SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2683 (Figure skating dress (zip-back)

2 more reviews
Viewed 352 times 
Reviewed by:sewcrazee
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About sewcrazeestar
IL USA
Member since: 4/23/04
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/5/10 1:18 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Birgitte said...
What a beautiful combo of fabrics and pattern, and thanks for this very helpful review. Velvet is my DD's favorite to wear on the ice (loves the softness) and like you, I want her to be warm, so it's time to test the zipper :))
2/6/10 2:54 PM
Tez said...
Very cute dress!
1/18/10 5:24 AM
fourkid said...
Adorable outfits - and great review. I agree with others - would love to see the other outfit as well. And hope the girls did great on their tests.
1/15/10 3:48 PM
jannw said...
Adorable..I do like the contrast neck and cuffs..I do hope you get a picture of both girls in their outfits..would love to see them
1/6/10 8:22 PM
zoezmommy said...
Lovely dress. I agree that the pattern would be more appealing without the mock turtleneck.
1/6/10 9:01 AM
sewcrazee said...
thanks for all the kind words...i did stabilize the stretch and i tried double sided tape as i use that when doing my western show tops but stretch velvet doesnt like it so i handbasted the zipper in first...i will add another review with the other dress when i hopefully can get a picture of my skater in it
1/5/10 7:31 PM
SheBear0320 said...
Very cute dress -- would love to see the other dress as well. I usually stabilize the edges of the zipper opening when working on stretch fabrics. Like kittykate, I avoid the zippers whenever possible.
1/5/10 5:20 PM
shorts said...
I love that little dress! TOO CUTE! I really like the Lycra you used for the skirt very fun! Will you add a picture of the other dress?
1/5/10 4:47 PM
kittykate said...
I like it! The fabric is cute. Invisible zips aren't hard in stretch, I tape them down first with 1/4 inch two sided tape, can't remember the name of it at the moment. Honestly though, I kinda avoid zips when I make things :-)
1/5/10 3:40 PM
guillorypr said...
I love it, very cute! I probably would have hand Basted the zipper first. the very thought of a an invisible zip in stretch velvet it a bit scary! :)
1/5/10 3:35 PM
guillorypr said...
I love it, very cute! I probably would have hand Basted the zipper first. the very thought of a an invisible zip in stretch velvet is a bit scary! :)
1/5/10 3:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Simplicity 7078

photo
by: Jemajyng

Review
Vogue Patterns 1033 OOP

photo
by: cleverclog...

Review
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Buy Now