SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2683 (Figure skating dress (zip-back)

2 more reviews
Viewed 346 times 
Reviewed by:sewcrazee
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About sewcrazeestar
IL USA
Member since: 4/23/04
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/5/10 1:18 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
guillorypr said...
I love it, very cute! I probably would have hand Basted the zipper first. the very thought of a an invisible zip in stretch velvet is a bit scary! :)
1/5/10 3:35 PM
guillorypr said...
I love it, very cute! I probably would have hand Basted the zipper first. the very thought of a an invisible zip in stretch velvet it a bit scary! :)
1/5/10 3:35 PM
kittykate said...
I like it! The fabric is cute. Invisible zips aren't hard in stretch, I tape them down first with 1/4 inch two sided tape, can't remember the name of it at the moment. Honestly though, I kinda avoid zips when I make things :-)
1/5/10 3:40 PM
shorts said...
I love that little dress! TOO CUTE! I really like the Lycra you used for the skirt very fun! Will you add a picture of the other dress?
1/5/10 4:47 PM
SheBear0320 said...
Very cute dress -- would love to see the other dress as well. I usually stabilize the edges of the zipper opening when working on stretch fabrics. Like kittykate, I avoid the zippers whenever possible.
1/5/10 5:20 PM
sewcrazee said...
thanks for all the kind words...i did stabilize the stretch and i tried double sided tape as i use that when doing my western show tops but stretch velvet doesnt like it so i handbasted the zipper in first...i will add another review with the other dress when i hopefully can get a picture of my skater in it
1/5/10 7:31 PM
zoezmommy said...
Lovely dress. I agree that the pattern would be more appealing without the mock turtleneck.
1/6/10 9:01 AM
jannw said...
Adorable..I do like the contrast neck and cuffs..I do hope you get a picture of both girls in their outfits..would love to see them
1/6/10 8:22 PM
fourkid said...
Adorable outfits - and great review. I agree with others - would love to see the other outfit as well. And hope the girls did great on their tests.
1/15/10 3:48 PM
Tez said...
Very cute dress!
1/18/10 5:24 AM
Birgitte said...
What a beautiful combo of fabrics and pattern, and thanks for this very helpful review. Velvet is my DD's favorite to wear on the ice (loves the softness) and like you, I want her to be warm, so it's time to test the zipper :))
2/6/10 2:54 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Simplicity 7083

photo
by: Jenny Jo

Review
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Buy Now