SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5556 (Tunic)

4 more reviews
Viewed 853 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 193
Favored by: 389 people
patterns reviewed: 180
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/24/09 10:52 AM
Last Updated:12/27/09 9:23 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 27 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RLL said...
Wow, what a copy. Other than the sleeve length, it looks identical. Wonderful work as usual.
12/24/09 11:41 AM
tutti frutti said...
Wow, just gorgeous!
12/24/09 11:59 AM
carolynw said...
It's beautiful Debbie and your work is so impeccable. Must get this pattern. Thanks for such a great review
12/24/09 12:29 PM
Karen6790 said...
I can definitely see why this will get a lot of wear - everyone needs a great white shirt and this is, of course, beautifully made. Can't wait to see it on you.
12/24/09 12:41 PM
PVA said...
Love it! This would be great for our hot summers, loose fit is best when temps go over the top! Thanks, one more time, for a great tutorial -- you're the best!
12/24/09 2:07 PM
Irene said...
What a great copy of your inspiration top! I love gathers-under-placket styles and would not have thought of altering this pattern the way you did. I'm adding it to my wish list.
12/24/09 4:51 PM
sewnsewtoo said...
As always you've written a very informative review. I love your knockoff. I admire the ability to make so many changes and wind up with a smashing blouse. Have a merry Christmas.
12/24/09 5:37 PM
KathySews said...
This looks great. Can't wait to see it on you.
12/24/09 6:13 PM
Winifred said...
This is very beautiful Debbie, like others I want to see it on you !! BTW in UK we spell the trim "ric-rac" but there are loads of variations !!
12/24/09 6:36 PM
Darla in PA said...
Wow! Debbie, you've done it again. Absolutely beautiful. Enjoy wearing it.
12/24/09 6:39 PM
Mufffet said...
Lovely! :) Great color and I am gonna check back for that picture!
12/25/09 0:17 AM
fourkid said...
Love this blouse! Great tip on how to make the dart look so much better - I am sure I will be using that in my sewing - as soon as I learn to use my serger :)
12/25/09 2:15 AM
BillieJean said...
Absolutely beautiful and another thorough review. Thank you so much. Can't wait to see the picture. Merry Christmas!
12/25/09 5:58 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Gorgeous top. Love all the details. Great review.
12/25/09 6:11 AM
Rebecca D said...
It's a lovely blouse and I look forward to a picture of you wearing it on Christmas Day.
12/25/09 7:27 AM
Andreahg said...
Nice work and it's a great copy of your original inspiration!
12/25/09 9:47 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Lovely job on the placket and buttons. It looks very much like the knockoff. Great looking blouse!
12/25/09 10:35 AM
o3b said...
Gorgeous! I like yours so much better. The pattern looks kind of ho-hum to me, but your version is really special.
12/26/09 3:43 AM
valerie sews said...
Very stylish top. It looks like a tunic version of a dressy shirt. all the morphing paid off!
12/26/09 4:05 AM
rozzybabe said...
As usual, you're expertise in doing pattern alterations & re-drafting are top notch! The blouse is beautiful, & looks better than the knock-off. Thanks for sharing your knowledge with us.
12/26/09 2:25 PM
JudyP said...
Great review! You always give so much detail in your reviews! Your blouse looks better on you than on the dressform! Great fit , beautiful details!
12/27/09 10:27 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Gorgeous blouse! An extremely helpful review, as usual. :)
12/27/09 10:37 AM
Red Curtain said...
Simply gorgeous. Very well done. Thanks for including so many pictures.
12/27/09 10:43 AM
Heatherrique said...
Very pretty top, Debbie! Superb knockoff of the original and certainly better made.
12/27/09 12:17 PM
maedchen said...
stunning!
12/27/09 1:22 PM
Em's Summer said...
What a cute top! Looks like a great go to piece--definitely can't have too many of those! I'm thinking about making this up for myself, too. Great review!
12/27/09 2:23 PM
Aixoise said...
Super becoming top on you. The fit, fabric, and trim all contribute to a lovely garment. Happy holidays, and thanks for all your reviews and helpful input during the year.
12/27/09 2:23 PM
Elke said...
Very pretty blouse and it looks great on you!
12/27/09 3:38 PM
Nancy K said...
This looks wonderful on you! Graceful and flattering. So often these front gathers make one look pregnant. Not so here. Easy, but not too full. Great pattern combination.
12/27/09 6:09 PM
sewing for fun said...
Beautiful blouse and great copy work! Your's is prettier and I am sure it will last longer than the RTW!
12/28/09 4:24 PM
roxygs said...
your blouse turned out so nice! I love the finishing touches! carlabuchanan.blogspot.com
1/3/10 6:48 PM
AdaH said...
What a great blouse.
1/24/10 6:10 PM
Erin Sooit said...
Wanted very much to read one of your reivews; this is a beautiful blouse and you look equally beautiful in it! You should try it again in another color or variation since you love it as well as you do. I admirre your work, and thank you.
1/27/10 0:13 AM
GwendolenG said...
love your review--and the photo's lovely! I'm making this in silk dupioni, and will seriously modify as well--thank you for your help!
2/1/10 12:38 PM
Bonnie123 said...
I am currently working on this top/pattern and making it as is...thanks for the review. You did a great job and this is a great knock off.
2/9/10 9:29 AM
SavageCoco said...
Oh! Well done!
2/10/12 1:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

brerrabbit.com Popolok Kottie Coat

photo
by: Terri A

Review
Full Bust DVD

Full Bust DVD

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Buy Now