SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7975 (Chanel-style jacket)

62 more reviews
Viewed 877 times 
Reviewed by:inkstain
photo

 
 
About inkstainstarstar
Member since: 8/23/07
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/3/10 10:23 AM
Last Updated:1/3/10 10:38 AM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LindsayT said...
This jacket is just so lovely! Madame would be proud (or jealous). Happy to hear your health crisis is over, and eager to see what else comes from your sewing machine.
1/11/10 8:44 AM
Jane S said...
I admire your wonderful spirit of creativity despite frightening news. So glad that everything has worked out, this beautiful jacket and your health.
1/10/10 2:56 PM
marjenann said...
Exquisite jacket, worth all of your time and effort. Truly couture!
1/5/10 5:56 PM
JoyceP said...
Gorgeous jacket, and no, thank you. I will not be making my own braid! I'll bet it's lovely, though. Thank you, too, for the YouTube link. Bookmarked, so I can view the related vids too.
1/4/10 11:28 AM
Fran G said...
Such a classic! Thanks so much for the review..think I'll be passing on making my own braid! Of the 3 patterns you have used for your Chanel like jackets, is this your top choice? A healthy 2010 to you... good health is the greatest gift.
1/4/10 8:23 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Stunning and I am glad that it helped you through your crisis and the crisis is over now. I hope you enjoy wearing this jacket in health for a very long time.
1/4/10 5:37 AM
Beek said...
Gorgeous! And it even looks like a true CHANEL in that soft pale pink fabric.
1/3/10 5:16 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Your jacket looks lovely. Wear it in good health.
1/3/10 1:27 PM
digs57 said...
Beautiful. Much thanks for the details on making the braid.
1/3/10 12:38 PM
Karen6790 said...
Beautiful jacket and good to hear that your crisis is over. (Thanks to a great medical team and probably a little judiciuos fabric shopping - a positive attitude always helps as well). Thanks for the YouTube link - hadn't seen that.
1/3/10 12:13 PM
inkstain said...
Dear Okie2thdoc, Yes, one of the knitting yarns used in the trim is a white chenille featuring tiny squares of "snowflakes," three of the yarns were pure wool in beige, turquoise and off-white and the last addition was bronze embroidery thread. The jacket fabric features all those colours with the bronze threads and "flecked" white threads catching the eye. Before braiding, I assembled three balls, each "line" holding two bronze threads, three strands each in the plain wools and two lines of white flecked yarn. It sounds like a lot, and the main work is assembling these "lines" but when you've braided them all taut, my trim was about 3/4" wide. I would say that a mistake I made on the green tweed was trying a mohair yarn in the combo...it just looks too fuzzy for a Chanel jacket, while the chenille worked well. It is only a three-way braid. Warm wishes!
1/3/10 12:11 PM
Wino said...
Love your blog-what a beautiful jacket.
1/3/10 12:06 PM
okie2thdoc said...
How did you make the braid? It looks frayed but might be my monitor. I see what you described about the bedpost but is it only braided? Please describe.
1/3/10 11:40 AM
Mary M. Mohr said...
Your jacket is, of course, beautiful. I love your color palette. I'm sure in person it is all breathtaking. Your good health news is wonderful for you and for all of us who get to read your reviews and blog and get a breath of rarefied life in Switzerland. Thank you.
1/3/10 11:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Eureka Top & Skirt

Sewing Workshop Eureka Top & Skirt

More Info
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

More Info