Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8806 (semi-fitted blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2233 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:susanbb
photo
About susanbbstar
Member since: 3/28/02
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/2/02 6:51 PM
Last Updated:1/7/03 10:13 AM
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
I love the styles of Burda patterns. I'm glad to read about people using them. Your blouse must have looked good!That's a really interesting blouse.
5/2/02 7:04 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I am hooked to Burda Patterns. They fit me so well. This blouse is stunning. Would love to see a photo. What fabric did you use?
5/2/02 8:15 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
This blouse is so lovely. Susan, thanks for the review and thanks for the inspiration. I think there's a similar pattern in a recent Burda World of Fashion, and guess what, it's in my reading pile!
5/3/02 0:46 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I used to have an old Nipon pattern with a front closure like this. Fearing, justifiably, that it would be a bit 'drafty,' I just inserted a doubled strip of fabric (kind of like a fly underlap) into the seam, so that the hooks and eyes would close on top of that. Worked like a charm.
5/3/02 4:25 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
You have convinced me to purchase this pattern. It looks great and it sounds like it will be quick to make. Thanks so much for the review.
5/3/02 8:51 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika - Sorry, I'm not a fabric expert. My best description would be to say it is all cotton, stretchy and doubleknit. When the facing was added, it became a little thick - while still being an acceptable weight - probably not optimal.. The next fabric I am using is a very light cotton paisley - so far that seems to be working out better because the ruffle is falling VERY nicely.
5/3/02 9:54 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Diane - Yes I saw that one too, after I had ordered this. It has buttons instead of the hooks. Another pattern that is similar that I haven't tried yet is Neu Mode 22840. Elona - what a great idea, i think I'll do that if the hooks don't work out on the lighter fabric..Thanks!
5/3/02 10:02 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I've made this one in a woven fabric that was probably a little heavy for this pattern. I found the elbow length sleeve to be a little restrictive at the elbow. It's fine as long as I don't try to move! ;-)
5/3/02 10:36 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Very stylish! I'm looking forward to seeing the pix!
5/3/02 8:38 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I have this pattern! Just need to pull it out and use it now that I know the scoop! Thanks for the review.
5/3/02 9:41 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Susan, I like your rendition of that blouse better than the pattern pic. Yours looks like it has better shaping to it. Thanks for the review.
9/7/02 10:05 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
What a beautiful blouse! Is that snow I see out your window??? If so, I am extremely jealous.
9/7/02 11:17 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Susan, that is just beautiful! I agree with Dale that yours is even lovelier than the pattern picture. That fabric! Oh!
9/7/02 11:18 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Both versions are wonderful. I like those ruffles. You did such a nice sewing job on them too.
9/7/02 11:51 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I think that this blouse just has to be my next project. I have the pattern and fabric in my stash just waiting it's turn. Thanks for the great picture and hints.
9/8/02 0:22 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thank you Susan for a good review, both blouses look very good!
9/8/02 2:48 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Lovely Blouses and dresses Susan! you are doing a GREAT job!
9/8/02 11:30 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Kwik Sew 2956
photo
Review by Zoomitron on 1/22/12
Read Review

Megan Nielsen Cascade Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Cascade Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Zippy Jacket Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Zippy Jacket Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2008-103
photo
Review by Nata on 10/1/09
Read Review

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern
SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 204 Pattern
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1548 Pattern ( Size 8 )
Simplicity 1548 Pattern ( Size 8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6026 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 6026 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us