Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3123 thumbsup - Type:Mens - Jackets    printable version
Viewed 330 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Manalto
photo
About Manaltostar
Member since: 5/29/08
Reviews written: 20
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/27/09 6:32 AM
Last Updated:12/30/09 6:40 AM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancy Rhodes said...
Hi! Wish I could see a larger picture of your jacket. It looks very nice...Interesting choice of sail cloth for the interfacings.. I have been told using a hammer on thick denim crossing seams makes those areas easier to stitch over as it flatten & softens a bit. Great review! lots of information on how you constructed your jacket. Thank you for sharing.
12/27/09 7:25 AM
craftygamma said...
Wow, impressive construction techniques! Your pic does not enlarge, and I sure would like to see it closer up.
12/27/09 7:29 AM
Manalto said...
I downloaded the photo according to instructions - how do you make it so that it will enlarge? Thanks for the hammer tip, Nancy! Great idea. I assume that you remove the garment from the sewing machine before hitting it with a hammer, ha, ha.
12/27/09 7:45 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
"As a beginner..." NOT!! Great review!! (I'D say that "beginners" wouldn't know how to "tweek" patterns and make changes, eh ;) Kudos!!
12/27/09 8:35 AM
mesewlot said...
Did you say beginner? Wow! You seem to know your stuff. Very well done!
12/27/09 9:19 AM
Re Becca said...
You made a great jacket. I agree, you should change your skill level. As for the picture, you might want to make sure that you have a copy in the "review gallery" spot of the review. I still have to figure these things out myself, good luck.
12/27/09 10:06 AM
Elona said...
Your commentary is great, and if I could just see that teeny photo better, I'm sure the jacket is terrific. Here is a link to handling photos in your reviews: http://www.friendsofpr.com/cgi-bin/upload.pl Note that the photo cannot be enlarged once posted in a review. You have to resize your own picture on your computer or your photo website first, and then re-upload it.
12/27/09 12:19 PM
Manalto said...
Oh, unless I'm mistaken, I'd have to become a "Friend" which would cost me $30, to post a photo large enough for you to see. I'm sorry, but I don't feel that I'm active enough yet to merit the subscription fee.
12/27/09 12:23 PM
Annette1 said...
VERY nice jacket and a GREAT review. I got out my trusty "virtual magnifying glass," and enlarged the picture as much as I could on my screen without blurring, and I can see that it's very nicely made. All of the details that you incorporated are very well thought-out, too. This is really a nice pattern. Maybe I need to add it to my stash, JUST IN CASE -- ha!
12/27/09 2:59 PM
Sanibelle said...
You don't need to be a paying member to be able to post your photos at PR (only if you want to store them at PR). There are websites that host photos for free (such as Photobucket, Flickr, Picasa...). You could upload your photos to PR from one of those. I've never used any of them, so I can't give you a personal recommendation, but if you do a search of the boards, you'll find several threads discussing them. Thanks for a great review!
12/28/09 2:59 AM
Karine said...
Thanks for the helpful review. Your jacket looks very RTW. I, too, would love to see a larger pic!
12/28/09 9:42 AM
carolynw said...
It looks like a very nice jacket and you certainly put a lot of effort into it - hope soon you will post a larger photo
12/28/09 10:25 AM
Sherril Miller said...
I hope you take Sanibelle's advice because I too would love to see a close-up of that jacket. It looks great in the thumbnail.
12/28/09 11:33 AM
TracyTheMaterialGirl said...
It looks fantastic - so much nicer than the pattern illustration. I'm sure the pattern would sell a lot more if it had a picture of your jacket on instead!
12/30/09 11:50 AM
Quilt2Quilt said...
Excellent job. You did a great job sharing some sewing tips. From one beginner to another - you're no beginner! Thanks for the great review. I'll try this pattern now.
12/30/09 12:01 PM
Sanibelle said...
Thank you so much for the larger photo! What a great looking jacket. Now to go show it to DH.... :)
12/30/09 1:19 PM
Hilary said...
This turned out great!! Looks like a perfect fit. I have this and need to make it for DH soon :p although I doubt he'll ever have snow to wear it in, lol! South TX heat and all-wish I could see some snow! Thanks for the great review!
9/8/10 10:39 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Kwik Sew 2530 Men Shirts
photo
Review by novicesewi... on 2/13/11
Read Review

Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)
Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)
Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2443
photo
Review by CJgal on 8/28/11
Read Review

Petite Plus 202 Pattern
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 504 Pattern
Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1818 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 1818 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5613 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5613 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us