Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 08-2006-108 (Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 371 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:Karen6790
photo
Friend of PR
About Karen6790starstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 212
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 211
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/29/09 11:09 PM
Last Updated:12/31/09 4:37 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sewlovelier said...
You did a beautiful job on this. I love the zip up front.
12/30/09 0:36 AM
Sew tell me said...
Excellent job matching the plaid!
12/30/09 1:01 AM
Ripple Dandelion said...
A jacket worthy of this special fabric. It is just beautiful. The lining is so luxurious, too.
12/30/09 4:49 AM
tess said...
Wonderfully tailored jacket, you're a whizz at matching plaid, great review thank you!
12/30/09 5:21 AM
Fran G said...
Love the styling of this jacket, Karen, and the lining is so sumptuous that I want to always use silk charmeuse! Love the collar..the way it hugs the neck highlighting the face. Great work and review! Thanks!
12/30/09 8:10 AM
jent said...
gorgeous jacket! I love the fabric and the zipper adds a really nice touch too.
12/30/09 8:14 AM
JoanneM said...
Great jacket
12/30/09 8:30 AM
marjenann said...
Stunning, exceptional, gorgeous!
12/30/09 9:06 AM
Annette Wright said...
Wow, that is so pretty. The fabric up close (in the collar photo) is wonderful. I really want to do more Burda jackets, their styling is so interesting, just slightly different. I love this one. The link to the pattern wasn't working when I tried it.
12/30/09 9:20 AM
Karen6790 said...
I edited the reveiw to add the original magazine photo and the line drawing because as Idunna mentioned, BWOF's links weren't working.
12/30/09 9:37 AM
carolynw said...
Definitely a winnder Karen - great work as always and terrific review
12/30/09 10:21 AM
Ciclista said...
Stunning and a GREAT review. Thanks - I'm hoping I have BWOF from '06 - if not I'll look for the SB equivalent.
12/30/09 10:33 AM
Christas said...
Very stylish jacket! You did an excellent job matching the plaid.
12/30/09 10:47 AM
figtree said...
Love your jacket, I have it on my list to make and have even had the fabric for a couple years, but want to do piping and haven't quite figured that out yet. Excellent plaid matching btw!
12/30/09 11:23 AM
MizLiz said...
Congratulations, what a couture job you did and I usually do not like zip front jackets but yours is spectacular! Happy and healthy New Year wearing your gorgeous jacket. You are an inspiration !!
12/30/09 11:42 AM
Donna Likes Golf said...
Simply gorgeous! Love the plaid; and I agree about nixing the pockets - they would likely have detracted from the look. Nice review too - thanks!
12/30/09 1:47 PM
Beek said...
Great jacket. I just love tulip collars. Good job on matching the plaids.
12/30/09 2:00 PM
Heatherrique said...
You created another exquisitely charming and chic jacket. Beautifully constructed!
12/30/09 3:45 PM
dollieo said...
Smashing.
12/30/09 5:36 PM
sew2little said...
Beautiful! What a way to end 09!
12/30/09 5:40 PM
JudiBee2 said...
Wow, the matching of the plaid fabric is amazing. Thanks for the info on your thought processes. Love it.
12/31/09 5:23 PM
Rhoda K said...
A beautiful jacket and very thorough review. I love your plaid - great job!
12/31/09 8:00 PM
Kayseri said...
Lovely jacket, I saw this pattern and wasn't inspired until now.
1/1/10 1:49 AM
blue mooney said...
Outstanding! It's great that you got such a lovely result from your special fabric.
1/1/10 7:45 AM
okie2thdoc said...
You did a wonderful job on this jacket and yes, the bagged lining is great. I wonder if Sandra's book has all those neat tips for making the perfect jacket? BWOF is great despite the poor or non-existent instructions. A real winner.
1/1/10 10:09 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
Your jacket is ever so elegant. Beautifully done!
1/1/10 2:16 PM
Kellie R. said...
I think it's a winner too! What a super b job you did on this! The fabric is just perfect. Can I have it? lol Enjoy!
1/1/10 2:45 PM
nancy2001 said...
Your jacket is beautifully styled and beautifully sewn. What a gorgeous project.
1/1/10 3:52 PM
Phasionz by M said...
Great job!
1/1/10 6:28 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Butterick 5421 MISSES' SKIRT
photo
Review by tiadia on 9/24/10
Read Review

Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)
Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8546
photo
Review by Janiki on 3/20/11
Read Review

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

JSM-Pant 1
JSM-Pant 1

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1438 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1438 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7183 Pattern
Burda 7183 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us