Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7975 (Chanel-style jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 867 times 60 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:inkstain
photo
About inkstainstar
SWITZERLAND
Member since: 8/23/07
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/3/10 10:23 AM
Last Updated:1/3/10 10:38 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $20.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary M. Mohr said...
Your jacket is, of course, beautiful. I love your color palette. I'm sure in person it is all breathtaking. Your good health news is wonderful for you and for all of us who get to read your reviews and blog and get a breath of rarefied life in Switzerland. Thank you.
1/3/10 11:26 AM
okie2thdoc said...
How did you make the braid? It looks frayed but might be my monitor. I see what you described about the bedpost but is it only braided? Please describe.
1/3/10 11:40 AM
Wino said...
Love your blog-what a beautiful jacket.
1/3/10 12:06 PM
inkstain said...
Dear Okie2thdoc, Yes, one of the knitting yarns used in the trim is a white chenille featuring tiny squares of "snowflakes," three of the yarns were pure wool in beige, turquoise and off-white and the last addition was bronze embroidery thread. The jacket fabric features all those colours with the bronze threads and "flecked" white threads catching the eye. Before braiding, I assembled three balls, each "line" holding two bronze threads, three strands each in the plain wools and two lines of white flecked yarn. It sounds like a lot, and the main work is assembling these "lines" but when you've braided them all taut, my trim was about 3/4" wide. I would say that a mistake I made on the green tweed was trying a mohair yarn in the combo...it just looks too fuzzy for a Chanel jacket, while the chenille worked well. It is only a three-way braid. Warm wishes!
1/3/10 12:11 PM
Karen6790 said...
Beautiful jacket and good to hear that your crisis is over. (Thanks to a great medical team and probably a little judiciuos fabric shopping - a positive attitude always helps as well). Thanks for the YouTube link - hadn't seen that.
1/3/10 12:13 PM
digs57 said...
Beautiful. Much thanks for the details on making the braid.
1/3/10 12:38 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Your jacket looks lovely. Wear it in good health.
1/3/10 1:27 PM
Beek said...
Gorgeous! And it even looks like a true CHANEL in that soft pale pink fabric.
1/3/10 5:16 PM
yorkshire lass said...
Stunning and I am glad that it helped you through your crisis and the crisis is over now. I hope you enjoy wearing this jacket in health for a very long time.
1/4/10 5:37 AM
Fran G said...
Such a classic! Thanks so much for the review..think I'll be passing on making my own braid! Of the 3 patterns you have used for your Chanel like jackets, is this your top choice? A healthy 2010 to you... good health is the greatest gift.
1/4/10 8:23 AM
JoyceP said...
Gorgeous jacket, and no, thank you. I will not be making my own braid! I'll bet it's lovely, though. Thank you, too, for the YouTube link. Bookmarked, so I can view the related vids too.
1/4/10 11:28 AM
marjenann said...
Exquisite jacket, worth all of your time and effort. Truly couture!
1/5/10 5:56 PM
Jane S said...
I admire your wonderful spirit of creativity despite frightening news. So glad that everything has worked out, this beautiful jacket and your health.
1/10/10 2:56 PM
LindsayT said...
This jacket is just so lovely! Madame would be proud (or jealous). Happy to hear your health crisis is over, and eager to see what else comes from your sewing machine.
1/11/10 8:44 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Vogue Patterns 7610
photo
Review by velosewer on 4/11/09
Read Review

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern
SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

JSM-Pant 1
JSM-Pant 1

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Digital Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

HotPatterns 1107
photo
Review by Sue Anfang on 2/19/11
Read Review

Burda 7378 Pattern
Burda 7378 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5850 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5850 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us