Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2508 (Project Runway Misses Coat) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1508 times 30 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR
About Terri Astarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 98
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 67 people
patterns reviewed: 86
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/22/10 7:49 PM
Last Updated:2/22/10 8:13 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
I bought this pattern at the last pattern sale. I was on a "Pattern Diet", but it was too cute to pass up! The coat you made is wonderful and so nicely sewn! Glad you are also going to make yourself one to wear.
2/22/10 8:05 PM
Rhoda K said...
Very nice coat, I love the style. I just watched your video and you say the coat is fushia but shows almost purple in the photo. That's photos/videos for ya ;-0. Great job.
2/22/10 8:06 PM
Terri A said...
Thank you:-) The pictures show the true color and it is not your typical fuchsia people think of. I mentioned the name of the fabric as everyone was buying it up and they would know which one I meant. The fuchsia aspect is not the predominate color, but more of an incorporated hint with lots of dark purple coming through... So many people have already made cute coats with this fabric! It really pops!
2/22/10 8:10 PM
loti said...
I love that lining, doesn't look like a chiffon at all, and it fits well, congrats on a job well done.
2/22/10 8:21 PM
colorkitten said...
Fantastic! What a beautiful coat! I'm so glad I have some of that lambswool. What did you use as your interlining?
2/22/10 9:06 PM
Terri A said...
My daughter didn't care if it was breathable, she just wanted it extra warm, so we went with a polar fleece, in white, so the lining would have a white background. I know there are better interlinings, but that's what we did. I would like to try out thinsulate someday.
2/22/10 9:18 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful coat.
2/22/10 9:39 PM
michelle_01 said...
Wow, your coat looks great! And I love the fun lining. I wouldn't think to put that together but it goes great.
2/22/10 9:47 PM
lamstu said...
Great coat with nice workmanship. Love the lining. Lining the patch pockets this way produces better edges in my experience. I have a similar fabric that I was ready to put away til next winter, but now I'm inspired to make it up even if there isn't much winter left here :)
2/22/10 9:53 PM
Athene said...
A lovely coat and really enjoyed watching the video.
2/22/10 10:07 PM
Athene said...
A lovely coat and really enjoyed watching the video.
2/22/10 10:08 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Great jacket! Very nice construction. Makes me want to give this pattern a shot.
2/22/10 10:13 PM
Victoria B said...
Your coat is very beautiful and it's great that all your hard work turned out such a great piece. Bravo!!!
2/22/10 10:13 PM
MaryDB said...
Terrific coat, turned out great. I especially love the lining. Nice work. Nice to see that fuschia lambswool made up, too.
2/22/10 10:22 PM
Angien said...
your coat is adorable!
2/22/10 11:38 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Truly darling coat.
2/22/10 11:56 PM
Rebecca D said...
Gorgeous. What lovely workmanship.
2/23/10 7:03 AM
becca a said...
Lovely coat! Thanks for the very detailed review. Love your video.
2/23/10 8:07 AM
Woolygal said...
Great review of a great coat. Thanks.
2/23/10 8:29 AM
Byrdie said...
Beautiful coat! Love the colors you chose.
2/23/10 9:25 AM
dingyadi said...
You always make the most divine things, and take lovely and interesting photos. You have just racked up another one as this is fantastic.
2/23/10 11:49 AM
Jatman said...
Thank you for a great review! LOVE the video review! And the coat is really cute - great use of the lambswool and the chiffon - they look great together.
2/23/10 2:30 PM
avancleve said...
LOVE this coat! Your daughter is a lucky girl.
2/24/10 10:57 AM
valerie sews said...
Gorgeous! I'd been resisting this pattern but your review made me finally cave in. :)
3/6/10 10:29 PM
esined said...
Love the fabric, collar, cuffs - fantastic!
5/15/10 8:50 PM
DaisyDammit said...
wow! I bought this pattern last year but haven't yet worked up the courage to attempt it. I LOVE your version, especially the colour. Looks like you could have spent hundreds of in a boutique for this. Beautiful coat.
8/8/10 7:01 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Ottobre Design Magazine 05-2006-16
photo
Review by slanden99 on 12/13/06
Read Review

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)
Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda E930 evening dress
photo
Review by Saya on 4/3/09
Read Review

Kwik Sew 0177 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0177 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6017 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )
McCalls 6017 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us