SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Cutting Line Designs> 42201 (Farewell to Arms)

6 more reviews
Viewed 2511 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 245
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 88 people
patterns reviewed: 226
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/4/04 11:13 PM
Last Updated:6/28/04 11:25 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
gaginny said...
I have this pattern and have never used it. Since I am also a pear shape, I really appreciate your notes about the shape of the dress. Now I am not sure if i will make this up or not. I will have to open the pattern and have a closer look. I am currently working on a LC shirt pattern, Modern Artistic License. According to the pattern 's body measurement guide, i should make a XL, but i chose the M based on the finished measurements. Even so, the pattern pieces look humongous. We shall see.
9/23/07 8:52 AM
JDpenelope said...
Beautiful dress. (Like the new hairdo, too.) Your reviews are an education. Thanks for taking the time to include the helpful details.
7/1/04 7:06 AM
mudcat said...
Your outfit turned out really nice.
6/29/04 9:01 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
What a nice-looking outfit! Very flattering!
6/29/04 9:47 AM
Hilary said...
Beautiful skirt and top, Lisa! I love that fabric!
6/29/04 8:24 AM
MaryBeth said...
Great update. I really like the new version but don't remember the older version so can't compare. But the style suits the "new you" very well!
6/29/04 7:52 AM
alicia said...
thanks for the update on a great review. you're so persistent! love the outfit.
6/29/04 6:35 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Your new outfit looks great - I love the fabric!
6/29/04 1:44 AM
Ann C said...
Your project turned into a very attractive blouse. Other reviewers have noted that Cutting Line patterns are more suited to inverted V figure type than for those of us with hip curves.
3/6/04 8:59 AM
Kathy in NM said...
Thanks for the great reveiw - since I have this pattern and am pear-shaped! I would have probably made the same mistake as you with the lower half! The top is really great! (not bad for a boo-boo!!! ) Do you have enough fabric to piece a yoke or gore on each side of the skirt to add hip room?
3/5/04 7:12 PM
Peggy L said...
Lisa - it may not be what you intended, but it sure looks great on you! Love the color! You'll probably be able to wear this shirt a lot more than a dress!! I'm going to have to try this pattern one of these days - Louise gets some rave reviews on her instructions. Peggy
3/5/04 1:49 PM
AuntieShel said...
Lisa, your blouse is beautiful, even though you wanted a dress. The fabric sounds yummy!! Great review--I've not tried any Louise Cutting patterns.
3/5/04 1:49 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
The blouse looks wonderful on you. Thanks for your review -- I'm going to print it and stick it inside my pattern envelope for when I get around to sewing one, too.
3/5/04 12:39 PM
mudcat said...
Lisa, another flattering style on you. You did an excellent job.
3/5/04 10:44 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Thanks, Ladies, for the encouragement! The nicely defined waist has been AWOL since DS #2 was born nearly 11 years ago...sigh... Actually, I'm considering 1) using the leftovers for a shell top...I'm sure I have enough for that or 2) doing some funky piecing and making another garment that will elicit eyerolling from DH. I do not plan to discard it ;) One thing I should've mentioned, I guess, is that the little sketch on the back of the envelope does show the big-on-top, narrow-on-the-bottom shape of the dress better than the illustration on the front.
3/5/04 9:10 AM
Skymom said...
Lisa, the blouse looks really good. I wonder if you might do better to make the top and skirt rather than the dress, though. If you have a nicely defined waistline, it sounds as if this dress won't show it off. It could well be that this is simply a design that works better for someone with a straighter shape. The part you cut off is probably too small to turn into a skirt, though, huh? Maybe you could find a coordinating fabric and make a color-blocked skirt...it's a shame to waste nice fabric!
3/5/04 8:50 AM
Mbarkle said...
It's a great looking blouse, Lisa. Thanks for letting us know about the fit. I'm a pear too and it will help me choose a size if I ever get this one made up.
3/5/04 8:27 AM
kathi s said...
Ouch! What a bummer. It does make a nice blouse though.
3/5/04 8:20 AM
Aunt Cathy said...
I really like that shirt/blouse on you Lisa. It looks really nice - good save job. You can dress it up or dress it down. Thank you also for your detailed reviews. They are most informative and entertaining. I always find myself smiling when I read them.
3/5/04 8:18 AM
jlg said...
Lisa, I agree your shirt is very nice and becoming on you, even though it wasn't your intent. Thanks for the helpful review.
3/5/04 6:10 AM
Annika said...
Lisa, it's a very pretty blouse! Funny how roundabout our sewing experiences are, sometimes. We set out to create one thing and end up with something else. Good job!
3/5/04 5:30 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Lisa, I'm sorry you didn't get the dress you wanted... but the shirt looks very comfortable, and the review is very helpful!
3/5/04 2:03 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Buy Now