SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2550 (Misses Dresses: Project Runway)

15 more reviews
Viewed 669 times 
Reviewed by:whirrclunk
photo

 
 
About whirrclunkstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 8/24/08
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/8/10 12:42 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ripple Dandelion said...
This is an adorable dress on you. I can see where a thinner knit would give a different look, but I like this fabric as well.
1/8/10 12:50 PM
sewtime said...
You will wear it, it is darling!!
1/8/10 1:01 PM
persevering said...
What a success! Your dress looks lovely on you. Hope you immediately make another from this pattern. Thanks for your review.
1/8/10 1:33 PM
Catherine Daze said...
Thanks for the detailed review! I really like the way you explained what you did with the neckline
1/8/10 2:24 PM
nicegirl said...
You really put a lot of thought into this project! It looks like a very cozy dress.
1/8/10 2:30 PM
sewnsewtoo said...
Thank you for such a detailed review. Congratulations on your erseverance. The dress looks great on you.
1/8/10 3:21 PM
Christas said...
Excellent review.... very cute dress!
1/8/10 6:12 PM
lamstu said...
I think your dress looks great. Remember that when you're walking around, there's not a sandwich board next to you where people can see what the dress was "supposed to" look like :). This looks like a perfect outfit for a cold winter day. And in a less chunky fabric, no one will even realize that you've sewed the same pattern, so all of your hard work on the fitting will not go to waste.
1/8/10 7:32 PM
Terri A said...
Oh my goodness this is soooo cute!
1/9/10 1:28 AM
Rebecca D said...
What a tremendously helpful review. And I like this dress on you, it has sort of a severe, yet funky vibe that I like very much. Sew it again.
1/9/10 8:47 AM
fryman said...
Cudos to you, Girlfriend. Your efforts and review are great. I appreciate all photos and references. Yes, make another and enjoy!
1/9/10 12:57 PM
ClaireEmily said...
I actually really like your dress! I think all that work did pay off - and congratulations on your first wearable knit garment!
1/9/10 5:09 PM
whirrclunk said...
Thank you for the really kind comments!!
1/9/10 6:39 PM
DKG said...
This dress looks lovely. I think you should upgrade your skill level to at least advanced beginner if not intermediate. You really know what's going on in a pattern and are able to make clever alterations and amendments. Well done! THis looks like a cozy great dress to wear and that cowl neck looks excellent.
1/10/10 2:32 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Nice dress, and wow, what an incredibly thorough and helpful review! If you're a beginner, you must be a very intuitive one, because you're thinking miles ahead of what I'd call a "beginner." :)
1/10/10 7:51 PM
Amy-may said...
It turned out lovely, wear with pride!
1/13/10 0:09 AM
fattyboomboom said...
Your dress is lovely, and your review is fantastic! Thanks for so much advice.
2/19/10 6:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Silhouette Patterns 3200

photo
by: Mobycat

Review
Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Buy Now