SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1038 (Denim Diva Camden Coat)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1236 times 
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Terri Astarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 73 people
patterns reviewed: 94
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/13/10 7:13 PM
Last Updated:11/26/10 7:06 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 20 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sergette said...
Great review! The colors look fabulous on you.
3/13/11 3:03 PM
sergette said...
Great review! The colors look fabulous on you.
3/13/11 3:03 PM
Christas said...
I don't know how I missed your excellent review. Your coat is so wonderful and you look fantastic wearing it! I am sure you will enjoy this coat for years and years!
12/4/10 10:11 AM
becca a said...
What a gorgeous coat! Thanks for showing the difference between the line art and the actual shape of the coat. I love your video review.
11/28/10 10:17 AM
Terri A said...
Thank you:-) I really appreciate your comments!!!
11/28/10 1:31 AM
Heatherrique said...
Terri, your jacket is distinctively showstopping! I admire the hard work you put in it, and also in your very helpful and detailed review. Thank you very much for the review and giving justice to a challenging pattern. "I didn't like the instructions. Having unhelpful illustrations is almost worse than having nothing at all, because then you have an expectation they will in some way assist you" sounds so familiar...
11/27/10 8:36 PM
CynthiaSue said...
amazing workmanship and style. loved the video. way to go.
11/27/10 0:51 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, I'm not sure how I missed this when you first posted your review, but now that I'm FINALLY here -- ha! -- I'd just like to say it's FABULOUS! I love the contrasting undercollar, those PERFECT cuffs, and now the addition of the faux fur collar, as well. It's beautiful on the dressform, but even MORE so on you. :o)
11/26/10 10:17 PM
carolynw said...
A-W-E-S-O-M-E!!
11/14/10 6:53 PM
mhk3boys said...
Very awesome coat! So worth your work!
11/14/10 5:36 PM
koo104 said...
Great Coat, you will get many years of use.
11/14/10 2:58 PM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous, gorgeous coat!
11/14/10 2:57 PM
Immelu said...
That is phenomenal!!!!! So glad to see all the pics and the video! You did a great job!
11/14/10 11:48 AM
annie11 said...
SO Pretty! This is a great color on you, and your workmanship is beautiful. I always enjoy your photos.
11/14/10 11:40 AM
Barbara V said...
What a really great coat and workmanship of tremendous perseverance. It is gorgeous on you and I hope you wear it all winter long!
11/14/10 11:16 AM
marec said...
What a lovely coat-the fabric is wonderful and your work is really nice. Congratulations for finishing it-what perseverance!
11/14/10 10:51 AM
JEF said...
Marvelous coat; stunning on you. Thank you so much for the perfectly detailed review.
11/14/10 9:16 AM
MNBarb said...
Wonderful coat. It was worth all of your frustration.
11/14/10 9:11 AM
Renren said...
Wow!!! It's even more wonderful than I had envisioned. I love the fabric and buttons and the whole overall look of the coat. This will brighten any wintry day.
11/14/10 8:50 AM
Terri A said...
Thanks everyone, and lamstu, I do know what you mean. I believe this coat was "inspired" by vintage, but the instructions are current/modern. It was challenging, and educational to make that's for sure. I love older sewing manuals! Wonderful reading.
11/14/10 1:35 AM
lamstu said...
Beautiful coat! What a process - congratulations for sticking it out to the end. Some of the steps I have seen in pattern instructions that would now be called "vintage," but don't seem to exist in modern times. Perhaps in an older sewing book from the 50-60-70's might be helpful. (I still use the one my mom got when she married my dad, almost 50 years ago.)
11/14/10 0:29 AM
Lori V said...
What a very helpful review. Your coat is amazing. The fabric is gorgeous.
11/13/10 10:30 PM
Aroura said...
Gorgeous coat! Love your many pics, and great review. :)
11/13/10 9:14 PM
MaryDB said...
Wow! Love the coat, thanks so much for the very thorough review. Nice job.
11/13/10 7:49 PM
MNBarb said...
This fabric is really lovely. Can't wait to see the finished product.
11/2/10 6:51 AM
Terri A said...
I am REALLY trying to focus, as I have such a long project list! Made the momentous decision to not participate in the one pattern contest and just DO/FINISH this project. :-) Thanks for the encouragement!!!
11/2/10 2:47 AM
Renren said...
Glad you are back at this one because I think it's going to be fantastic.
11/2/10 2:45 AM
Quietlife said...
Love the fabric...can't wait to see the finished project.. updated retro...so HOT
1/3/10 11:04 PM
JoanneM said...
Cant wait to see it!
12/30/09 8:31 AM
Terri A said...
Thanks for your helpful review Immelu!!!
12/27/09 10:04 PM
Immelu said...
That's going to be fantastic!! I can't wait to see it!!!
12/27/09 9:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 1164 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Simplicity 1974

photo
by: aunrea

Review
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Paper Pattern

Buy Now
BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now