SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2508 (Project Runway Misses Coat)

30 more reviews
Viewed 1518 times 
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Terri Astarstarstar
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 106
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/22/10 7:49 PM
Last Updated:2/22/10 8:13 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
I bought this pattern at the last pattern sale. I was on a "Pattern Diet", but it was too cute to pass up! The coat you made is wonderful and so nicely sewn! Glad you are also going to make yourself one to wear.
2/22/10 8:05 PM
Rhoda K said...
Very nice coat, I love the style. I just watched your video and you say the coat is fushia but shows almost purple in the photo. That's photos/videos for ya ;-0. Great job.
2/22/10 8:06 PM
Terri A said...
Thank you:-) The pictures show the true color and it is not your typical fuchsia people think of. I mentioned the name of the fabric as everyone was buying it up and they would know which one I meant. The fuchsia aspect is not the predominate color, but more of an incorporated hint with lots of dark purple coming through... So many people have already made cute coats with this fabric! It really pops!
2/22/10 8:10 PM
loti said...
I love that lining, doesn't look like a chiffon at all, and it fits well, congrats on a job well done.
2/22/10 8:21 PM
colorkitten said...
Fantastic! What a beautiful coat! I'm so glad I have some of that lambswool. What did you use as your interlining?
2/22/10 9:06 PM
Terri A said...
My daughter didn't care if it was breathable, she just wanted it extra warm, so we went with a polar fleece, in white, so the lining would have a white background. I know there are better interlinings, but that's what we did. I would like to try out thinsulate someday.
2/22/10 9:18 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful coat.
2/22/10 9:39 PM
michelle_01 said...
Wow, your coat looks great! And I love the fun lining. I wouldn't think to put that together but it goes great.
2/22/10 9:47 PM
lamstu said...
Great coat with nice workmanship. Love the lining. Lining the patch pockets this way produces better edges in my experience. I have a similar fabric that I was ready to put away til next winter, but now I'm inspired to make it up even if there isn't much winter left here :)
2/22/10 9:53 PM
Athene said...
A lovely coat and really enjoyed watching the video.
2/22/10 10:07 PM
Athene said...
A lovely coat and really enjoyed watching the video.
2/22/10 10:08 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Great jacket! Very nice construction. Makes me want to give this pattern a shot.
2/22/10 10:13 PM
Victoria B said...
Your coat is very beautiful and it's great that all your hard work turned out such a great piece. Bravo!!!
2/22/10 10:13 PM
MaryDB said...
Terrific coat, turned out great. I especially love the lining. Nice work. Nice to see that fuschia lambswool made up, too.
2/22/10 10:22 PM
Angien said...
your coat is adorable!
2/22/10 11:38 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Truly darling coat.
2/22/10 11:56 PM
Rebecca D said...
Gorgeous. What lovely workmanship.
2/23/10 7:03 AM
becca a said...
Lovely coat! Thanks for the very detailed review. Love your video.
2/23/10 8:07 AM
Woolygal said...
Great review of a great coat. Thanks.
2/23/10 8:29 AM
Byrdie said...
Beautiful coat! Love the colors you chose.
2/23/10 9:25 AM
dingyadi said...
You always make the most divine things, and take lovely and interesting photos. You have just racked up another one as this is fantastic.
2/23/10 11:49 AM
Jatman said...
Thank you for a great review! LOVE the video review! And the coat is really cute - great use of the lambswool and the chiffon - they look great together.
2/23/10 2:30 PM
avancleve said...
LOVE this coat! Your daughter is a lucky girl.
2/24/10 10:57 AM
valerie sews said...
Gorgeous! I'd been resisting this pattern but your review made me finally cave in. :)
3/6/10 10:29 PM
esined said...
Love the fabric, collar, cuffs - fantastic!
5/15/10 8:50 PM
DaisyDammit said...
wow! I bought this pattern last year but haven't yet worked up the courage to attempt it. I LOVE your version, especially the colour. Looks like you could have spent hundreds of in a boutique for this. Beautiful coat.
8/8/10 7:01 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Beginner Sewing Lab 101 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 101  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Buy Now