Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: Tribeca Shirt (Tribeca Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 528 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:lamstu
photo
Friend of PR
About lamstustarstar
CHINA
Member since: 8/17/04
Reviews written: 79
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 77
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/24/10 8:28 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
I think you really made this pattern work for your personal preferences and have a very attractive jacket. Looking at the photos you have posted I do not think the jacket is too big in the collar area. I think that is simply the style of the collar in this pattern. Photo 8 the side view shows the jacket fitting very nicely and photo 10 with the top button undone and the collar open eliminates the funnel collar design feature that you do not care for and looks very attractive.
1/24/10 8:54 PM
moushka said...
I like the jacket on you very much, sorry it doesn't please you. Appreciate you taking the time to review it because I love the pattern.
1/24/10 8:59 PM
j222b said...
Bummer. Just wear your pretty smile and no one will even notice the jacket!
1/24/10 9:10 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Thanks for the review. I understand your frustration with this pattern. I have found that some of the sewing workshop patterns are too generous around the waist for my hourglass figure. I still like the patterns, but I know I will have to work with them a great deal, and now tend to avoid them. That said, I think your jacket looks quite attractive; you certainly look good in it.
1/24/10 11:57 PM
carolynw said...
I think it looks really nice - this one didn't work for me on my first try but have kept the pattern and will try again -- someday - maybe. Fail point for me was the high collar which i hated so will have to adjust that if I do try again
1/25/10 9:18 AM
DorothyK said...
I think it's a very pretty garment. How does it look open, as a jacket, with a tee underneath?
1/25/10 10:40 AM
sfshaza said...
I certainly hear your frustration, but I love the look of this jacket on you! All that work you did to make it fit paid off. I have avoided this pattern because it *looked* like a nightmare to fit, but you've given me hope that it might work on me after all. I am busty, with no waist and small hips. I am sure I would have to move all those darts around, but, wow, it looks great and might work on me. :) Thanks for posting your review!!
1/25/10 11:18 AM
sarahinlafayette said...
Great job finishing a UFO, and it does look like a nice concept, and the funnel neck looks all right, but I agree that the chest and arms are just too big. The fabric is beautiful - as the other person said, just keep smiling and no one will care.
1/25/10 11:55 AM
sew2little said...
I have made this shirt--and it's not the easiest shirt to wear. I did sew the facing down. Another issue on yours might be the weight of your fabric. I used a light cotton which helps the collar drape a little better. I also shortened the collar a bit. I had tried this shirt on at a Linda Lee trunk show and loved it. I suspect that she had worked a little magic with the pattern. Still, I like mine and get lots of compliments when I wear it. But, having said that, why re-make something you're not sure about when there are so many other patterns to try!
1/25/10 6:11 PM
Patricia Schoeman said...
You did a great job on your jacket. Well done.
1/27/10 7:36 PM
lamstu said...
Thank you all for your kind comments. I did wear this jacket last week and was happy to be able to fit an extra layer underneath, for warmth. Dorothy K: unbuttoned, the jacket swings to the back and doesn't look at all tidy. As I think about it, I don't wear anything open at the front, even with a t-shirt underneath.
1/28/10 0:08 AM
marthamyers said...
What a relief to read your review! I've had an unfinished version of this hanging around for several months now. Maybe it's not just me, after all. I agree with your conclusion about body types. You've also inspired me to pull it out and finish it. BTW, mine is in a soft shirt-weight cotton but I don't like the result much. It's not a flattering fit on me. Thanks for your detailed review.
2/1/10 9:43 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Chris W Designs Evelyn Evelyn
photo
Review by Lori V on 4/16/12
Read Review

McCalls 4400 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 4400 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7381 Pattern
Burda 7381 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2005-122
photo
Review by SandraB on 2/23/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Patricia Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Patricia Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us