Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6699 (Misses Dress) thumbsup - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 724 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:beastella
photo
About beastellastar
FRANCE, METROPOLITAN
Member since: 1/6/05
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/6/10 1:57 PM
Last Updated:12/17/13 7:49 AM
Project Photo:photo3

Pattern Photo:New Look 6699
New Look Pattern Info
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Silk Charmeuse  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
I only took the front and back bodice of this pattern, then I added a skirt made with an old pattern : Neue Mode V 22711 (it's a wedding dress with empire waist). The skirt is made with thin black crepe I bought on my little towns'market last summer : this long skirt (empire waist) has princess seams down to the floor and in the end of the skirt, it is wider, so when you turn on yourself while dancing, it's really nice ! (excuse my bad level in english, I am french).
For the bodice, I used a gold charmeuse silk I bought once on Denver Fabrics site. It is a stretch fabric, but in fact, in this project it was not a good thing.
I wanted to make something like that wedding dress I saw on a review : that bouillonne was so nice see there
So for the bodice I made three layers lining, interlining (a piece cut in some white cotton fabric, adding boning and bra cups directly sewn on it) and the fabric itself, cutting pieces twice more long and then gathered to have the same shape than the original bodice pattern. I don't know if you can undestand my explanations but if you are a advanced sewer you can see it is not very difficult to do.
As I am not very young with beautiful underarms (!) I made a bolero with stretch black lace with an old pattern I had for years (vogue 9852). It gave to me the general shape and I cut it to be as discreet as possible so everybody can see the dress !
Buy this pattern for $4.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Carolyn C said...
Glamorous and beautiful.
1/7/10 2:32 PM
BillieJean said...
This sounds lovely and what I can see of your dress in the tiny little picture looks beautiful. But with I click on the dress picture, I'm told that access is forbidden. You probably need to make it accessible to the public.
1/7/10 5:13 PM
Nancywin said...
yes, I would love to see a bigger picture as well.
1/7/10 10:26 PM
beastella said...
oops ! excuse me for the photo, now I think it will work better
1/10/10 12:58 PM
homejewel said...
Do you think you can post a link to your picture? For some reason, the little picture is still not working. I'd love to see your dress. Your English is fine. Merci :)
1/10/10 4:52 PM
carolynw said...
I wish I could see a larger picture but from what I can see it looks very nice. Your English is great - you wouldn't want to hear or read my French so merci beaucoup for la review!!
1/10/10 6:25 PM
Bobbi B said...
Gorgeous.
12/17/13 9:48 AM
harpsew said...
The black and gold are gorgeous together, and that lace bolero is perfect - you look beautiful. Well done!
12/17/13 2:49 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

ModKid Patterns Modkid sewing book Bloom dress
photo
Review by KLK7 on 2/14/13
Read Review

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern
SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Lotta Lady Bag Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Lotta Lady Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Annabelle Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )
Peek-A Boo Annabelle Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8411
photo
Review by Secretsuga... on 2/8/09
Read Review

McCalls 6188 Pattern( Size )
McCalls 6188 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3348 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3348 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us