SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Tribeca Shirt (Tribeca Jacket)

14 more reviews
Viewed 534 times 
Reviewed by:lamstu
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About lamstustarstar
CHINA
Member since: 8/17/04
Reviews written: 79
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 77
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/24/10 8:28 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
I think you really made this pattern work for your personal preferences and have a very attractive jacket. Looking at the photos you have posted I do not think the jacket is too big in the collar area. I think that is simply the style of the collar in this pattern. Photo 8 the side view shows the jacket fitting very nicely and photo 10 with the top button undone and the collar open eliminates the funnel collar design feature that you do not care for and looks very attractive.
1/24/10 8:54 PM
moushka said...
I like the jacket on you very much, sorry it doesn't please you. Appreciate you taking the time to review it because I love the pattern.
1/24/10 8:59 PM
j222b said...
Bummer. Just wear your pretty smile and no one will even notice the jacket!
1/24/10 9:10 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Thanks for the review. I understand your frustration with this pattern. I have found that some of the sewing workshop patterns are too generous around the waist for my hourglass figure. I still like the patterns, but I know I will have to work with them a great deal, and now tend to avoid them. That said, I think your jacket looks quite attractive; you certainly look good in it.
1/24/10 11:57 PM
carolynw said...
I think it looks really nice - this one didn't work for me on my first try but have kept the pattern and will try again -- someday - maybe. Fail point for me was the high collar which i hated so will have to adjust that if I do try again
1/25/10 9:18 AM
DorothyK said...
I think it's a very pretty garment. How does it look open, as a jacket, with a tee underneath?
1/25/10 10:40 AM
sfshaza said...
I certainly hear your frustration, but I love the look of this jacket on you! All that work you did to make it fit paid off. I have avoided this pattern because it *looked* like a nightmare to fit, but you've given me hope that it might work on me after all. I am busty, with no waist and small hips. I am sure I would have to move all those darts around, but, wow, it looks great and might work on me. :) Thanks for posting your review!!
1/25/10 11:18 AM
sarahinlafayette said...
Great job finishing a UFO, and it does look like a nice concept, and the funnel neck looks all right, but I agree that the chest and arms are just too big. The fabric is beautiful - as the other person said, just keep smiling and no one will care.
1/25/10 11:55 AM
sew2little said...
I have made this shirt--and it's not the easiest shirt to wear. I did sew the facing down. Another issue on yours might be the weight of your fabric. I used a light cotton which helps the collar drape a little better. I also shortened the collar a bit. I had tried this shirt on at a Linda Lee trunk show and loved it. I suspect that she had worked a little magic with the pattern. Still, I like mine and get lots of compliments when I wear it. But, having said that, why re-make something you're not sure about when there are so many other patterns to try!
1/25/10 6:11 PM
Patricia Schoeman said...
You did a great job on your jacket. Well done.
1/27/10 7:36 PM
lamstu said...
Thank you all for your kind comments. I did wear this jacket last week and was happy to be able to fit an extra layer underneath, for warmth. Dorothy K: unbuttoned, the jacket swings to the back and doesn't look at all tidy. As I think about it, I don't wear anything open at the front, even with a t-shirt underneath.
1/28/10 0:08 AM
marthamyers said...
What a relief to read your review! I've had an unfinished version of this hanging around for several months now. Maybe it's not just me, after all. I agree with your conclusion about body types. You've also inspired me to pull it out and finish it. BTW, mine is in a soft shirt-weight cotton but I don't like the result much. It's not a flattering fit on me. Thanks for your detailed review.
2/1/10 9:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Buy Now
Runaround Bag

Runaround Bag

Buy Now
New Look 6922

photo
by: biink

Review