SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5556 (Tunic)

4 more reviews
Viewed 855 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 196
Favored by: 394 people
patterns reviewed: 183
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/24/09 10:52 AM
Last Updated:12/27/09 9:23 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 27 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SavageCoco said...
Oh! Well done!
2/10/12 1:27 PM
Bonnie123 said...
I am currently working on this top/pattern and making it as is...thanks for the review. You did a great job and this is a great knock off.
2/9/10 9:29 AM
GwendolenG said...
love your review--and the photo's lovely! I'm making this in silk dupioni, and will seriously modify as well--thank you for your help!
2/1/10 12:38 PM
Erin Sooit said...
Wanted very much to read one of your reivews; this is a beautiful blouse and you look equally beautiful in it! You should try it again in another color or variation since you love it as well as you do. I admirre your work, and thank you.
1/27/10 0:13 AM
AdaH said...
What a great blouse.
1/24/10 6:10 PM
roxygs said...
your blouse turned out so nice! I love the finishing touches! carlabuchanan.blogspot.com
1/3/10 6:48 PM
sewing for fun said...
Beautiful blouse and great copy work! Your's is prettier and I am sure it will last longer than the RTW!
12/28/09 4:24 PM
Nancy K said...
This looks wonderful on you! Graceful and flattering. So often these front gathers make one look pregnant. Not so here. Easy, but not too full. Great pattern combination.
12/27/09 6:09 PM
Elke said...
Very pretty blouse and it looks great on you!
12/27/09 3:38 PM
Aixoise said...
Super becoming top on you. The fit, fabric, and trim all contribute to a lovely garment. Happy holidays, and thanks for all your reviews and helpful input during the year.
12/27/09 2:23 PM
Em's Summer said...
What a cute top! Looks like a great go to piece--definitely can't have too many of those! I'm thinking about making this up for myself, too. Great review!
12/27/09 2:23 PM
maedchen said...
stunning!
12/27/09 1:22 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very pretty top, Debbie! Superb knockoff of the original and certainly better made.
12/27/09 12:17 PM
Red Curtain said...
Simply gorgeous. Very well done. Thanks for including so many pictures.
12/27/09 10:43 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Gorgeous blouse! An extremely helpful review, as usual. :)
12/27/09 10:37 AM
JudyP said...
Great review! You always give so much detail in your reviews! Your blouse looks better on you than on the dressform! Great fit , beautiful details!
12/27/09 10:27 AM
rozzybabe said...
As usual, you're expertise in doing pattern alterations & re-drafting are top notch! The blouse is beautiful, & looks better than the knock-off. Thanks for sharing your knowledge with us.
12/26/09 2:25 PM
valerie sews said...
Very stylish top. It looks like a tunic version of a dressy shirt. all the morphing paid off!
12/26/09 4:05 AM
o3b said...
Gorgeous! I like yours so much better. The pattern looks kind of ho-hum to me, but your version is really special.
12/26/09 3:43 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Lovely job on the placket and buttons. It looks very much like the knockoff. Great looking blouse!
12/25/09 10:35 AM
Andreahg said...
Nice work and it's a great copy of your original inspiration!
12/25/09 9:47 AM
Rebecca D said...
It's a lovely blouse and I look forward to a picture of you wearing it on Christmas Day.
12/25/09 7:27 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Gorgeous top. Love all the details. Great review.
12/25/09 6:11 AM
BillieJean said...
Absolutely beautiful and another thorough review. Thank you so much. Can't wait to see the picture. Merry Christmas!
12/25/09 5:58 AM
fourkid said...
Love this blouse! Great tip on how to make the dart look so much better - I am sure I will be using that in my sewing - as soon as I learn to use my serger :)
12/25/09 2:15 AM
Mufffet said...
Lovely! :) Great color and I am gonna check back for that picture!
12/25/09 0:17 AM
Darla in PA said...
Wow! Debbie, you've done it again. Absolutely beautiful. Enjoy wearing it.
12/24/09 6:39 PM
Winifred said...
This is very beautiful Debbie, like others I want to see it on you !! BTW in UK we spell the trim "ric-rac" but there are loads of variations !!
12/24/09 6:36 PM
KathySews said...
This looks great. Can't wait to see it on you.
12/24/09 6:13 PM
sewnsewtoo said...
As always you've written a very informative review. I love your knockoff. I admire the ability to make so many changes and wind up with a smashing blouse. Have a merry Christmas.
12/24/09 5:37 PM
Irene said...
What a great copy of your inspiration top! I love gathers-under-placket styles and would not have thought of altering this pattern the way you did. I'm adding it to my wish list.
12/24/09 4:51 PM
PVA said...
Love it! This would be great for our hot summers, loose fit is best when temps go over the top! Thanks, one more time, for a great tutorial -- you're the best!
12/24/09 2:07 PM
Karen6790 said...
I can definitely see why this will get a lot of wear - everyone needs a great white shirt and this is, of course, beautifully made. Can't wait to see it on you.
12/24/09 12:41 PM
carolynw said...
It's beautiful Debbie and your work is so impeccable. Must get this pattern. Thanks for such a great review
12/24/09 12:29 PM
tutti frutti said...
Wow, just gorgeous!
12/24/09 11:59 AM
RLL said...
Wow, what a copy. Other than the sleeve length, it looks identical. Wonderful work as usual.
12/24/09 11:41 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Buy Now
New Look 6284

photo
by: Jemajyng

Review