SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2009-117 

5 more reviews
Viewed 687 times 
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo

 
 
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 99 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:12/15/09 7:47 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindyann said...
That's such a bummer! Fantastic looking dress, though.
12/15/09 8:06 AM
dbsewer said...
Thanks for a hilarious review. This really made my morning. Sorry it didn't fit but you've been fortunate that Burda fits you so well and you've taken away a valuable lesson about making a muslin. At least your neighbor now has a lovely dress to wear, just in time for the holidays, courtesy of you.
12/15/09 8:10 AM
Re Becca said...
Betrayal is so hard! From such a trusted friend. It is a lovely dress, very well done. Thanks for the funny review.
12/15/09 9:47 AM
pterion said...
This really is a breathtaking dress and it is SUCH a pity that it doesn't fit after all your hard work. I have been thinking about tracing this pattern - and I consider myself warned.
12/15/09 10:46 AM
kremmer said...
Your neigbour is a VERY LUCKY WOMAN! Great dress!
12/15/09 11:10 AM
sewing for fun said...
This dress is beautiful - so sorry for the fit issues! I bet your neighbor is VERY happy!
12/15/09 11:15 AM
McFeather said...
Wow! for a wadder it is stunning. Are you sure you don't want to try upgrading the pattern?
12/15/09 11:53 AM
RLL said...
What a fabulous dress. So chic...Won't you be my neighbor?
12/15/09 1:53 PM
Elona said...
Well, that's a gigantic PITA considering Burda's general dead-on reliability--and the fact that the finished dress is so cute. Seriously, I would suggest you email Burda about this. Really. I have found them quite responsive to criticism, though it may take them a day or two to find an English speaker to answer you.
12/15/09 2:19 PM
Markie1 said...
I am so MAD on your behalf! You did a wonderful job--I gt sick of making muslins too, and when I have a pattern company I know wil fit, I am grateful as well. NO MORE! I also hate to tell you that the dress looks AMAZING in that fabric. Sigh....WAIT MINUTE....SPANX????
12/15/09 4:26 PM
cabinbaby said...
Okay, first, you crack me up. Second, how DARE Burda??!?!?!? I don't do muslins either with Burda patterns because they are sooooo consistent. It's a fantastic dress though so you can feel good about that, right??! RIGHT???? Maybe burn the pattern tissue. That'll make ya feel better.
12/15/09 4:54 PM
dingyadi said...
Oh dear, an extra pity as it is gorgeous - the big houndstooth is genius. Bet your neighbour is very happy though.
12/15/09 5:01 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Thanks for the great and VERY helpful review of your (grrr...) neighbor's new dress. I don't know what's happened to Burda's dependability, either -- both patterns I picked to make for my adult kids for Christmas have 2-ish-sizes-too-small issues as well. (I sure know how to pick 'em...) I agree about that sense of betrayal. From now on I plan to interpret "fitted," "slim," etc. as code for "about two sizes too small.">:( Thanks again, though. No doubt you saved someone's fabric today. I'm also impressed that you didn't let your anger and frustration keep you from writing this review up as throughly as you always do. :) P.S. If it helps, one of the other three reviewers used a stretch woven and one used a knit. Perhaps that's why they didn't report that this ran small?
12/15/09 6:11 PM
katharin said...
Thanks for the funny and helpful review. Burda makes size mistakes sometimes, rarely though. The dress looks gorgeous. I want one!
12/15/09 6:50 PM
quixoticpixels said...
Oh no! That's really too bad. I've been working on a muslin of this dress and have been hesitant to make it up in fashion fabric because I can hardly walk in it... I hope your next project goes swimmingly.
12/15/09 8:55 PM
ConnieBJ said...
Um, are you suggesting I go up a size or two?? hahaha Doncha hate it when you make something great that you can't wear?!! Looks great though.
12/15/09 10:37 PM
Lynz said...
Wow. Your dress is fab. Your neighbour must be delighted.
12/16/09 5:17 AM
Lynz said...
,
12/16/09 5:19 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Oh what a bummer. Its such a gorgeous dress which makes it doubly disappointing when it doesn't fit. I really do feel for you.
12/16/09 6:41 AM
becca a said...
That is a beautiful dress! Your neighbor is so lucky. How frustrating that it didn't fit you after all that hard work.
12/16/09 7:33 AM
lamstu said...
Such a pretty dress - so saddening and maddening. I am muslin averse, but if I ever do make this one (and it is super cute!) I will heed your advice. I actually never realized that the pattern calls for a woven; I assumed from my somewhat cursory look that it would be in a knit! Better luck with your next project.
12/16/09 10:04 AM
Bonnie123 said...
The dress is fantastic!!!!
12/16/09 10:30 AM
eugenia123 said...
I'm so sorry that this dress doesn't fit you beause it is really, really beautiful. Lucky neighbour. I have found Burda pattterns to come up with less ease than other companies but it is bizarre that they should have sized this one with even less than usual.
12/16/09 10:31 AM
Jane S said...
I wish there were a rating for "very beautiful, very frustrating, very kind of you to share" all in one review. You've given some useful tips in this review but I'm so sorry that it didn't work out for your dress. Yes, betrayal is just the right term. Hope Burda appreciates your loyalty and returns your love again.
12/16/09 11:57 AM
petro said...
I feel for you. That dress is such a looker in the fabric you picked. I've had a few weirdo experiences with pattern companies having skipped both the measuring up the pattern and making a muslin stage. Zero ease at the waist - what were they thinking of?
12/17/09 2:19 AM
valerie sews said...
I feel for you too. Such a pretty dress. Are you sure you can't face making it again?
12/17/09 7:41 AM
jonesyb said...
Ah man - that totally sucks that the sizing was so wonky. Your neighbor is a very luck lady because I'm going to ditto the others and say what a stunning dress this is. I'm so sorry that it's next door and not in your closet. :(
12/17/09 11:38 AM
Ciclista said...
I wish I was your neighbor :)
12/17/09 7:49 PM
mamaore said...
So Sorry!!! I definitely envy you very lucky neighbour
12/17/09 10:01 PM
jkaori said...
What a pity about the fit issues. I'm envious of your neighbor though, as the dress is absolutely fantastic.
12/18/09 9:07 PM
amy in mpls said...
total bummer, this is gorgeous. well you may not love your dress, but you gotta love your style!
12/19/09 1:42 PM
Kellie R. said...
Oh no! I was shocked to read your review after viewing the picture of this gorgeous dress! I'm so sorry that the sizing was off; that's sooo disappointing. But you have a new best friend in your neighbour. Thanks for the heads up.
12/20/09 8:35 PM
TessaRose said...
Gorgeous, gorgeous!! I so want to be able to sew something this chic and pro looking! Great job!
12/21/09 8:41 AM
radollrose said...
Come on Melissa, tell us what you REALLY think! This would totally tick me off too, at least if it was too big you could make is smaller. Doesn't work the other way around. I guess this is a 'live and learn' experience because this dress isn't a wadder! As much as I hate making them, Trudy "Hot Patterns" insists that you make a muslin for every pattern. Maybe she is right. Thanks for the great review, love your work!!
4/14/11 6:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Serendipity Studio 91

photo
by: Jstarr4250

Review
Vogue Patterns 8837

photo
by: chenille

Review
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Buy Now