SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7975 (Chanel-style jacket)

61 more reviews
Viewed 873 times 
Reviewed by:inkstain
photo

 
 
About inkstainstarstar
Member since: 8/23/07
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/3/10 10:23 AM
Last Updated:1/3/10 10:38 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary M. Mohr said...
Your jacket is, of course, beautiful. I love your color palette. I'm sure in person it is all breathtaking. Your good health news is wonderful for you and for all of us who get to read your reviews and blog and get a breath of rarefied life in Switzerland. Thank you.
1/3/10 11:26 AM
okie2thdoc said...
How did you make the braid? It looks frayed but might be my monitor. I see what you described about the bedpost but is it only braided? Please describe.
1/3/10 11:40 AM
Wino said...
Love your blog-what a beautiful jacket.
1/3/10 12:06 PM
inkstain said...
Dear Okie2thdoc, Yes, one of the knitting yarns used in the trim is a white chenille featuring tiny squares of "snowflakes," three of the yarns were pure wool in beige, turquoise and off-white and the last addition was bronze embroidery thread. The jacket fabric features all those colours with the bronze threads and "flecked" white threads catching the eye. Before braiding, I assembled three balls, each "line" holding two bronze threads, three strands each in the plain wools and two lines of white flecked yarn. It sounds like a lot, and the main work is assembling these "lines" but when you've braided them all taut, my trim was about 3/4" wide. I would say that a mistake I made on the green tweed was trying a mohair yarn in the combo...it just looks too fuzzy for a Chanel jacket, while the chenille worked well. It is only a three-way braid. Warm wishes!
1/3/10 12:11 PM
Karen6790 said...
Beautiful jacket and good to hear that your crisis is over. (Thanks to a great medical team and probably a little judiciuos fabric shopping - a positive attitude always helps as well). Thanks for the YouTube link - hadn't seen that.
1/3/10 12:13 PM
digs57 said...
Beautiful. Much thanks for the details on making the braid.
1/3/10 12:38 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Your jacket looks lovely. Wear it in good health.
1/3/10 1:27 PM
Beek said...
Gorgeous! And it even looks like a true CHANEL in that soft pale pink fabric.
1/3/10 5:16 PM
yorkshire lass said...
Stunning and I am glad that it helped you through your crisis and the crisis is over now. I hope you enjoy wearing this jacket in health for a very long time.
1/4/10 5:37 AM
Fran G said...
Such a classic! Thanks so much for the review..think I'll be passing on making my own braid! Of the 3 patterns you have used for your Chanel like jackets, is this your top choice? A healthy 2010 to you... good health is the greatest gift.
1/4/10 8:23 AM
JoyceP said...
Gorgeous jacket, and no, thank you. I will not be making my own braid! I'll bet it's lovely, though. Thank you, too, for the YouTube link. Bookmarked, so I can view the related vids too.
1/4/10 11:28 AM
marjenann said...
Exquisite jacket, worth all of your time and effort. Truly couture!
1/5/10 5:56 PM
Jane S said...
I admire your wonderful spirit of creativity despite frightening news. So glad that everything has worked out, this beautiful jacket and your health.
1/10/10 2:56 PM
LindsayT said...
This jacket is just so lovely! Madame would be proud (or jealous). Happy to hear your health crisis is over, and eager to see what else comes from your sewing machine.
1/11/10 8:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2010-122

photo
by: Carolyn.S

Review
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now