Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 4115 (OOP Men's Separates) - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 272 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 263 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/20/09 3:42 PM
Last Updated:4/4/10 3:09 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RLL said...
How totally cool......the story of the trilobites and your DH's attraction to them. And then that you are able to get the special order fabric. Nice present.
12/20/09 4:04 PM
colorkitten said...
Great shirt! I'm happy to see something made up in the rayon -- I had a bunch of fabric done at Spoonflower and did use some for kid's clothes but they only had quilting cotton at the time and I didn't really like the fabric sewn up as a garment. This looks so nice - I will definitely think about going back for some of this rayon!
12/20/09 4:48 PM
colorkitten said...
I should also have mentioned, you guys did a great job on the print - it's lovely! And the shirt is great too. ^_^
12/20/09 4:50 PM
Karen6790 said...
It's a great shirt, obviously, but I LOVE that fabric. It really makes the shirt into something even more special, and how cool is it that your husband designed the fabric? I've got several Spoonflower ideas brewing in my head and you've now reminded me of them. Great shirt.
12/20/09 8:56 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Who knew trilobites could look so much like polka dots? Love the shirt -- great job!
12/20/09 9:32 PM
AnitaJ said...
Love the trilobites! Beautiful work on the seam finishes and matching of the print at the front and the pocket. Thanks for the tip on Spoonflower too - I must check them out. :)
12/21/09 3:18 AM
Nancy K said...
Aside from the interesting fabric, it's a beautifully made shirt. Thanks for sharing this great resource
12/21/09 9:18 AM
CypGrl said...
Glad to learn about Spoonflower. Great shirt!
12/21/09 9:48 AM
nancy2001 said...
Wow, Kay. As soon as I saw the shirt in the Gallery, I thought it looked like it came from Neiman Marcus in Honolulu. Then when I read about the custom printed rayon blend fabric incorporating trilobites I was even more impressed. This is a magnificent project that succeeds on every level -- workmanship, originality and overall appearence.
12/22/09 9:48 AM
Catbird said...
You are just FULL of surprises! Years ago I bought a beautiful fossil of a trilobite and they've had a place in my heart ever since. What a great idea, Kay, and what a fantastic shirt. The 'in vino erratus' made laugh, and I know from experience wine + sewing is a troublesome combination. Thank you for another great review and the link to Spoonflower.
12/22/09 8:03 PM
dilladop said...
I tried to send this in a PM, but not sure it went. Trilobite hat pattern for knitting: http://knitty.com/ISSUEsummer09/PATTtrilobite.php
12/23/09 11:09 AM
fourkid said...
Fantastic shirt - the pocket is amazing.
1/2/10 8:50 AM
JEF said...
Fantastic!
1/3/10 10:37 AM
AnneM said...
I love it. Had to show it to my DH who immediate asked where you got the trilobite fabric. Great job, and the fabric sounds luscious.
1/7/10 9:03 PM
Christas said...
You can't get more original than designing the fabric for a pattern! Wow, that is so neat. The shirt looks really nice, and the fabric makes it extra special.
4/4/10 4:10 PM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous! A great shirt. You seem to have done well at matching the pattern in front, too.
4/4/10 6:08 PM
blue mooney said...
You and your husband both do great work! Thanks for sharing the details of your Spoonflower experience.
10/10/10 7:56 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Kwik Sew 2530 Men Shirts
photo
Review by novicesewi... on 2/13/11
Read Review

Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)
Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)
Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2443
photo
Review by CJgal on 8/28/11
Read Review

Petite Plus 202 Pattern
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 504 Pattern
Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1818 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 1818 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5613 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5613 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us