Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 181601-1000 (Dog Coat) - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 366 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 120 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/7/10 4:19 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneMarie60 said...
Excellent job drafting this doggie coat! I applaud your creative re-use of discarded garments, too. Willy looks adorable in his new coat--and it fits him perfectly. Willy is as cute as can be, and so is Freddy!
1/7/10 4:33 PM
mollyshark said...
Oh lord I'm gonna squeal! It's beautiful.
1/7/10 4:39 PM
BJ1400 said...
Both the dog & the jacket are adorable!!!
1/7/10 4:43 PM
DoggyGirl said...
Thanks Peter! Good photos and discussion - I think I will make coats for my dogs now. You've sure got cute chihuahuas!
1/7/10 5:02 PM
CynthiaSue said...
being in Mexico right now, i was lol at this. adorable!!
1/7/10 5:56 PM
lynne1nor said...
That is just way too cute!
1/7/10 6:16 PM
birdmcfarland said...
Hands down, my favorite review! He looks smashing. I have made 5 coats for Little Buddy so far and each one has been a little different as I tweak the pattern. The last one was a bit too long and he pees in it so, even though it's his favorite, it gets washed often.
1/7/10 6:22 PM
CypGrl said...
It looks as if someone else wants a coat too. Your model is adorable -- as is his older buddy. Great review! I love that you used the old pants and shirt for it. Your timing couldn't be better too with such low temps over most of the US.
1/7/10 6:31 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Wow, Peter, what a great review. I love your little dogs (my Stella Chihuahua sends her regards). Yes, a good walking foot, or even-feed foot will do the trick. Unfortunately, the very cheap walking feet do not hold up well at all. Most really great walking feet tend to be brand specific.
1/7/10 6:45 PM
valerie sews said...
Nothing better than a custom made coat. I just love the bias collar.
1/7/10 7:42 PM
Michelle L said...
Adorable! Cute puppies, and a fantastic job on the coat.
1/7/10 8:19 PM
emeraldjul said...
Willy is dashing in his new coat!
1/7/10 8:26 PM
mssewcrazy said...
The dogs are too cute and love the coat. That is a fantastic idea to recycle the men's pants/shirt for the doggie attire. Thanks for showing us the photos.
1/7/10 9:53 PM
mary in FL said...
Great coat!
1/7/10 10:09 PM
Annette1 said...
Aw, little Willy looks so cute, but I hope Freddy doesn't get jealous. :o) You did a GREAT job. It's very sporty, indeed, and very well made. :o)
1/8/10 1:13 AM
Michele19 said...
Thank you for another great review. The joy and humor and special creativity you bring to your new hobby is uplifting. Oh and coat is awesome. He's now chic enough for Cathy to take for a walk next time she visits.......(hint, hint)
1/8/10 7:03 AM
fourkid said...
Very creative and cute - I can see a new line of Freddy and Willy fun fashions. Using cast off materials, you could develop an entire niche market in your area of good quality and competitive prices for doggie fashion.
1/8/10 8:11 AM
Sic said...
Very cute! I find the RTW coats don't properly fit my dog (he's a pug). You have inspired me to make him one!
1/8/10 8:25 AM
sewfrequent said...
Well i book-marked your tutorial bc i have 2 teeny weenies need coats! they're kind of tubular you know. i just LOVE your pups and their coats!
1/8/10 9:30 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks for the comments, everybody (and for the walking foot tip, Michele). If anyone wants to make one of these and has any questions about how the to put it together, just ask. Sadly, Willy's housebound today as it's just too cold to go out -- even with the coat.
1/8/10 10:17 AM
ChristineBR said...
Wonderful photo essay, especially for those of us of the puppy-lovin persuasion. I make our little crossbreeds their coats due to odd comformation too.
1/8/10 11:18 AM
Knitters Delight said...
Lovin it!
1/8/10 12:20 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I loved your picture story and Willy is quite handsome in his new coat. It's amazing what can be made from things that are in the trash.
1/8/10 12:49 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
SEW are you going to learn to make Doggie Fashion boots next? Hope so... Yes walking foot will help shifting layers big time. I have only used my Bernina version.. but it really really helps so I don't have an opinion about low shank generics... I'd say give it ago and please report back here... Cute Willy!
1/8/10 1:19 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Peter, adorable little coat for your Willy. You're right; everything is cute when you have a polka dot on your head! --Lily
1/8/10 1:40 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very cute and clever - couture for pets!
1/8/10 2:07 PM
DaisyEsq said...
Too stinking cute! This is a great refashion project for your adorable Willy; Freddy is cute too.
1/8/10 10:43 PM
colorkitten said...
It is so cute!! I love the lining. I agree with the above comment on the walking foot; yes it does work and no, the cheap ones don't work so well. I have not had great luck with cheap off-brand modern attachments. However, vintage ones, yes, no matter what brand.
1/13/10 6:04 PM
Paris75008 said...
Smartest chihuahua on the block!
1/14/10 5:59 PM
loti said...
Willy is one lucky pup!
1/17/10 6:22 PM
nancy2001 said...
Willy looks super cute in his new dog coat.
1/18/10 11:27 AM
Berniejh said...
Makes me want to get a little dog to sew for!
1/18/10 4:51 PM
Slyvchan said...
I think I'm in love <3
1/18/10 6:34 PM
Ceidhle said...
This makes me realize my pooch is disadvantaged. I tell her that if we lived in NYC I would dress her up but here on the Cape everyone dresses down.
1/18/10 7:27 PM
ElizabethDee said...
gives new meaning to "you lucky dog!" what a great review, too. re the walking foot, i have had very, very good luck with a reproduction Singer walking foot on my vintage machine, which is a slant. you can get an inexpensive one from cindy peters (feel free to PM me if you need contact info, but if you ever visit Vintage Singers you already know her).
1/19/10 7:42 AM
Mimi O said...
Very Nice...I love how it looks on Willy. Great Job!
1/27/10 7:52 PM
catwoman7 said...
I love this coat!! I'm a slow sewer, so making our dog a coat would take a long time, but I'm inspired by your outfit. Our pup has a coat that fits him well and I've been thinking of copying it. Pet clothing does cost a small fortune!
1/28/10 11:18 AM
dreamdesigner said...
"everything looks cute when you have a polka dot on your head" LOL! too cute! Excellent job, and I LOVE the Viyella!!! Very nice fabric, that I haven't heard about in a very long time.
2/4/10 9:58 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Simplicity 2053
photo
Review by nicegirl on 6/5/12
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Spring dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Spring dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Body Shaper Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Body Shaper Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2007-109 Top
photo
Review by sunnysewin... on 10/2/13
Read Review

Jackets for Real People DVD
Jackets for Real People DVD

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1584 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 1584 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1876 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1876 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us