SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7975 (MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE JACKET)

62 more reviews
Viewed 600 times 
Reviewed by:blue mooney
photo

 
 
About blue mooneystarstarstar
Member since: 12/21/02
Reviews written: 96
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 93
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/27/09 2:41 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mollyshark said...
I love the topstitching. On a bouncy wool like that the topstitching provides a nice texture. Great job.
12/27/09 2:47 PM
Annette1 said...
This is such a lovely jacket. I really admire all those PERFECT rows of topstitching!
12/27/09 3:22 PM
Camerio said...
Very nice!
12/27/09 3:35 PM
ALY said...
Beautiful jacket. I really like the color and the topstitching. I'm am sure it will be super comfortable to wear made in the shrunken wool jersey.
12/27/09 4:16 PM
Ripple Dandelion said...
I really like it--style, color and topstitching details. Did you also interface the facings?
12/27/09 6:01 PM
RLL said...
Beautiful.....plan B is a winner!
12/27/09 6:58 PM
blue mooney said...
Ripple, the facings were the only thing I interfaced. At first I thought maybe the topstitching would be enough to stabilize the neck & front, but in the end I'm glad I interfaced, too.
12/27/09 6:59 PM
LisaRM said...
Love the topstitching. The color is lovely.
12/27/09 7:12 PM
persevering said...
Congratulations, your jacket is beautiful! Can you please explain a little more if you can? 1) what you did exactly to narrow the shoulder (in your case of not using shoulder pads), 2) re: sizing - how much ease you think is suitable for bust, waist....
12/27/09 8:11 PM
Wino said...
Love the topstitching!
12/27/09 8:44 PM
Robin Denning said...
This is utterly gorgeous. What a great eye you have.
12/27/09 9:48 PM
jannw said...
very, very nice..looks perfect..what a nice use of your fabric
12/28/09 0:32 AM
Athene said...
A wonderful jacket. I love all the topstitching.
12/28/09 5:47 AM
Peggy L said...
This turned out perfect! I love the five rows of topstitching. Looks like one of those garments you'll wear often. I'm sure that color looks fabulous on you!
12/28/09 7:15 AM
blue mooney said...
Persevering, to narrow the shoulder in this case all I did was shave off on the side backs and fronts above the armscye notches, gradually widening the amount I was cutting off as I approached the shoulder seam. In the end, the width of the shoulder was reduced by 5/8".
12/28/09 7:34 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Pretty teal jacket! Plan B really worked well.
12/28/09 8:35 AM
Karine said...
Great jacket - love the topstitching. I was thinking about this pattern for a felted jersey unstructured jacket after seeing the cover article in this month's Threads magazine.
12/28/09 9:44 AM
becca a said...
Great jacket. I love the color and the top-stitching detail.
12/28/09 10:11 AM
mastdenman said...
Nice jacket. Love the top stitching.
12/28/09 10:13 AM
carolynw said...
Lovely - just about finished a jacket from this pattern (will review) - this is such a classic pattern - a real must have - I have it in both size sets!!
12/28/09 10:21 AM
Sherril Miller said...
This cardigan is lovely. I think the color is timeless along with the style. Your topstitching is the perfect touch. When you out-shrink this one, send it my way!
12/28/09 11:24 AM
KristenI said...
Love it Robyn! What a great idea, thanks for reviewing.
12/28/09 8:53 PM
sewnsewtoo said...
Lovely jacket. I especially like the topstitching. Very effective.
12/29/09 2:19 AM
JoyceP said...
Really nice outcome for your Plan "B"! Like many others, I compliment you on that lovely topstitching, it gives the jacket pizazz ;-)
1/2/10 11:07 AM
persevering said...
Blue mooney, Thank you for clearly explaining how you did the shoulder adjustment. I'm certain this will help me a lot when I actually am able to start sewing again. I have had this pattern and the right fabric for quite some time and it is just so what I want to make.
1/3/10 2:47 PM
Christas said...
I don't know how I missed this review! I love the top stitching and the color of your jacket. The style is great. I am sure you have worn it often. Wish you had another sewing class near Meggie and me!
1/17/10 10:05 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 281988-1003

photo
by: SavageCoco

Review
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Buy Now
McCall's 6550

photo
by: PAMomof3

Review