Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2550 (Misses Dresses: Project Runway) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 669 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:whirrclunk
photo
About whirrclunkstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 8/24/08
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/8/10 12:42 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ripple Dandelion said...
This is an adorable dress on you. I can see where a thinner knit would give a different look, but I like this fabric as well.
1/8/10 12:50 PM
sewtime said...
You will wear it, it is darling!!
1/8/10 1:01 PM
persevering said...
What a success! Your dress looks lovely on you. Hope you immediately make another from this pattern. Thanks for your review.
1/8/10 1:33 PM
Catherine Daze said...
Thanks for the detailed review! I really like the way you explained what you did with the neckline
1/8/10 2:24 PM
nicegirl said...
You really put a lot of thought into this project! It looks like a very cozy dress.
1/8/10 2:30 PM
sewnsewtoo said...
Thank you for such a detailed review. Congratulations on your erseverance. The dress looks great on you.
1/8/10 3:21 PM
Christas said...
Excellent review.... very cute dress!
1/8/10 6:12 PM
lamstu said...
I think your dress looks great. Remember that when you're walking around, there's not a sandwich board next to you where people can see what the dress was "supposed to" look like :). This looks like a perfect outfit for a cold winter day. And in a less chunky fabric, no one will even realize that you've sewed the same pattern, so all of your hard work on the fitting will not go to waste.
1/8/10 7:32 PM
Terri A said...
Oh my goodness this is soooo cute!
1/9/10 1:28 AM
Rebecca D said...
What a tremendously helpful review. And I like this dress on you, it has sort of a severe, yet funky vibe that I like very much. Sew it again.
1/9/10 8:47 AM
fryman said...
Cudos to you, Girlfriend. Your efforts and review are great. I appreciate all photos and references. Yes, make another and enjoy!
1/9/10 12:57 PM
ClaireEmily said...
I actually really like your dress! I think all that work did pay off - and congratulations on your first wearable knit garment!
1/9/10 5:09 PM
whirrclunk said...
Thank you for the really kind comments!!
1/9/10 6:39 PM
DKG said...
This dress looks lovely. I think you should upgrade your skill level to at least advanced beginner if not intermediate. You really know what's going on in a pattern and are able to make clever alterations and amendments. Well done! THis looks like a cozy great dress to wear and that cowl neck looks excellent.
1/10/10 2:32 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Nice dress, and wow, what an incredibly thorough and helpful review! If you're a beginner, you must be a very intuitive one, because you're thinking miles ahead of what I'd call a "beginner." :)
1/10/10 7:51 PM
Amy-may said...
It turned out lovely, wear with pride!
1/13/10 0:09 AM
fattyboomboom said...
Your dress is lovely, and your review is fantastic! Thanks for so much advice.
2/19/10 6:14 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2009-6
photo
Review by TanyaMT on 2/8/09
Read Review

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus V202 VHS
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Santa Monica Sweetheart Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Santa Monica Sweetheart Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Lavender Handbag Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Lavender Handbag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Threads Magazine Quick Stuff To Sew Vol IV
photo
Review by mad4sewing on 2/8/09
Read Review

Simplicity 1924 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 1924 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7525 Pattern
Burda 7525 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us