SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1038 (Denim Diva Camden Coat)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1210 times 
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Terri Astarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 103
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/13/10 7:13 PM
Last Updated:11/26/10 7:06 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 20 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Immelu said...
That's going to be fantastic!! I can't wait to see it!!!
12/27/09 9:56 PM
Terri A said...
Thanks for your helpful review Immelu!!!
12/27/09 10:04 PM
JoanneM said...
Cant wait to see it!
12/30/09 8:31 AM
Quietlife said...
Love the fabric...can't wait to see the finished project.. updated retro...so HOT
1/3/10 11:04 PM
Renren said...
Glad you are back at this one because I think it's going to be fantastic.
11/2/10 2:45 AM
Terri A said...
I am REALLY trying to focus, as I have such a long project list! Made the momentous decision to not participate in the one pattern contest and just DO/FINISH this project. :-) Thanks for the encouragement!!!
11/2/10 2:47 AM
MNBarb said...
This fabric is really lovely. Can't wait to see the finished product.
11/2/10 6:51 AM
MaryDB said...
Wow! Love the coat, thanks so much for the very thorough review. Nice job.
11/13/10 7:49 PM
Aroura said...
Gorgeous coat! Love your many pics, and great review. :)
11/13/10 9:14 PM
Lori V said...
What a very helpful review. Your coat is amazing. The fabric is gorgeous.
11/13/10 10:30 PM
lamstu said...
Beautiful coat! What a process - congratulations for sticking it out to the end. Some of the steps I have seen in pattern instructions that would now be called "vintage," but don't seem to exist in modern times. Perhaps in an older sewing book from the 50-60-70's might be helpful. (I still use the one my mom got when she married my dad, almost 50 years ago.)
11/14/10 0:29 AM
Terri A said...
Thanks everyone, and lamstu, I do know what you mean. I believe this coat was "inspired" by vintage, but the instructions are current/modern. It was challenging, and educational to make that's for sure. I love older sewing manuals! Wonderful reading.
11/14/10 1:35 AM
Renren said...
Wow!!! It's even more wonderful than I had envisioned. I love the fabric and buttons and the whole overall look of the coat. This will brighten any wintry day.
11/14/10 8:50 AM
MNBarb said...
Wonderful coat. It was worth all of your frustration.
11/14/10 9:11 AM
JEF said...
Marvelous coat; stunning on you. Thank you so much for the perfectly detailed review.
11/14/10 9:16 AM
marec said...
What a lovely coat-the fabric is wonderful and your work is really nice. Congratulations for finishing it-what perseverance!
11/14/10 10:51 AM
Barbara V said...
What a really great coat and workmanship of tremendous perseverance. It is gorgeous on you and I hope you wear it all winter long!
11/14/10 11:16 AM
annie11 said...
SO Pretty! This is a great color on you, and your workmanship is beautiful. I always enjoy your photos.
11/14/10 11:40 AM
Immelu said...
That is phenomenal!!!!! So glad to see all the pics and the video! You did a great job!
11/14/10 11:48 AM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous, gorgeous coat!
11/14/10 2:57 PM
koo104 said...
Great Coat, you will get many years of use.
11/14/10 2:58 PM
mhk3boys said...
Very awesome coat! So worth your work!
11/14/10 5:36 PM
carolynw said...
A-W-E-S-O-M-E!!
11/14/10 6:53 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I'm not sure how I missed this when you first posted your review, but now that I'm FINALLY here -- ha! -- I'd just like to say it's FABULOUS! I love the contrasting undercollar, those PERFECT cuffs, and now the addition of the faux fur collar, as well. It's beautiful on the dressform, but even MORE so on you. :o)
11/26/10 10:17 PM
CynthiaSue said...
amazing workmanship and style. loved the video. way to go.
11/27/10 0:51 AM
Heatherrique said...
Terri, your jacket is distinctively showstopping! I admire the hard work you put in it, and also in your very helpful and detailed review. Thank you very much for the review and giving justice to a challenging pattern. "I didn't like the instructions. Having unhelpful illustrations is almost worse than having nothing at all, because then you have an expectation they will in some way assist you" sounds so familiar...
11/27/10 8:36 PM
Terri A said...
Thank you:-) I really appreciate your comments!!!
11/28/10 1:31 AM
becca a said...
What a gorgeous coat! Thanks for showing the difference between the line art and the actual shape of the coat. I love your video review.
11/28/10 10:17 AM
Christas said...
I don't know how I missed your excellent review. Your coat is so wonderful and you look fantastic wearing it! I am sure you will enjoy this coat for years and years!
12/4/10 10:11 AM
sergette said...
Great review! The colors look fabulous on you.
3/13/11 3:03 PM
sergette said...
Great review! The colors look fabulous on you.
3/13/11 3:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

Buy Now