SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2008-117 (Runway Trenchcoat)

10 more reviews
Viewed 1052 times 
Reviewed by:Birgitte
photo

 
 
About Birgittestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/28/04
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 128 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/23/09 8:54 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 22 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fereshteh said...
yass
2/11/10 8:13 AM
Aloha Vintage said...
Completely amazing!
1/27/10 10:53 AM
Michelle99 said...
In Awe!
1/26/10 6:11 AM
FirecrackerKTM said...
Wow. This is amazing.
1/25/10 4:11 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Outstanding!
1/5/10 2:34 PM
nancy2001 said...
What an absolutely stunning dress, exquisite in every day. Your workmanship is impeccable.
1/2/10 7:52 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Breathtakingly exquisite, Lily
1/2/10 2:26 PM
Jane S said...
Wow, this is more spectacular than the pouty Burda picture. Fantastic work, thanks for sharing something so beautiful.
12/28/09 7:44 AM
rozzybabe said...
I cannot believe the amount of work you put into this! Brilliant technique ideas to make it reversable; I've saved your blog to read more details later. Your daughter is one lucky lady!!!
12/26/09 2:40 PM
jkaori said...
I love how you made this reversible. Beautiful!
12/26/09 10:02 AM
Jolet said...
What a wonderful coat, and such a tremendous effort you put into it! Great result, I think you will get a lot of compliments walking down the street!
12/25/09 7:41 AM
Karendee said...
This might be the most amazing garment I've ever seen. I adore this coat, the fabrics and your workmanship. Then, as an added bonus, your review is so thorough and helpful. Thanks!
12/24/09 7:37 PM
blessedtosew said...
That is AMAZING!!!! Thank you for the detailed instructions. This pattern has been sitting on my back burner to do, but it may have to move to the front very quickly.
12/24/09 5:27 PM
Lisa p said...
This is a work of art .
12/24/09 4:43 PM
moushka said...
edited for double post.
12/24/09 2:54 PM
LollyVee said...
That coat/dress is the best garment I've seen on PR...and I WANT IT!!! Your daugter is a very lucky girl! What a spectacular gift. Wishing you a Merry Christmas.
12/24/09 1:35 PM
Beek said...
Cute coat-dress! Yes, I was eyeing all of those lovely Cache silks, too! You've created a beauty with this one.
12/24/09 10:09 AM
JoanneM said...
Thank you Birgitte. It is truly stunning and your advice is valuable. May your daughter enjoy this coat and I am sure she will!
12/24/09 9:56 AM
sewbehind said...
Well done. The details are lovely.
12/24/09 9:54 AM
Sic said...
Stunning! She will love it!
12/24/09 9:19 AM
colorkitten said...
it's gorgeous! I hope you add a photo of it modelled after she gets it!
12/24/09 9:13 AM
Catbird said...
H-O-L-Y m-a-c-k-e-r-e-l.... This is stunning. Of all the delicious details, the "edges" photo probably thrilled me the most. The thought process and then the exquisite execution -- I just love it. Wish I could have seen you as an "overstuffed teddy bear" :-)) The fabrics are spectacular. Please do post photos of her wearing it. I agree wholeheartedly with Annette -- you need to boost your ranking, and we need a 'Birgitte' ranking over and above couture/expert! I wish you and your family a peaceful and Merry Christmas!
12/24/09 8:47 AM
JuneHawk said...
Absolutely stunning. This coat is on my to-sew list but I live in Miami so I have no NEED for it. I don't care though, I will make it for next winter.
12/24/09 8:38 AM
ladylola said...
Wow! Amazing coat! She will love it!
12/24/09 8:33 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful work, this jacket is so incredible.
12/24/09 8:30 AM
moushka said...
All I want for Christmas is....ONE garment sewn by Birgitte! Unbelievably beautiful dress, lucky, lucky dd. Please post a picture of her wearing it. Excellent review, as always. Merry Christmas to you and your family.
12/24/09 7:51 AM
Ripple Dandelion said...
That is simply amazing. The construction and design are perfect, and then add in that color--wow.
12/24/09 6:37 AM
BillieJean said...
What an absolute labor of love this is. I'm sure your daughter will love it - it is gorgeous!
12/24/09 6:05 AM
Margie T said...
What a beautiful trenchcoat! Your daughter is very lucky! Thanks for a great review.
12/24/09 3:37 AM
Annette1 said...
AND ... good grief! You need to promote yourself and up that skill level ranking. We need a "Birgitte" level right above couture/expert. :o)
12/24/09 2:08 AM
Twinset said...
Breathtaking and exquisite workmanship, as always! Thanks for the ultra detailed review too.
12/24/09 2:08 AM
Annette1 said...
You have OUTDONE even YOURSELF on this FABULOUS coat dress. I can't WAIT to see pictures of your daughter in it. I wish I could be there when she gets it. :o) Your reviews are so far above the rest of us it's just ridiculous -- ha! Your pictures tell the story through every step of the process. YOUR designs exemplify why I say I DON'T strive for ready-to-wear ANYTHING. :o)
12/24/09 2:06 AM
CynthiaSue said...
yowsa! you are too good to that girl! You always take something amazing and make it even more amazing. Your garments are always totally original.
12/24/09 1:24 AM
dingyadi said...
Just gorgeous!
12/24/09 0:56 AM
ssssdeb said...
That is one fantastic coat!
12/23/09 11:58 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Exquisite! Love the colour and the lining.
12/23/09 11:34 PM
Karen6790 said...
That is absolutely gorgeous. I love the color, and the combination of fabrics - how cool that it's reversible. You made a great pattern even better. If it doesn't fit your daughter, I bet you could auction it off here. Beautiful.
12/23/09 11:31 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Beautiful. Love the color.
12/23/09 11:23 PM
QuiltersFan said...
Wow, love the dress. Lucky daughter.
12/23/09 10:56 PM
Athene said...
A lovely coat dress. Aways enjoy seeing your reviews - so many good pictures and details described.
12/23/09 10:25 PM
racehorse said...
Once again, beautiful work! I'm in awe of your talents!
12/23/09 9:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

New Look 6755

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now