thorugh the pattern on the line you want to transfer then pull the pattern back gently leaving the pins in as a marker for the new neckline- mark with your favourite marker and your'e good to go ( with the pinning, you need to poke them in to the fabric but not pin like usual, leave the heads sticking up vertically) Do try this again in a nice double knit jersey with 25% stretch as indicated on the envelope, and give it another go before writing it off, because it has become my new TNT go- to top. I just cut another out today with the mock turtleneck option and am going to go and sew it up- review to come shortly!
7/1/11 10:05 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

McCall's 2940
photo
Review by HanPanda on 12/27/13
Read Review

Burda 7645 Pattern
Burda 7645 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3320 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3320 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8323
photo
Review by MNBarb on 10/29/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Peep Toe Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Peep Toe Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Annabelle Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )
Peek-A Boo Annabelle Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern
Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus D202 DVD
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us