SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8408 (MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE DRESS A)

14 more reviews
Viewed 553 times 
Reviewed by:kcstarr49
photo

 
 
About kcstarr49star
MO USA
Member since: 10/7/08
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/30/09 8:47 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
I am surprised you are throwing this out - it looks really nice on you. My suggestion - you keep this and pin in where you think you need more fitting and see if you aren't more happy with it. If nothing else it could serve as a muslin for future princess seam dresses.
12/31/09 9:01 AM
AuntieShel said...
I think your dress looks great and was surprised to read that you are getting rid of it. It is hard to fit by yourself. A friend who can do the pinning is a wonderful asset.
12/31/09 8:26 AM
lamstu said...
From the photo, the fit looks reasonably good. Many of the current Vogue patterns are designed to be rather looser fitting, so maybe you sewed it fine? In any case, the color and the collar really suit you, so you were on the right track. Better luck with your next project!
12/31/09 7:51 AM
valerie sews said...
While I can understand why you feel frustrated with this dress I agree with the other commenters - it's so pretty! Don't bin it just yet. If you haven't carted it off to the charity just yet it really wouldn't be too hard to take in the princess seams a little bit both front (and back if it has them there) from below the level of the bust down the below the hip, tapering in at the waist. It'll make a difference. But even as is, with a big patent leather belt it'd be just fine!
12/31/09 4:51 AM
SilvrGhost said...
ooh... you're going to give it away? But it looks great on you! Even the color is great. I agree with the others, a belt would look good.
12/31/09 0:23 AM
Immelu said...
Yeah, I agree...Put it aside for awhile and then try it with a belt. I think it'll be great...or at least okay and not a total wadder!
12/30/09 9:22 PM
Dynamo said...
I agree with katlew03. This colour looks fab on you, and I think you are being a bit harsh on yourself. It could be more fitted, but it is fine as is. You may even like it with a nice wide black belt to take it in!
12/30/09 9:17 PM
katlew03 said...
I thought your dress turned out very well, it just might need to be taken in a tiny bit in the seams. The color looks great on you and the collar really makes the dress. I wouldn't be too quick to give it away, you might like it better after it hangs in your closet for a few weeks.
12/30/09 9:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

New Look 6097

photo
by: SewWil

Review
Olabelhe Meg's Dress and Pinafore

photo
by: PostMuse

Review
THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Buy Now