SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2008-117 (Runway Trenchcoat)

10 more reviews
Viewed 1051 times 
Reviewed by:Birgitte
photo

 
 
About Birgittestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/28/04
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 128 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/23/09 8:54 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 22 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
racehorse said...
Once again, beautiful work! I'm in awe of your talents!
12/23/09 9:45 PM
Athene said...
A lovely coat dress. Aways enjoy seeing your reviews - so many good pictures and details described.
12/23/09 10:25 PM
QuiltersFan said...
Wow, love the dress. Lucky daughter.
12/23/09 10:56 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Beautiful. Love the color.
12/23/09 11:23 PM
Karen6790 said...
That is absolutely gorgeous. I love the color, and the combination of fabrics - how cool that it's reversible. You made a great pattern even better. If it doesn't fit your daughter, I bet you could auction it off here. Beautiful.
12/23/09 11:31 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Exquisite! Love the colour and the lining.
12/23/09 11:34 PM
ssssdeb said...
That is one fantastic coat!
12/23/09 11:58 PM
dingyadi said...
Just gorgeous!
12/24/09 0:56 AM
CynthiaSue said...
yowsa! you are too good to that girl! You always take something amazing and make it even more amazing. Your garments are always totally original.
12/24/09 1:24 AM
Annette1 said...
You have OUTDONE even YOURSELF on this FABULOUS coat dress. I can't WAIT to see pictures of your daughter in it. I wish I could be there when she gets it. :o) Your reviews are so far above the rest of us it's just ridiculous -- ha! Your pictures tell the story through every step of the process. YOUR designs exemplify why I say I DON'T strive for ready-to-wear ANYTHING. :o)
12/24/09 2:06 AM
Twinset said...
Breathtaking and exquisite workmanship, as always! Thanks for the ultra detailed review too.
12/24/09 2:08 AM
Annette1 said...
AND ... good grief! You need to promote yourself and up that skill level ranking. We need a "Birgitte" level right above couture/expert. :o)
12/24/09 2:08 AM
Margie T said...
What a beautiful trenchcoat! Your daughter is very lucky! Thanks for a great review.
12/24/09 3:37 AM
BillieJean said...
What an absolute labor of love this is. I'm sure your daughter will love it - it is gorgeous!
12/24/09 6:05 AM
Ripple Dandelion said...
That is simply amazing. The construction and design are perfect, and then add in that color--wow.
12/24/09 6:37 AM
moushka said...
All I want for Christmas is....ONE garment sewn by Birgitte! Unbelievably beautiful dress, lucky, lucky dd. Please post a picture of her wearing it. Excellent review, as always. Merry Christmas to you and your family.
12/24/09 7:51 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful work, this jacket is so incredible.
12/24/09 8:30 AM
ladylola said...
Wow! Amazing coat! She will love it!
12/24/09 8:33 AM
JuneHawk said...
Absolutely stunning. This coat is on my to-sew list but I live in Miami so I have no NEED for it. I don't care though, I will make it for next winter.
12/24/09 8:38 AM
Catbird said...
H-O-L-Y m-a-c-k-e-r-e-l.... This is stunning. Of all the delicious details, the "edges" photo probably thrilled me the most. The thought process and then the exquisite execution -- I just love it. Wish I could have seen you as an "overstuffed teddy bear" :-)) The fabrics are spectacular. Please do post photos of her wearing it. I agree wholeheartedly with Annette -- you need to boost your ranking, and we need a 'Birgitte' ranking over and above couture/expert! I wish you and your family a peaceful and Merry Christmas!
12/24/09 8:47 AM
colorkitten said...
it's gorgeous! I hope you add a photo of it modelled after she gets it!
12/24/09 9:13 AM
Sic said...
Stunning! She will love it!
12/24/09 9:19 AM
sewbehind said...
Well done. The details are lovely.
12/24/09 9:54 AM
JoanneM said...
Thank you Birgitte. It is truly stunning and your advice is valuable. May your daughter enjoy this coat and I am sure she will!
12/24/09 9:56 AM
Beek said...
Cute coat-dress! Yes, I was eyeing all of those lovely Cache silks, too! You've created a beauty with this one.
12/24/09 10:09 AM
LollyVee said...
That coat/dress is the best garment I've seen on PR...and I WANT IT!!! Your daugter is a very lucky girl! What a spectacular gift. Wishing you a Merry Christmas.
12/24/09 1:35 PM
moushka said...
edited for double post.
12/24/09 2:54 PM
Lisa p said...
This is a work of art .
12/24/09 4:43 PM
blessedtosew said...
That is AMAZING!!!! Thank you for the detailed instructions. This pattern has been sitting on my back burner to do, but it may have to move to the front very quickly.
12/24/09 5:27 PM
Karendee said...
This might be the most amazing garment I've ever seen. I adore this coat, the fabrics and your workmanship. Then, as an added bonus, your review is so thorough and helpful. Thanks!
12/24/09 7:37 PM
Jolet said...
What a wonderful coat, and such a tremendous effort you put into it! Great result, I think you will get a lot of compliments walking down the street!
12/25/09 7:41 AM
jkaori said...
I love how you made this reversible. Beautiful!
12/26/09 10:02 AM
rozzybabe said...
I cannot believe the amount of work you put into this! Brilliant technique ideas to make it reversable; I've saved your blog to read more details later. Your daughter is one lucky lady!!!
12/26/09 2:40 PM
Jane S said...
Wow, this is more spectacular than the pouty Burda picture. Fantastic work, thanks for sharing something so beautiful.
12/28/09 7:44 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Breathtakingly exquisite, Lily
1/2/10 2:26 PM
nancy2001 said...
What an absolutely stunning dress, exquisite in every day. Your workmanship is impeccable.
1/2/10 7:52 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Outstanding!
1/5/10 2:34 PM
FirecrackerKTM said...
Wow. This is amazing.
1/25/10 4:11 PM
Michelle99 said...
In Awe!
1/26/10 6:11 AM
Aloha Vintage said...
Completely amazing!
1/27/10 10:53 AM
fereshteh said...
yass
2/11/10 8:13 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Simplicity 2409

photo
by: Bluepine

Review
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Buy Now
Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Buy Now