Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5556 (Tunic) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 850 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 27 people   
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 192
Favored by: 388 people
patterns reviewed: 179
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/24/09 10:52 AM
Last Updated:12/27/09 9:23 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RLL said...
Wow, what a copy. Other than the sleeve length, it looks identical. Wonderful work as usual.
12/24/09 11:41 AM
tutti frutti said...
Wow, just gorgeous!
12/24/09 11:59 AM
carolynw said...
It's beautiful Debbie and your work is so impeccable. Must get this pattern. Thanks for such a great review
12/24/09 12:29 PM
Karen6790 said...
I can definitely see why this will get a lot of wear - everyone needs a great white shirt and this is, of course, beautifully made. Can't wait to see it on you.
12/24/09 12:41 PM
PVA said...
Love it! This would be great for our hot summers, loose fit is best when temps go over the top! Thanks, one more time, for a great tutorial -- you're the best!
12/24/09 2:07 PM
Irene said...
What a great copy of your inspiration top! I love gathers-under-placket styles and would not have thought of altering this pattern the way you did. I'm adding it to my wish list.
12/24/09 4:51 PM
sewnsewtoo said...
As always you've written a very informative review. I love your knockoff. I admire the ability to make so many changes and wind up with a smashing blouse. Have a merry Christmas.
12/24/09 5:37 PM
KathySews said...
This looks great. Can't wait to see it on you.
12/24/09 6:13 PM
Winifred said...
This is very beautiful Debbie, like others I want to see it on you !! BTW in UK we spell the trim "ric-rac" but there are loads of variations !!
12/24/09 6:36 PM
Darla in PA said...
Wow! Debbie, you've done it again. Absolutely beautiful. Enjoy wearing it.
12/24/09 6:39 PM
Mufffet said...
Lovely! :) Great color and I am gonna check back for that picture!
12/25/09 0:17 AM
fourkid said...
Love this blouse! Great tip on how to make the dart look so much better - I am sure I will be using that in my sewing - as soon as I learn to use my serger :)
12/25/09 2:15 AM
BillieJean said...
Absolutely beautiful and another thorough review. Thank you so much. Can't wait to see the picture. Merry Christmas!
12/25/09 5:58 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Gorgeous top. Love all the details. Great review.
12/25/09 6:11 AM
Rebecca D said...
It's a lovely blouse and I look forward to a picture of you wearing it on Christmas Day.
12/25/09 7:27 AM
Andreahg said...
Nice work and it's a great copy of your original inspiration!
12/25/09 9:47 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Lovely job on the placket and buttons. It looks very much like the knockoff. Great looking blouse!
12/25/09 10:35 AM
o3b said...
Gorgeous! I like yours so much better. The pattern looks kind of ho-hum to me, but your version is really special.
12/26/09 3:43 AM
valerie sews said...
Very stylish top. It looks like a tunic version of a dressy shirt. all the morphing paid off!
12/26/09 4:05 AM
rozzybabe said...
As usual, you're expertise in doing pattern alterations & re-drafting are top notch! The blouse is beautiful, & looks better than the knock-off. Thanks for sharing your knowledge with us.
12/26/09 2:25 PM
JudyP said...
Great review! You always give so much detail in your reviews! Your blouse looks better on you than on the dressform! Great fit , beautiful details!
12/27/09 10:27 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Gorgeous blouse! An extremely helpful review, as usual. :)
12/27/09 10:37 AM
Red Curtain said...
Simply gorgeous. Very well done. Thanks for including so many pictures.
12/27/09 10:43 AM
Heatherrique said...
Very pretty top, Debbie! Superb knockoff of the original and certainly better made.
12/27/09 12:17 PM
maedchen said...
stunning!
12/27/09 1:22 PM
Em's Summer said...
What a cute top! Looks like a great go to piece--definitely can't have too many of those! I'm thinking about making this up for myself, too. Great review!
12/27/09 2:23 PM
Aixoise said...
Super becoming top on you. The fit, fabric, and trim all contribute to a lovely garment. Happy holidays, and thanks for all your reviews and helpful input during the year.
12/27/09 2:23 PM
Elke said...
Very pretty blouse and it looks great on you!
12/27/09 3:38 PM
Nancy K said...
This looks wonderful on you! Graceful and flattering. So often these front gathers make one look pregnant. Not so here. Easy, but not too full. Great pattern combination.
12/27/09 6:09 PM
sewing for fun said...
Beautiful blouse and great copy work! Your's is prettier and I am sure it will last longer than the RTW!
12/28/09 4:24 PM
roxygs said...
your blouse turned out so nice! I love the finishing touches! carlabuchanan.blogspot.com
1/3/10 6:48 PM
AdaH said...
What a great blouse.
1/24/10 6:10 PM
Erin Sooit said...
Wanted very much to read one of your reivews; this is a beautiful blouse and you look equally beautiful in it! You should try it again in another color or variation since you love it as well as you do. I admirre your work, and thank you.
1/27/10 0:13 AM
GwendolenG said...
love your review--and the photo's lovely! I'm making this in silk dupioni, and will seriously modify as well--thank you for your help!
2/1/10 12:38 PM
Bonnie123 said...
I am currently working on this top/pattern and making it as is...thanks for the review. You did a great job and this is a great knock off.
2/9/10 9:29 AM
SavageCoco said...
Oh! Well done!
2/10/12 1:27 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Butterick 5267 Tote Bags
photo
Review by genericear... on 9/21/09
Read Review

New Look 6433 Pattern
New Look 6433 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 9497 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 9497 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6057
photo
Review by Jaloma on 2/8/13
Read Review

Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 651 Pattern
Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us