SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1203 (Tank Top and Shell)

6 more reviews
Viewed 344 times 
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 166
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 120
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/18/09 6:58 AM
Last Updated:12/18/09 7:35 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
Thanks for those lovely compliments. Annette, the pants are LL Bean's Bayside Twill Pants, Straight Fit.
12/19/09 11:39 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I am all about shells and tanks that have coverage for straps and the bust area. Yours looks nice in the pretty print-love the beads with it.
12/19/09 4:53 PM
Annette1 said...
Very nice, and no need for regrets, from where I'm sitting. :o) The print makes for a one-of-a-kind tee, and if you would be better served by darts, that fact is camouflaged by the print, as well. This is very nicely fitted, to my eye. I love your PANTS, too, by the way. :o)
12/19/09 11:35 AM
Mufffet said...
This looks very nice, and is certainly versatile.
12/18/09 4:05 PM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks for those kind remarks. When I bought the fabric I intended to make a long-sleeved T in Vogue 8151 but became distracted and decided to try the shell instead - hence the slight regret about darts (and sleeves).
12/18/09 3:53 PM
fourkid said...
Very cute top - I agree with Idunna - this is a cute, easy top and adjusting it for "you" would be worth it. I am not sure on the other pattern - if you take off the sleeves, there may be too much gapping? Maybe combine the two patterns. I know, a lot of work for something simple, but in the end having a T&T pattern that works for you would be worth it.
12/18/09 11:08 AM
Annette Wright said...
I have the same bust/t-shirt issue. I think if the fabric is super drapey, like a light rayon jersey, you can get away with no dart, because the fabric itself shapes over the bust. And sure, you can do an FBA on a t-shirt and then sew in the dart. Give it a try, on a small tank like this is would be good practice. I like the colorful print, would look cute with some capris in the summer.
12/18/09 8:19 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 2463

photo
by: nanneke

Review
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

More Info
Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

More Info