SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2009-117 

5 more reviews
Viewed 688 times 
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo

 
 
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 100 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:12/15/09 7:47 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
radollrose said...
Come on Melissa, tell us what you REALLY think! This would totally tick me off too, at least if it was too big you could make is smaller. Doesn't work the other way around. I guess this is a 'live and learn' experience because this dress isn't a wadder! As much as I hate making them, Trudy "Hot Patterns" insists that you make a muslin for every pattern. Maybe she is right. Thanks for the great review, love your work!!
4/14/11 6:04 PM
TessaRose said...
Gorgeous, gorgeous!! I so want to be able to sew something this chic and pro looking! Great job!
12/21/09 8:41 AM
Kellie R. said...
Oh no! I was shocked to read your review after viewing the picture of this gorgeous dress! I'm so sorry that the sizing was off; that's sooo disappointing. But you have a new best friend in your neighbour. Thanks for the heads up.
12/20/09 8:35 PM
amy in mpls said...
total bummer, this is gorgeous. well you may not love your dress, but you gotta love your style!
12/19/09 1:42 PM
jkaori said...
What a pity about the fit issues. I'm envious of your neighbor though, as the dress is absolutely fantastic.
12/18/09 9:07 PM
mamaore said...
So Sorry!!! I definitely envy you very lucky neighbour
12/17/09 10:01 PM
Ciclista said...
I wish I was your neighbor :)
12/17/09 7:49 PM
jonesyb said...
Ah man - that totally sucks that the sizing was so wonky. Your neighbor is a very luck lady because I'm going to ditto the others and say what a stunning dress this is. I'm so sorry that it's next door and not in your closet. :(
12/17/09 11:38 AM
valerie sews said...
I feel for you too. Such a pretty dress. Are you sure you can't face making it again?
12/17/09 7:41 AM
petro said...
I feel for you. That dress is such a looker in the fabric you picked. I've had a few weirdo experiences with pattern companies having skipped both the measuring up the pattern and making a muslin stage. Zero ease at the waist - what were they thinking of?
12/17/09 2:19 AM
Jane S said...
I wish there were a rating for "very beautiful, very frustrating, very kind of you to share" all in one review. You've given some useful tips in this review but I'm so sorry that it didn't work out for your dress. Yes, betrayal is just the right term. Hope Burda appreciates your loyalty and returns your love again.
12/16/09 11:57 AM
eugenia123 said...
I'm so sorry that this dress doesn't fit you beause it is really, really beautiful. Lucky neighbour. I have found Burda pattterns to come up with less ease than other companies but it is bizarre that they should have sized this one with even less than usual.
12/16/09 10:31 AM
Bonnie123 said...
The dress is fantastic!!!!
12/16/09 10:30 AM
lamstu said...
Such a pretty dress - so saddening and maddening. I am muslin averse, but if I ever do make this one (and it is super cute!) I will heed your advice. I actually never realized that the pattern calls for a woven; I assumed from my somewhat cursory look that it would be in a knit! Better luck with your next project.
12/16/09 10:04 AM
becca a said...
That is a beautiful dress! Your neighbor is so lucky. How frustrating that it didn't fit you after all that hard work.
12/16/09 7:33 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Oh what a bummer. Its such a gorgeous dress which makes it doubly disappointing when it doesn't fit. I really do feel for you.
12/16/09 6:41 AM
Lynz said...
,
12/16/09 5:19 AM
Lynz said...
Wow. Your dress is fab. Your neighbour must be delighted.
12/16/09 5:17 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Um, are you suggesting I go up a size or two?? hahaha Doncha hate it when you make something great that you can't wear?!! Looks great though.
12/15/09 10:37 PM
quixoticpixels said...
Oh no! That's really too bad. I've been working on a muslin of this dress and have been hesitant to make it up in fashion fabric because I can hardly walk in it... I hope your next project goes swimmingly.
12/15/09 8:55 PM
katharin said...
Thanks for the funny and helpful review. Burda makes size mistakes sometimes, rarely though. The dress looks gorgeous. I want one!
12/15/09 6:50 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Thanks for the great and VERY helpful review of your (grrr...) neighbor's new dress. I don't know what's happened to Burda's dependability, either -- both patterns I picked to make for my adult kids for Christmas have 2-ish-sizes-too-small issues as well. (I sure know how to pick 'em...) I agree about that sense of betrayal. From now on I plan to interpret "fitted," "slim," etc. as code for "about two sizes too small.">:( Thanks again, though. No doubt you saved someone's fabric today. I'm also impressed that you didn't let your anger and frustration keep you from writing this review up as throughly as you always do. :) P.S. If it helps, one of the other three reviewers used a stretch woven and one used a knit. Perhaps that's why they didn't report that this ran small?
12/15/09 6:11 PM
dingyadi said...
Oh dear, an extra pity as it is gorgeous - the big houndstooth is genius. Bet your neighbour is very happy though.
12/15/09 5:01 PM
cabinbaby said...
Okay, first, you crack me up. Second, how DARE Burda??!?!?!? I don't do muslins either with Burda patterns because they are sooooo consistent. It's a fantastic dress though so you can feel good about that, right??! RIGHT???? Maybe burn the pattern tissue. That'll make ya feel better.
12/15/09 4:54 PM
Markie1 said...
I am so MAD on your behalf! You did a wonderful job--I gt sick of making muslins too, and when I have a pattern company I know wil fit, I am grateful as well. NO MORE! I also hate to tell you that the dress looks AMAZING in that fabric. Sigh....WAIT MINUTE....SPANX????
12/15/09 4:26 PM
Elona said...
Well, that's a gigantic PITA considering Burda's general dead-on reliability--and the fact that the finished dress is so cute. Seriously, I would suggest you email Burda about this. Really. I have found them quite responsive to criticism, though it may take them a day or two to find an English speaker to answer you.
12/15/09 2:19 PM
RLL said...
What a fabulous dress. So chic...Won't you be my neighbor?
12/15/09 1:53 PM
McFeather said...
Wow! for a wadder it is stunning. Are you sure you don't want to try upgrading the pattern?
12/15/09 11:53 AM
sewing for fun said...
This dress is beautiful - so sorry for the fit issues! I bet your neighbor is VERY happy!
12/15/09 11:15 AM
kremmer said...
Your neigbour is a VERY LUCKY WOMAN! Great dress!
12/15/09 11:10 AM
pterion said...
This really is a breathtaking dress and it is SUCH a pity that it doesn't fit after all your hard work. I have been thinking about tracing this pattern - and I consider myself warned.
12/15/09 10:46 AM
Re Becca said...
Betrayal is so hard! From such a trusted friend. It is a lovely dress, very well done. Thanks for the funny review.
12/15/09 9:47 AM
dbsewer said...
Thanks for a hilarious review. This really made my morning. Sorry it didn't fit but you've been fortunate that Burda fits you so well and you've taken away a valuable lesson about making a muslin. At least your neighbor now has a lovely dress to wear, just in time for the holidays, courtesy of you.
12/15/09 8:10 AM
cindyann said...
That's such a bummer! Fantastic looking dress, though.
12/15/09 8:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Lolita Patterns Spearmint Paper Pattern

More Info
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

More Info