Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7975 (MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE JACKET) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 593 times 60 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:blue mooney
photo
About blue mooneystarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 12/21/02
Reviews written: 96
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 93
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/27/09 2:41 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $20.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mollyshark said...
I love the topstitching. On a bouncy wool like that the topstitching provides a nice texture. Great job.
12/27/09 2:47 PM
Annette1 said...
This is such a lovely jacket. I really admire all those PERFECT rows of topstitching!
12/27/09 3:22 PM
Camerio said...
Very nice!
12/27/09 3:35 PM
ALY said...
Beautiful jacket. I really like the color and the topstitching. I'm am sure it will be super comfortable to wear made in the shrunken wool jersey.
12/27/09 4:16 PM
Ripple Dandelion said...
I really like it--style, color and topstitching details. Did you also interface the facings?
12/27/09 6:01 PM
RLL said...
Beautiful.....plan B is a winner!
12/27/09 6:58 PM
blue mooney said...
Ripple, the facings were the only thing I interfaced. At first I thought maybe the topstitching would be enough to stabilize the neck & front, but in the end I'm glad I interfaced, too.
12/27/09 6:59 PM
LisaRM said...
Love the topstitching. The color is lovely.
12/27/09 7:12 PM
persevering said...
Congratulations, your jacket is beautiful! Can you please explain a little more if you can? 1) what you did exactly to narrow the shoulder (in your case of not using shoulder pads), 2) re: sizing - how much ease you think is suitable for bust, waist....
12/27/09 8:11 PM
Wino said...
Love the topstitching!
12/27/09 8:44 PM
Robin Denning said...
This is utterly gorgeous. What a great eye you have.
12/27/09 9:48 PM
jannw said...
very, very nice..looks perfect..what a nice use of your fabric
12/28/09 0:32 AM
Athene said...
A wonderful jacket. I love all the topstitching.
12/28/09 5:47 AM
Peggy L said...
This turned out perfect! I love the five rows of topstitching. Looks like one of those garments you'll wear often. I'm sure that color looks fabulous on you!
12/28/09 7:15 AM
blue mooney said...
Persevering, to narrow the shoulder in this case all I did was shave off on the side backs and fronts above the armscye notches, gradually widening the amount I was cutting off as I approached the shoulder seam. In the end, the width of the shoulder was reduced by 5/8".
12/28/09 7:34 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Pretty teal jacket! Plan B really worked well.
12/28/09 8:35 AM
Karine said...
Great jacket - love the topstitching. I was thinking about this pattern for a felted jersey unstructured jacket after seeing the cover article in this month's Threads magazine.
12/28/09 9:44 AM
becca a said...
Great jacket. I love the color and the top-stitching detail.
12/28/09 10:11 AM
mastdenman said...
Nice jacket. Love the top stitching.
12/28/09 10:13 AM
carolynw said...
Lovely - just about finished a jacket from this pattern (will review) - this is such a classic pattern - a real must have - I have it in both size sets!!
12/28/09 10:21 AM
Sherril Miller said...
This cardigan is lovely. I think the color is timeless along with the style. Your topstitching is the perfect touch. When you out-shrink this one, send it my way!
12/28/09 11:24 AM
KristenI said...
Love it Robyn! What a great idea, thanks for reviewing.
12/28/09 8:53 PM
sewnsewtoo said...
Lovely jacket. I especially like the topstitching. Very effective.
12/29/09 2:19 AM
JoyceP said...
Really nice outcome for your Plan "B"! Like many others, I compliment you on that lovely topstitching, it gives the jacket pizazz ;-)
1/2/10 11:07 AM
persevering said...
Blue mooney, Thank you for clearly explaining how you did the shoulder adjustment. I'm certain this will help me a lot when I actually am able to start sewing again. I have had this pattern and the right fabric for quite some time and it is just so what I want to make.
1/3/10 2:47 PM
Christas said...
I don't know how I missed this review! I love the top stitching and the color of your jacket. The style is great. I am sure you have worn it often. Wish you had another sewing class near Meggie and me!
1/17/10 10:05 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Butterick 5520
photo
Review by Mahogany S... on 9/29/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 105 Pattern
Kwik Sew 105 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4131 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )
Butterick 4131 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 2851
photo
Review by unfinished... on 7/3/09
Read Review

Oliver S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern
SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King
HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us