SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4115 (OOP Men's Separates)

1 more reviews
Viewed 273 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 272 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/20/09 3:42 PM
Last Updated:4/4/10 3:09 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RLL said...
How totally cool......the story of the trilobites and your DH's attraction to them. And then that you are able to get the special order fabric. Nice present.
12/20/09 4:04 PM
colorkitten said...
Great shirt! I'm happy to see something made up in the rayon -- I had a bunch of fabric done at Spoonflower and did use some for kid's clothes but they only had quilting cotton at the time and I didn't really like the fabric sewn up as a garment. This looks so nice - I will definitely think about going back for some of this rayon!
12/20/09 4:48 PM
colorkitten said...
I should also have mentioned, you guys did a great job on the print - it's lovely! And the shirt is great too. ^_^
12/20/09 4:50 PM
Karen6790 said...
It's a great shirt, obviously, but I LOVE that fabric. It really makes the shirt into something even more special, and how cool is it that your husband designed the fabric? I've got several Spoonflower ideas brewing in my head and you've now reminded me of them. Great shirt.
12/20/09 8:56 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Who knew trilobites could look so much like polka dots? Love the shirt -- great job!
12/20/09 9:32 PM
AnitaJ said...
Love the trilobites! Beautiful work on the seam finishes and matching of the print at the front and the pocket. Thanks for the tip on Spoonflower too - I must check them out. :)
12/21/09 3:18 AM
Nancy K said...
Aside from the interesting fabric, it's a beautifully made shirt. Thanks for sharing this great resource
12/21/09 9:18 AM
CypGrl said...
Glad to learn about Spoonflower. Great shirt!
12/21/09 9:48 AM
nancy2001 said...
Wow, Kay. As soon as I saw the shirt in the Gallery, I thought it looked like it came from Neiman Marcus in Honolulu. Then when I read about the custom printed rayon blend fabric incorporating trilobites I was even more impressed. This is a magnificent project that succeeds on every level -- workmanship, originality and overall appearence.
12/22/09 9:48 AM
Catbird said...
You are just FULL of surprises! Years ago I bought a beautiful fossil of a trilobite and they've had a place in my heart ever since. What a great idea, Kay, and what a fantastic shirt. The 'in vino erratus' made laugh, and I know from experience wine + sewing is a troublesome combination. Thank you for another great review and the link to Spoonflower.
12/22/09 8:03 PM
dilladop said...
I tried to send this in a PM, but not sure it went. Trilobite hat pattern for knitting: http://knitty.com/ISSUEsummer09/PATTtrilobite.php
12/23/09 11:09 AM
fourkid said...
Fantastic shirt - the pocket is amazing.
1/2/10 8:50 AM
JEF said...
Fantastic!
1/3/10 10:37 AM
AnneM said...
I love it. Had to show it to my DH who immediate asked where you got the trilobite fabric. Great job, and the fabric sounds luscious.
1/7/10 9:03 PM
Christas said...
You can't get more original than designing the fabric for a pattern! Wow, that is so neat. The shirt looks really nice, and the fabric makes it extra special.
4/4/10 4:10 PM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous! A great shirt. You seem to have done well at matching the pattern in front, too.
4/4/10 6:08 PM
blue mooney said...
You and your husband both do great work! Thanks for sharing the details of your Spoonflower experience.
10/10/10 7:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 78166-1003

photo
by: Kbenco

Review
Burda 2843

photo
by: sfshaza

Review
Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Buy Now