SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2984 (MISSES' JACKET AND SKIRT)

6 more reviews
Viewed 510 times 
Reviewed by:wzrdreams
photo

 
 
About wzrdreamsstar
NY USA
Member since: 2/29/08
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/6/10 1:15 AM
Last Updated:7/31/13 10:16 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
echolalia said...
Your jacket looks great - beautiful fabric and a gorgeous colour on you. I was the other reviewer for this jacket - and I am pleased that it 'wasn't just me' in finding a few oddities with this pattern. My daughter has requested another jacket, in a drapey fabric this time, and I will take your advice about re-drafting the peplum. Thanks for your review.
1/6/10 1:34 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Very nice and flattering jacket. The colour makes it stand out and it looks great styled with the belt.
1/6/10 3:52 AM
Annette Wright said...
Very mod and up-to-date. I'd love a photo without the belt. Looking at the picture on the pattern, I really like how it looks (but I'd never do a belt.) Color is gorgeous and your photos are fun. Great jacket!
1/6/10 8:29 AM
guillorypr said...
I love the colour! Great job. It does sound like there are a few issues with this pattern, thanks for the heads up.
1/6/10 12:25 PM
nicegirl said...
Totally fab coat!
1/7/10 11:12 AM
Gendun said...
Great review, thank you! The hint about adjusting the peplum is very helpful. I agree that the colour is FAB on you, btw, even if it is a wee bit short. To that end: May I ask how tall or how long you are in the upper torso please? Also, would it work well if you lined the body & sleeves with something lighter? As you say, it seems like it would be bulky, especially in a winter weight wool. A 'true' lining might also allow for less ease, as your inner garments would move better against it. Well, that seems to make sense (laughs), maybe I'm wrong. Your thoughts please? Thanks!
5/27/12 11:54 AM
Gendun said...
Great review, thank you! The hint about adjusting the peplum is very helpful. I agree that the colour is FAB on you, btw, even if it is a wee bit short. To that end: May I ask how tall or how long you are in the upper torso please? Also, would it work well if you lined the body & sleeves with something lighter? As you say, it seems like it would be bulky, especially in a winter weight wool. A 'true' lining might also allow for less ease, as your inner garments would move better against it. Well, that seems to make sense (laughs), maybe I'm wrong. Your thoughts please? Thanks!
5/27/12 11:55 AM
wzrdreams said...
@Gendun - This is way late, but I'm quite tall, 5'10". I do think that the fabric I chose was rather bulky to also serve as a self lining. If I were to make this again (with 3 years additional sewing experience) I would absolutely choose a lighter wool or flannel... something with significantly more drape. I don't know that I would line it with something different, but that's definitely an option.
7/31/13 10:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 234865-1005

photo
by: pegsewer

Review
Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Buy Now
StyleArc Victoria Blouse

photo
by: froggiegir...

Review