SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 9771 (Vogue 9771 Misses' Blouse)

28 more reviews
Viewed 575 times 
Reviewed by:gsp1066
photo

 
 
About gsp1066star
CA USA
Member since: 2/25/04
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/14/09 2:33 AM
Last Updated:12/14/09 1:53 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Winifred said...
I was interested to see what you said about the cowl drooping to one side. I have had this problem even using weights. In fact I was so infuriated with it I almost discarded the top. Then I had a good look at my books. The solution is a cowl "stay" as detailed in Claire Schaeffer's book "High Fashion Sewing Secrets" and no doubt others. This stay covers the top front of the top and is attached to the shoulders. I have yet to try it out on this top. As another poster has said, your top looks fine as is, but if you want the problem sorted thats the way to go !! Happy Xmas
12/25/09 6:21 PM
whirrclunk said...
The top looks very nice, and I wouldn't worry about the cowl moving to one side as it doesn't look wrong at all. Pity about the armscythes, at least you didn't spend too much time on it, and I hope all will work well with the merged pattern.
12/19/09 6:54 PM
gsp1066 said...
Thanks for the comments. The jacquard definitely has different thread count on the warp and weft. But I still think the main issue is the deep armscythe and slightly dropped sleeve. I have to make another just to test out my theory.
12/15/09 5:46 PM
Elona said...
It's a pretty top overall. Some of your fit problems might possibly be caused by a different number of threads per inch in the warp and the weft of the fabric. Marcy Tilton says that in such cases, you may need a 'balanced' layout of your pieces, which implies the use of a center front and back seam to get each side of the garment to hang the same way as its mate. See her article here: http://www.threadsmagazine.com/item/3745/bias-101
12/14/09 6:57 PM
CTBarb said...
The trouble might be only in the height of the underarm....I have had this problem. I routinely raise the bottom of the armscye between 1 and 1 and a half inches so that when I raise my arms the sleeve does not bind. Using the Burda pattern that you know fits is a good idea.
12/14/09 4:08 PM
Knitters Delight said...
It looks lovely on the dress form. Sorry to hear the fit at the shoulder isn't what you wanted.
12/14/09 2:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

New Look 6095

photo
by: LTC

Review
SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

Buy Now