Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 10-2006-129 (Man's wool coat) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 987 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 33 people   
Reviewed by:crisford
photo
Friend of PR
About crisfordstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 10/5/06
Reviews written: 61
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 28 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/20/09 1:02 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
55 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
o3b said...
What a fabulous coat! You are a brave, brave woman to make this with a one week timeline. The coat looks very stylish on him.
12/20/09 3:56 AM
petro said...
Great looking coat, very stylish.
12/20/09 4:10 AM
freegirl said...
That is a stunning coat and I'm really interested to hear about your modifications; it's so great to learn from other people. Your son must be so pleased with it.
12/20/09 4:40 AM
eugenia123 said...
That's an amazing coat and it looks so beautifully made. Your son looks very handsome in it.
12/20/09 4:50 AM
Winifred said...
This is a wonderfully professional coat - he must be so pleased with it. What a good-looking young man !
12/20/09 5:26 AM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful coat! Good looking kid.
12/20/09 5:39 AM
donna mel said...
great job! that is a handsome coat.
12/20/09 5:55 AM
bluenines said...
wow you made this in a week ! great job, handsome boy and handsome coat
12/20/09 6:31 AM
voet said...
Thank you for an excellent review. The coat turned out beautifully. I also appreciate your mention of the references you used. I have Cabrera's book, but I am not familiar with Kenneth King's "Cool Couture." I will now have to get it.
12/20/09 7:09 AM
Kristine Kay said...
Wow, what a lucky son! Beautiful coat, and thanks for including all you tricks and use of King's book. He's an amazing instructor!
12/20/09 8:11 AM
BlossomKyle said...
AMAZING! Looks like RTW. Great job Mom!!!
12/20/09 8:13 AM
Sic said...
Awesome! Very cool.
12/20/09 8:22 AM
becca a said...
What a great pea coat. It looks fantastic on, and you added some great details. Thank you for the detailed explanations and recommended references.
12/20/09 8:24 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Beautiful coat and an excellent review. Great job!
12/20/09 8:41 AM
Nancy K said...
A wonderful coat that looks fabulous on your son. Very professional.
12/20/09 9:23 AM
Kay Y said...
Lovely coat - I noticed right away that you had lowered the pockets. Good call. I wish I had this issue as my son would love a coat like this.
12/20/09 9:48 AM
Sharon1952 said...
What a lucky son! Great job on the fitting and fabric choice.
12/20/09 9:52 AM
ALY said...
Fantastic coat! A great looking classic with european styling. I am sure your son will wear this for years. Nice looking model!
12/20/09 10:10 AM
Lori V said...
What a great looking, stylish coat. Your are a wonderful mom to tackle such a project. I bet your son is very appreciative.
12/20/09 11:11 AM
moushka said...
Fabulous coat, chic and timeless styling. You did a great job and I'm sure you son will wear it proudly for many years. Your review is terrific; thank you for the many details and photos.
12/20/09 11:40 AM
Diane E said...
Beautiful coat for your handsome son. I really appreciated all the details in your review. I am in awe of your focus.
12/20/09 12:12 PM
colorkitten said...
that is amazing! and one of the few modern men's patterns I've seen I actually like. I'm noting the issue to look for (eventually). thanks for the great review!
12/20/09 12:24 PM
sewsewboy said...
GREAT coat. You better enter the menswear contest. You would win hands down. Your skills are AMAZING!!!
12/20/09 1:58 PM
Twinset said...
Fantastic and beautiful! Your son looks great in his coat. Thanks for the detailed review.
12/20/09 2:31 PM
susiestitcher said...
Your coat is beautiful. My son has been wanting me to sew something for him and you are giving me inspiration. Great job and great-looking son!
12/20/09 6:54 PM
digs57 said...
Gorgeous pea coat. I feel fortunate my husband doesn't peruse PR, else he'd be asking for this one!
12/20/09 8:49 PM
Karen6790 said...
My DBF's jacket is almost done and I'm not letting him see this review or I know what my next sewing project will be. Beautiful work.
12/20/09 9:06 PM
crisford said...
Oh, my goodness, thank you all for the very kind compliments! I love working with wool and a bit of steam ironing--it always seems to get great results.
12/20/09 11:59 PM
Athene said...
Your son looks very handsome in his new coat. Your skill really shows - I appreciate all the wonderful photos.
