SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2683 (Figure skating dress (zip-back)

2 more reviews
Viewed 356 times 
Reviewed by:sewcrazee
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About sewcrazeestar
Member since: 4/23/04
Reviews: 21 (patterns: 16)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/5/10 1:18 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Birgitte said... (2/6/10 2:54 PM) Reply
What a beautiful combo of fabrics and pattern, and thanks for this very helpful review. Velvet is my DD's favorite to wear on the ice (loves the softness) and like you, I want her to be warm, so it's time to test the zipper :))
Tez said... (1/18/10 5:24 AM) Reply
Very cute dress!
fourkid said... (1/15/10 3:48 PM) Reply
Adorable outfits - and great review. I agree with others - would love to see the other outfit as well. And hope the girls did great on their tests.
jannw said... (1/6/10 8:22 PM) Reply
Adorable..I do like the contrast neck and cuffs..I do hope you get a picture of both girls in their outfits..would love to see them
zoezmommy said... (1/6/10 9:01 AM) Reply
Lovely dress. I agree that the pattern would be more appealing without the mock turtleneck.
sewcrazee said... (1/5/10 7:31 PM) Reply
thanks for all the kind words...i did stabilize the stretch and i tried double sided tape as i use that when doing my western show tops but stretch velvet doesnt like it so i handbasted the zipper in first...i will add another review with the other dress when i hopefully can get a picture of my skater in it
SheBear0320 said... (1/5/10 5:20 PM) Reply
Very cute dress -- would love to see the other dress as well. I usually stabilize the edges of the zipper opening when working on stretch fabrics. Like kittykate, I avoid the zippers whenever possible.
shorts said... (1/5/10 4:47 PM) Reply
I love that little dress! TOO CUTE! I really like the Lycra you used for the skirt very fun! Will you add a picture of the other dress?
kittykate said... (1/5/10 3:40 PM) Reply
I like it! The fabric is cute. Invisible zips aren't hard in stretch, I tape them down first with 1/4 inch two sided tape, can't remember the name of it at the moment. Honestly though, I kinda avoid zips when I make things :-)
guillorypr said... (1/5/10 3:35 PM) Reply
I love it, very cute! I probably would have hand Basted the zipper first. the very thought of a an invisible zip in stretch velvet it a bit scary! :)
guillorypr said... (1/5/10 3:35 PM) Reply
I love it, very cute! I probably would have hand Basted the zipper first. the very thought of a an invisible zip in stretch velvet is a bit scary! :)
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Jackets for Real People DVD

Jackets for Real People DVD

Pattern Details
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Pattern Details
Vogue Patterns 1257

photo
by: SewLuva

Review