SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2984 (MISSES' JACKET AND SKIRT)

6 more reviews
Viewed 517 times 
Reviewed by:wzrdreams
photo

 
 
About wzrdreamsstar
NY USA
Member since: 2/29/08
Reviews: 6 (patterns: 6)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/6/10 1:15 AM
Last Updated:7/31/13 10:16 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wzrdreams said... (7/31/13 10:19 PM) Reply
@Gendun - This is way late, but I'm quite tall, 5'10". I do think that the fabric I chose was rather bulky to also serve as a self lining. If I were to make this again (with 3 years additional sewing experience) I would absolutely choose a lighter wool or flannel... something with significantly more drape. I don't know that I would line it with something different, but that's definitely an option.
Gendun said... (5/27/12 11:55 AM) Reply
Great review, thank you! The hint about adjusting the peplum is very helpful. I agree that the colour is FAB on you, btw, even if it is a wee bit short. To that end: May I ask how tall or how long you are in the upper torso please? Also, would it work well if you lined the body & sleeves with something lighter? As you say, it seems like it would be bulky, especially in a winter weight wool. A 'true' lining might also allow for less ease, as your inner garments would move better against it. Well, that seems to make sense (laughs), maybe I'm wrong. Your thoughts please? Thanks!
Gendun said... (5/27/12 11:54 AM) Reply
Great review, thank you! The hint about adjusting the peplum is very helpful. I agree that the colour is FAB on you, btw, even if it is a wee bit short. To that end: May I ask how tall or how long you are in the upper torso please? Also, would it work well if you lined the body & sleeves with something lighter? As you say, it seems like it would be bulky, especially in a winter weight wool. A 'true' lining might also allow for less ease, as your inner garments would move better against it. Well, that seems to make sense (laughs), maybe I'm wrong. Your thoughts please? Thanks!
nicegirl said... (1/7/10 11:12 AM) Reply
Totally fab coat!
guillorypr said... (1/6/10 12:25 PM) Reply
I love the colour! Great job. It does sound like there are a few issues with this pattern, thanks for the heads up.
Annette Wright said... (1/6/10 8:29 AM) Reply
Very mod and up-to-date. I'd love a photo without the belt. Looking at the picture on the pattern, I really like how it looks (but I'd never do a belt.) Color is gorgeous and your photos are fun. Great jacket!
yorkshire lass said... (1/6/10 3:52 AM) Reply
Very nice and flattering jacket. The colour makes it stand out and it looks great styled with the belt.
echolalia said... (1/6/10 1:34 AM) Reply
Your jacket looks great - beautiful fabric and a gorgeous colour on you. I was the other reviewer for this jacket - and I am pleased that it 'wasn't just me' in finding a few oddities with this pattern. My daughter has requested another jacket, in a drapey fabric this time, and I will take your advice about re-drafting the peplum. Thanks for your review.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Kwik Sew 2315

photo
by: Judy Kski

Review
Pamela's Patterns Softly Pleated Dress Pattern

Pamela's Patterns Softly Pleated Dress Pattern

Pattern Details
WhatNots Paper Pattern

WhatNots Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2012-119

photo
by: Julietta82

Review