Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Cutting Line Designs: 42201 (Farewell to Arms) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 2504 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 242
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 86 people
patterns reviewed: 223
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/4/04 11:13 PM
Last Updated:6/28/04 11:25 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Asa Hagstrom said...
Lisa, I'm sorry you didn't get the dress you wanted... but the shirt looks very comfortable, and the review is very helpful!
3/5/04 2:03 AM
Annika said...
Lisa, it's a very pretty blouse! Funny how roundabout our sewing experiences are, sometimes. We set out to create one thing and end up with something else. Good job!
3/5/04 5:30 AM
jlg said...
Lisa, I agree your shirt is very nice and becoming on you, even though it wasn't your intent. Thanks for the helpful review.
3/5/04 6:10 AM
Aunt Cathy said...
I really like that shirt/blouse on you Lisa. It looks really nice - good save job. You can dress it up or dress it down. Thank you also for your detailed reviews. They are most informative and entertaining. I always find myself smiling when I read them.
3/5/04 8:18 AM
kathi s said...
Ouch! What a bummer. It does make a nice blouse though.
3/5/04 8:20 AM
Mbarkle said...
It's a great looking blouse, Lisa. Thanks for letting us know about the fit. I'm a pear too and it will help me choose a size if I ever get this one made up.
3/5/04 8:27 AM
Skymom said...
Lisa, the blouse looks really good. I wonder if you might do better to make the top and skirt rather than the dress, though. If you have a nicely defined waistline, it sounds as if this dress won't show it off. It could well be that this is simply a design that works better for someone with a straighter shape. The part you cut off is probably too small to turn into a skirt, though, huh? Maybe you could find a coordinating fabric and make a color-blocked skirt...it's a shame to waste nice fabric!
3/5/04 8:50 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Thanks, Ladies, for the encouragement! The nicely defined waist has been AWOL since DS #2 was born nearly 11 years ago...sigh... Actually, I'm considering 1) using the leftovers for a shell top...I'm sure I have enough for that or 2) doing some funky piecing and making another garment that will elicit eyerolling from DH. I do not plan to discard it ;) One thing I should've mentioned, I guess, is that the little sketch on the back of the envelope does show the big-on-top, narrow-on-the-bottom shape of the dress better than the illustration on the front.
3/5/04 9:10 AM
mudcat said...
Lisa, another flattering style on you. You did an excellent job.
3/5/04 10:44 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
The blouse looks wonderful on you. Thanks for your review -- I'm going to print it and stick it inside my pattern envelope for when I get around to sewing one, too.
3/5/04 12:39 PM
AuntieShel said...
Lisa, your blouse is beautiful, even though you wanted a dress. The fabric sounds yummy!! Great review--I've not tried any Louise Cutting patterns.
3/5/04 1:49 PM
Peggy L said...
Lisa - it may not be what you intended, but it sure looks great on you! Love the color! You'll probably be able to wear this shirt a lot more than a dress!! I'm going to have to try this pattern one of these days - Louise gets some rave reviews on her instructions. Peggy
3/5/04 1:49 PM
Kathy in NM said...
Thanks for the great reveiw - since I have this pattern and am pear-shaped! I would have probably made the same mistake as you with the lower half! The top is really great! (not bad for a boo-boo!!! ) Do you have enough fabric to piece a yoke or gore on each side of the skirt to add hip room?
3/5/04 7:12 PM
Ann C said...
Your project turned into a very attractive blouse. Other reviewers have noted that Cutting Line patterns are more suited to inverted V figure type than for those of us with hip curves.
3/6/04 8:59 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Your new outfit looks great - I love the fabric!
6/29/04 1:44 AM
alicia said...
thanks for the update on a great review. you're so persistent! love the outfit.
6/29/04 6:35 AM
MaryBeth said...
Great update. I really like the new version but don't remember the older version so can't compare. But the style suits the "new you" very well!
6/29/04 7:52 AM
Hilary said...
Beautiful skirt and top, Lisa! I love that fabric!
6/29/04 8:24 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
What a nice-looking outfit! Very flattering!
6/29/04 9:47 AM
mudcat said...
Your outfit turned out really nice.
6/29/04 9:01 PM
JDpenelope said...
Beautiful dress. (Like the new hairdo, too.) Your reviews are an education. Thanks for taking the time to include the helpful details.
7/1/04 7:06 AM
gaginny said...
I have this pattern and have never used it. Since I am also a pear shape, I really appreciate your notes about the shape of the dress. Now I am not sure if i will make this up or not. I will have to open the pattern and have a closer look. I am currently working on a LC shirt pattern, Modern Artistic License. According to the pattern 's body measurement guide, i should make a XL, but i chose the M based on the finished measurements. Even so, the pattern pieces look humongous. We shall see.
9/23/07 8:52 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Petite Plus Patterns 601
photo
Review by mlt on 7/1/07
Read Review

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag
Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Full Bust DVD
Full Bust DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Surf's Up Board Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Surf's Up Board Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sugar Plum Nightgown Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sugar Plum Nightgown Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns 0003 Sorbetto
photo
Review by rmomontrea... on 5/30/13
Read Review

Vogue 8877 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8877 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8732 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8732 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us