SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> v2971 (Koos van den Akker skirt)

1 more reviews
Viewed 522 times 
Reviewed by:sarahinlafayette
photo

 
 
About sarahinlafayettestar
CA USA
Member since: 7/17/08
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/26/09 1:24 PM
Last Updated:12/26/09 1:31 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CSY said...
I am in the I LOVE IT camp. I am very inspired by your review! Great skirt!
12/26/09 2:14 PM
Aixoise said...
Elegant review, interesting skirt. Your caveats (social situation - very rude people) are well-taken for something this unusual (avant-garde?). Thank you for your thoughts on a pattern that definitely falls outside my fashion zone.
12/26/09 2:53 PM
oracle said...
I've got this pattern, and I love what you did with it. I've got three fabrics picked out but have not been able to find the fourth to make the squiggles with, so haven't started sewing it yet. Your creativity with it makes me feel braver to play and see what I get.
12/26/09 4:21 PM
Natasha B said...
Fabulous! A night at the Opera would be my choice of location or my own birthday party.
12/26/09 4:25 PM
lamstu said...
Your skirt is so fun - I love it! When the pattern was released, I didn't care for the model garment except that it looked interesting. Your monochrome palette is more wearable and shows off the design lines. So now you've got me scheming about a cool summer skirt with some seam line emphasis/embellishment. I think skirts like this work with cami/tank type, very plain fitted tops. Thanks for your review and sharing your process. And by all means - wear it again!!
12/26/09 4:59 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
What an incredibly interesting skirt. I like it. I'm very sure I like it best in the mono-chrome you chose to employ. I believe the idea for the velvet skirt is most likely a winner!
12/26/09 5:07 PM
Ripple Dandelion said...
Thank you for a wonderful review and for showing us this beautiful creation.
12/26/09 5:11 PM
Athene said...
An absolutely beautiful sophisticated version of the skirt pattern. Congratulations on your fabulous results. And as you stated this pattern could be a great part of of wedding costume just brings up so many possibilites. Wow - its nice to visualize the possibilities.
12/26/09 8:28 PM
FreyaStark said...
Amazing! Well done. Making it in a plainer fabric is a good idea. It looks less freakish than the pattern photo and more Issey Miyake. I hope you get plenty of wear out of it.
12/27/09 2:47 AM
sfshaza said...
LOVE it!!! This was one of the first patterns I bought when I returned to sewing last August. I have been wanting to make it for some time, but hadn't found the right fabric - I think this pattern has huge potential. I love your striped shirting and it made me realize that I do, after all, have a fabric that will work. Wow, I can't wait to make this up!!! ;)
12/27/09 2:57 AM
tess said...
Wow what an amazing skirt and a really good, enlightening review! I love the way it looks I don't usually go for this designer finding his fabric choices a bit "manic" for me but I really like the way you've done your skirt, wear it with attitude!
12/27/09 5:31 AM
DorothyK said...
Amazing. You did a wonderful job with the stripes. Your review will be very helpful when I ever get up the nerve to make this skirt. Congratulations on a job well done.
12/27/09 10:56 AM
lorenakitty said...
I love the skirt and I really like where you took the look with the tone on tone color way.
12/27/09 3:03 PM
ALY said...
I bought this pattern for the top, not caring much for the multicolored skirt. I really like your version made with the striped shirting. Still an "art to wear" look, but in a more subdued, sophisticated, interesting way.
12/27/09 4:48 PM
Ann Smith said...
You have inspired many of us with your interpretation of this pattern. I hope I can find the right fabric like you did. Great job.
12/28/09 1:22 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, this is an amazing skirt and I love it in the fabric you chose. You made the transition from costume to cool, hip look. Bravo!
12/30/09 8:33 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
Sign me up for the LOVE IT camp! I really did not consider the skirt for myself because of the volumne but, after seeing yours, I might have to try it. IMHO I would not do velvet but silk dupioni a resounding yes.
12/30/09 7:36 PM
ConnieBJ said...
Love yours! I saw it on someone last week and inspired to make one. Do you think G and T will be an okay replacement for scotch?
6/23/10 2:32 PM
karen n said...
I just bought a whole bunch of patterns that I've been researching for some time and had space to add 1 more for the same shipping price. After seeing your skirt, I'm most excited about this pattern above all the others! I can't wait to try it. I plan to wear it everywhere. I've stopped saving my cool stuff for occasions. Every day is an occasion!
12/16/10 5:03 AM
benick said...
nice review! I like how you used the same material for the applique...not a big fan of the technicolor stuff on my person as well. I made this using army green died muslin as a fit sample before I cut into my precious bengali cotton I bought in Bangladesh. I omited the applique period. This skirt has nice lines! Have'nt made the shirt yet, though I did adjust the pattern already cause that pattern looks like a wack fit! about to make it again in black vintage. wish me luck! cheers!
4/13/11 11:26 AM
CostumeDeeva said...
WOW - You're review has encouraged me to attempt this one. I, too, am in the absolute LOVE IT camp!! Thanks for a wonderful review.
6/14/11 3:57 PM
meandmyrabbit said...
great review. i am working on the skirt. i need help. i was wondering if you could tell me how to stich the pockets and piece 12 o the skirt. i am almost done but i am stuckand cant go any further without ur help
4/17/12 11:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Contest 187297-1015

photo
by: Aroura

Review
SewBaby Travel Nappers Pattern

SewBaby Travel Nappers Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Buy Now