SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3506 

Viewed 387 times 
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 267
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 93 people
patterns reviewed: 232
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/12/09 2:39 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
Available for sale on PR: $11.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.99 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nancy2001 said...
What a great looking Western shirt. It looks so professionally sewn, I'm sure your father will love it.
12/12/09 8:22 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Great work, Nikki. How was the construction of the faux shoulder yokes? Would it be easier in terms of symmetry to reshape a real shoulder yoke wth a Western flourish than topstitch a decorative one on? KS should take your advice and add to the s/a, it seems when pattern companies do that they make all s/a's uniform. It seems the neckline might also benefit from a wider s/a to allow hidden staystitching.
12/13/09 3:37 AM
fourkid said...
Very nicely done - thanks for the great review.
12/13/09 1:06 PM
voet said...
Pattern companies use the quarter inch seam allowance because that is often done in industrial sewing. A four thread overlock stitch on many sergers are a quarter inch. It is also possible to do a faux flat felled seam using quarter inch seam allowances. This method is taught in some of Industrial Sewing classes. I used to not like them, but after getting used to them, they have the advantage of not requiring that the seam be trimmed. On some older patterns, it strikes me as kind of a wast of time to use a 5/8 inch seam allowance and then be told to trim it down. Islander uses different seam allowances for different seams. While this requires that you pay more attention, it strikes me as offering the best of both worlds.
12/13/09 8:56 PM
Nikki said...
Katharine, the yoke construction was fairly easy, and I am guessing that they have you make faux yokes because of the pointy/complicated shape of the yokes. It would probably be more difficult to make real yokes in such a design and have it turn out nicely. voet, I agree that 1/4 inch seam allowances have their uses, although for my heavier and shreddy fabric, a wider s.a. was better for my purposes. In a lightweight shirting, 1/4 allowances might have worked better.
12/14/09 9:55 PM
Hilary said...
Great looking shirt! I love the color and it's less "curvy" than most and yet still western-style. Thanks for the review, I bet your father loves it!
11/22/10 11:42 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Simplicity 9469

photo
by: arianamani...

Review
Vogue Patterns 1166

photo
by: dizzle

Review
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

Buy Now