SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5556 (Tunic)

4 more reviews
Viewed 853 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 193
Favored by: 389 people
patterns reviewed: 180
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/24/09 10:52 AM
Last Updated:12/27/09 9:23 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 27 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RLL said...
Wow, what a copy. Other than the sleeve length, it looks identical. Wonderful work as usual.
12/24/09 11:41 AM
tutti frutti said...
Wow, just gorgeous!
12/24/09 11:59 AM
carolynw said...
It's beautiful Debbie and your work is so impeccable. Must get this pattern. Thanks for such a great review
12/24/09 12:29 PM
Karen6790 said...
I can definitely see why this will get a lot of wear - everyone needs a great white shirt and this is, of course, beautifully made. Can't wait to see it on you.
12/24/09 12:41 PM
PVA said...
Love it! This would be great for our hot summers, loose fit is best when temps go over the top! Thanks, one more time, for a great tutorial -- you're the best!
12/24/09 2:07 PM
Irene said...
What a great copy of your inspiration top! I love gathers-under-placket styles and would not have thought of altering this pattern the way you did. I'm adding it to my wish list.
12/24/09 4:51 PM
sewnsewtoo said...
As always you've written a very informative review. I love your knockoff. I admire the ability to make so many changes and wind up with a smashing blouse. Have a merry Christmas.
12/24/09 5:37 PM
KathySews said...
This looks great. Can't wait to see it on you.
12/24/09 6:13 PM
Winifred said...
This is very beautiful Debbie, like others I want to see it on you !! BTW in UK we spell the trim "ric-rac" but there are loads of variations !!
12/24/09 6:36 PM
Darla in PA said...
Wow! Debbie, you've done it again. Absolutely beautiful. Enjoy wearing it.
12/24/09 6:39 PM
Mufffet said...
Lovely! :) Great color and I am gonna check back for that picture!
12/25/09 0:17 AM
fourkid said...
Love this blouse! Great tip on how to make the dart look so much better - I am sure I will be using that in my sewing - as soon as I learn to use my serger :)
12/25/09 2:15 AM
BillieJean said...
Absolutely beautiful and another thorough review. Thank you so much. Can't wait to see the picture. Merry Christmas!
12/25/09 5:58 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Gorgeous top. Love all the details. Great review.
12/25/09 6:11 AM
Rebecca D said...
It's a lovely blouse and I look forward to a picture of you wearing it on Christmas Day.
12/25/09 7:27 AM
Andreahg said...
Nice work and it's a great copy of your original inspiration!
12/25/09 9:47 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Lovely job on the placket and buttons. It looks very much like the knockoff. Great looking blouse!
12/25/09 10:35 AM
o3b said...
Gorgeous! I like yours so much better. The pattern looks kind of ho-hum to me, but your version is really special.
12/26/09 3:43 AM
valerie sews said...
Very stylish top. It looks like a tunic version of a dressy shirt. all the morphing paid off!
12/26/09 4:05 AM
rozzybabe said...
As usual, you're expertise in doing pattern alterations & re-drafting are top notch! The blouse is beautiful, & looks better than the knock-off. Thanks for sharing your knowledge with us.
12/26/09 2:25 PM
JudyP said...
Great review! You always give so much detail in your reviews! Your blouse looks better on you than on the dressform! Great fit , beautiful details!
12/27/09 10:27 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Gorgeous blouse! An extremely helpful review, as usual. :)
12/27/09 10:37 AM
Red Curtain said...
Simply gorgeous. Very well done. Thanks for including so many pictures.
12/27/09 10:43 AM
Heatherrique said...
Very pretty top, Debbie! Superb knockoff of the original and certainly better made.
12/27/09 12:17 PM
maedchen said...
stunning!
12/27/09 1:22 PM
Em's Summer said...
What a cute top! Looks like a great go to piece--definitely can't have too many of those! I'm thinking about making this up for myself, too. Great review!
12/27/09 2:23 PM
Aixoise said...
Super becoming top on you. The fit, fabric, and trim all contribute to a lovely garment. Happy holidays, and thanks for all your reviews and helpful input during the year.
12/27/09 2:23 PM
Elke said...
Very pretty blouse and it looks great on you!
12/27/09 3:38 PM
Nancy K said...
This looks wonderful on you! Graceful and flattering. So often these front gathers make one look pregnant. Not so here. Easy, but not too full. Great pattern combination.
12/27/09 6:09 PM
sewing for fun said...
Beautiful blouse and great copy work! Your's is prettier and I am sure it will last longer than the RTW!
12/28/09 4:24 PM
roxygs said...
your blouse turned out so nice! I love the finishing touches! carlabuchanan.blogspot.com
1/3/10 6:48 PM
AdaH said...
What a great blouse.
1/24/10 6:10 PM
Erin Sooit said...
Wanted very much to read one of your reivews; this is a beautiful blouse and you look equally beautiful in it! You should try it again in another color or variation since you love it as well as you do. I admirre your work, and thank you.
1/27/10 0:13 AM
GwendolenG said...
love your review--and the photo's lovely! I'm making this in silk dupioni, and will seriously modify as well--thank you for your help!
2/1/10 12:38 PM
Bonnie123 said...
I am currently working on this top/pattern and making it as is...thanks for the review. You did a great job and this is a great knock off.
2/9/10 9:29 AM
SavageCoco said...
Oh! Well done!
2/10/12 1:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Vogue Patterns 1187

photo
by: Monabel

Review
McCall's 6391

photo
by: Cherry Bub...

Review
10 inch Professional Shears

10 inch Professional Shears

Buy Now
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Buy Now