SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2921 (Scarf-Collar Tops)

99 more reviews
Viewed 909 times 
Reviewed by:Robin Denning
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Robin Denningstar
MD USA
Member since: 6/24/04
Reviews written: 70
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:1/2/10 6:08 PM
Last Updated:1/3/10 4:03 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LynnRowe said...
It looks fantastic on you. You could try unstitching the collar and resew it, snugging it tighter to the neckline to prevent any gaping. I wonder if it is the fabric; RPL can be very undrapey? Still, looks fab on ya!
1/2/10 6:16 PM
lmg said...
I think it looks great! Restitching the neckline is one option, but you could try the buckle and pull the scarf through tightly to hold the neckline in place.
1/2/10 6:19 PM
Izzie said...
Your top looks nice. Is there a CB seam in the scarf? Could you possibly take some fabric out at the CB by sewing a "dart" from the top of the scarf, tapering to nothing at the back-neck seam?
1/2/10 6:59 PM
Seaspur said...
Well, I think that it looks great on you despite the gaping!
1/2/10 7:06 PM
Time4me said...
Aside from the scarf gap (that would bug me too!) I think this top looks really nice. Other than the gapping what else do you think is wrong?
1/2/10 7:15 PM
Karendee said...
Robin, Sorry the much anticipated pattern didn't make up perfectly.When I saw your expression in the main pic, I wondered if you were unsure of the results--then I read on. Well, the color is wonderful, and the top will look nice under your jackets. Thanks for the review.
1/2/10 7:34 PM
Kay Y said...
It looks wonderful from the front. Like Izzie, I would think you could do something at CB to snug in the top of the collar band. A wedge/dart of some kind is what I'm thinking.
1/2/10 7:47 PM
kathigarn said...
I am sorry it didn't work in the back!! I have no clue, but could it be that the fabric is just too wimpy and needs some light interfacing through there? I have almost finished my version - need to do some hemming to get it finished. When I tried it on briefly, I didn't notice this problem. I didn't look that closely as Jalie fits me so well - I just wanted to see how it looked in the front!! I will be sure to check for it, though!
1/2/10 8:16 PM
CTBarb said...
I love the faces in your photos...I have definitely been there! I am going to ask what may seem to be a stupid question: Have you washed the top since you made it? Perhaps the collar is just stretched out from the sewing and will look better after washing when the knit will have sprung back? This is a hopeful suggestion because it would be an easy fix. The style and color are teriific on you...it would be a shame if the gaposis can't be fixed.
1/2/10 9:29 PM
Athene said...
Robin your facial expressions in these photos are priceless. You are a very good sewer so its a shame this pattern did not work out as planned. I wonder if the fabric stretched out a bit or maybe you just sewed 1 size too big because I notice your sleeve to shoulder seam is a bit off your shoulder- Its a very pretty color top. Give it a try in another stretchy fabric and see what happens. I will have to look more closely at the other reviews of this pattern and see how the top hangs and will also wait and see if anyone else that sews it up has the same issue with the collar. I think this is a really pretty pattern and do want to purchase it.
1/2/10 9:37 PM
piglet999 said...
Robin, this looks great & very much like the pattern pictures. I just sewed/reviewed this & I fiddled a wee bit with my scarf portion to get it sitting on me how I wanted it too, and I twisted the scarf pieces a bit as they passed through the front opening to "hold" them from twisting on their own. I also put my collar more like what the pattern envelope shows in View B. Knowing how this is constructed it would definitely be difficult to take a wedge out of the collar piece...
1/2/10 10:55 PM
Erin Sooit said...
I think with a little tweaking, this would be a great pattern. You look great in that color! Don't give up on this one, I think it's otherwise flattering.
1/2/10 11:46 PM
becca a said...
Yay! I'm so glad you fixed your collar. Your shirt looks so nice now.
1/3/10 7:37 AM
blue mooney said...
awwww, too bad! this looks really nice except for the back of the neck, and the color is so pretty! Wear it with a jacket and ignore the part that isn't perfect.
1/3/10 8:19 AM
Fran G said...
such a pretty color; sorry for your disappointment. As several others have mentioned, your facial expressions say it all!
1/3/10 8:26 AM
Patti B said...
Drat! So sorry for your unhappy result. This type of neckline is challenging, I think.
1/3/10 10:13 AM
JDpenelope said...
Thank you for your honest review. It is helpful to others, including myself, who plan to sew this pattern. If you can get it to work, you will have a very nice top.
1/3/10 2:53 PM
Izzie said...
Yay! I'm glad the dart worked. It looks great and you look much happier. I didn't even notice the sleeves before, but your adjustment does look better.
1/3/10 4:51 PM
sewnsewtoo said...
So glad to see your final results. The top is great on you.
1/3/10 5:34 PM
sewbehind said...
I love a happy ending. That RPL was way too nice to not have the happy ending. Congratulations!
1/3/10 6:00 PM
Athene said...
A great save - looks really nice on you now.
1/3/10 10:38 PM
RuthieSews said...
Robin. Very helpful alteration. I often have a gap like that in RTW so I might well have the same issue with this pattern. I often take in the upper back neck and remove 1" off the neckband/collar to improve my fit.
1/17/10 5:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

McCall's 6513

photo
by: NhiHuynh

Review
10 inch Professional Shears

10 inch Professional Shears

Buy Now
Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Buy Now