12/21/09 1:13 AM
Hilary said...
Incredible! Great looking coat, and your son looks very handsome in it! I agree, removing the belt and lowering the pockets is a huge improvement.
12/21/09 10:18 AM
Diane333 said...
Great looking coat/handsome son.
12/21/09 2:46 PM
BettyMike said...
Are you kidding me? I am amazed at this coat! Thank you for reviewing this pattern and showing us this wonderful coat!
12/22/09 12:54 PM
Heatherrique said...
Sleek and chic looking coat on your adorable son! His smile shows that all of your efforts are worth it!
12/22/09 3:06 PM
Berninanut said...
I have trouble following the Burda pattern's and felt like this write up gave me the permission to just do it..."MY WAY!" Sewing with patterns are a guide and not always the only way....so if you have some basic skills you should be able to put a garment together with just the pattern, some people don't even need patterns, just pictures to inspire them! It did motivate me to take out my old Burda patterns and view them with a different 'eye'! Thanks! A very sharp looking, long lasting stylish coat!
12/25/09 11:03 PM
Elona said...
What a fine looking jacket on a fine looking young man. Really beautiful work, Mom.
12/26/09 3:08 AM
purplebouquet said...
Awesome. And you cranked this out in just a few days???? I am full of admiration. Great design, great workmanship. Well done.
12/31/09 5:06 PM
FL Girl said...
This jacket is too sweet! You did a fantastic job tackling that Burda pattern and it makes me want to get this pattern and make one for my hubby!
12/31/09 11:09 PM
fourkid said...
Nice coat - and thank you for the useful tips.
1/2/10 8:54 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Late to the game, but have to pipe up to that I absolutely love this gorgeous, impeccably crafted coat. It looks so stylish on your very handsome son. Thanks for all the details, references and inspiration!
1/7/10 5:31 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous coat! You did such a great job on the construction.
1/7/10 7:18 PM
Sewnsewmom said...
What a really nice coat!
1/7/10 7:49 PM
AnneM said...
Fantastic coat, it looks great on your son. Nice details. And what a great deal on your fabric.
1/7/10 9:08 PM
seamssewfabulous said...
You got my vote, that's fabulous!
1/7/10 11:15 PM
Toni Vienna said...
This got my vote. Absolutely gorgeous coat and it suits your handsome boy!
1/9/10 9:01 AM
Sandra Mil said...
Coat? What coat? First I saw a handsome young man and then I saw the amazing coat. Great fit!
1/18/10 6:24 PM
Pyrose said...
I saw this review photo in the newsletter and was very impressed. You did an amazing job on this and he looks great in it!
1/19/10 10:15 AM
Bonnie123 said...
You did a fantastic job (all the way around). This coat looks like it came from an upscale department store and to say that you paid $5/yd for the fabric, what a steal! Your son wears the coat very well. Job well done! :-)
1/21/10 3:14 PM
FloraNature said...
Great review, and a very good-looking coat (and son) !
1/21/10 6:09 PM
FloraNature said...
dup.
1/21/10 6:36 PM
704betsy said...
What an expert job! And the model is quite handsome...expert job as well :)
1/22/10 10:34 AM
wreninrome said...
congrats on the win! It's an amazing coat (and I love your yard)
1/26/10 5:08 PM
AMarie said...
What a beautiful coat! Looks like he will cherish this coat for years!!
1/29/10 11:02 AM
fereshteh said...
yass like
2/11/10 8:01 AM
meleliza said...
I LOVE this coat! I am thinking of making a pea coat for my son and found your tips really helpful. Of course, he's only 7, but still, no reason for it not to be nice. I hope he grows up as handsome and grateful as your boy!
1/8/13 10:47 PM
Margie Ward said...
I'm just about to embark on sewing a Pea Coat for my son and this review is most helpful, thank you
4/29/13 0:13 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

You Sew Girl BO830 Mod Bag
photo
Review by MrsBeckins... on 12/29/12
Read Review

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern
Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sweet Dreams Buttom-Up PJ set Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sweet Dreams Buttom-Up PJ set Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Hide and Seek Tunic (6M-4) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Hide and Seek Tunic (6M-4) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2011-104 Net top
photo
Review by KatC83 on 1/23/12
Read Review

Burda 8186 Pattern
Burda 8186 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5830 Pattern ( Size 3-45-6 7-8 )
Butterick 5830 Pattern ( Size 3-45-6 7-8 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us