Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2909 (Women's Classic Trousers) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 2030 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 339
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 240
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/8/10 9:25 AM
Last Updated:1/12/10 6:19 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ripple Dandelion said...
Wow, your pants look great! From the photos they look really close to the Express pants. The rest of your outfit is super-cute, too, btw. Thanks for the great info on this pattern. I might have to get it...
1/8/10 9:54 AM
CynthiaSue said...
they look way better than the fit at the store so you are doing pretty dang good if they are going to get better! The color is perfect RTW. and they look fabulous tucked in and i'm not seeing the "too high" when they are.
1/8/10 10:21 AM
Passion4Sewing said...
Great job. They look really close to the express ones!
1/8/10 10:26 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
I think your pants look great on you!
1/8/10 10:26 AM
Sewnsewmom said...
Wow! These pants are super nice. I love them! I think the fit is great. And no, it's not strange to keep looking at your wonderful work. I do it too sometimes. :-)
1/8/10 10:29 AM
Gelbean said...
Your pants look great to me. I don't see the waist as being too high. They look perfect!
1/8/10 10:52 AM
donna mel said...
its nice to hear someone else being too hard on themselves! your pants are a great fit!! love the fabric - i'm motivated to make myself another pair...also with more flare. thanks for the review.
1/8/10 11:35 AM
PVA said...
Great job! I guess there's always room for improvement, especially if you're a "home-sewist"! (8^D)! (I have a friend who claims it works if you can't see a flaw at 20 feet when it goes by on a fast horse.)
1/8/10 1:23 PM
puddypaws said...
These look wonderful and makes me want to sew them. Sew many patterns, sew little time. Great Job!
1/8/10 1:41 PM
kidmd said...
Nice pants!! Not that I need another pants pattern, but hmmmmm...
1/8/10 2:36 PM
sewnsewtoo said...
I love those trousers. I also love your TNT pants. What pattern did you use on the TNT? Hope I can fit pants that well.
1/8/10 3:28 PM
Deepika said...
sewnsewtoo My favorite pants are RTW. They are available at Express. The fit is called "Editor"
1/8/10 4:19 PM
Victoria B said...
Thanks for your review. Your pants look great and I loved the fabric. I'll get started on mine right away:)
1/8/10 5:00 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Looks like you're well on your way to the perfect pants. They look pretty darn good.
1/8/10 5:27 PM
Christas said...
These look very nice!
1/8/10 6:14 PM
Terri A said...
These look great! Thanks for explaining your alterations, it's very helpful and your photos are great!
1/8/10 9:46 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Great looking pants. They fit very nicely for a first try with no muslin. I think you may have found a TNT!
1/8/10 11:28 PM
Tini said...
For the first try, they are awesome and soooo close to your favourite brand! I bet the next will be as you want them to be! I like this pair of trousers!
1/9/10 10:49 AM
becca a said...
This is a great pair of pants. I will have to get this pattern.
1/9/10 2:56 PM
Karen6790 said...
I can completely understand staring at your best fly front zipper ever. If it's weird, then we're all weird. Great work on these - if this is your first pair, then you need to make more, and soon, because these look really good on you and you're very clear about the changes you want to make.
1/9/10 6:15 PM
Mel.J said...
You look great! The fit is pretty close - that's a fantastic result for a first go with the pattern. A bit longer, slightly more flare & you've got a perfect match for your RTW. I'm not seeing the excess to take in at the sides, maybe it's due to the stretch when you move? My pants course instructor taught us that every fabric will need adjustment at the side seams as each stretches differently.
1/10/10 1:17 AM
cabinbaby said...
Wow, those are great!!! I love your fabric. Isn't it nice to have a go-to pants pattern?
1/12/10 6:30 PM
Patti B said...
Ooooh, no wonder you're in love! I'll have to drag out my copy of the pattern and then get a magic wand so I can look like you!
1/12/10 6:32 PM
Christas said...
Perfect!
1/12/10 6:54 PM
Barbara3 said...
Those are just great on you, Deepika. Looks like you have a new TNT. I've had this pattern traced out and waiting to be cut and sewn for quite some time now. I, too, like the simplicity of it with no pockets. Perhaps your review will be the push I need.
1/12/10 7:34 PM
USMCMom said...
Well, as always, you look adorable! And so do the pants. I know you're a little dissatisfied with some aspects of the fit, but believe me when I tell you, they really do look great. Good job!
1/12/10 7:55 PM
Elona said...
Deepika, these look marvelous on you! Congratulations on a great fit.
1/12/10 8:00 PM
PattiK said...
They look great. I am tempted to get the pattern but I need pockets and I don't see any on this pattern. Thanks for the review!
1/12/10 8:07 PM
moushka said...
Great looking pants! Just ordered this pattern on the strength of your review; I don't like pockets in pants, either.
1/12/10 8:29 PM
Barbara3 said...
Those are just great on you, Deepika. Looks like you have a new TNT. I've had this pattern traced out and waiting to be cut and sewn for quite some time now. I, too, like the simplicity of it with no pockets. Perhaps your review will be the push I need.
1/12/10 8:50 PM
katharin said...
Great pairs of pants! They fit perfectly and your fabrics look great. I like the fit of both pairs. Looking forward to seeing the next pairs.
1/12/10 8:52 PM
FreyaStark said...
Very snazzy. I love striped pants, too.
1/13/10 4:25 AM
carolynw said...
Very definitely a TNT - these look absolutely smashing on you!!
1/13/10 9:50 AM
Sewshable1 said...
What a timely review!! I was just looking at this pattern and considering buying it- I need a flat-front pant pattern for DD- and here was your new review. So I bought it.
1/13/10 2:08 PM
HappyGene said...
I liked the real-world notes she included about the steps she took to make changes and the reasons.
2/10/10 9:06 AM
TJSEWS said...
Great looking pants! They look better than the pair from Express.
5/4/10 4:19 PM
Hilary said...
Great pants, Deepika! It looks like they (the original pair) really need very little to make them just right :o) I always have that extra fabric around the upper thighs too, I don't know why! Guess I'm not as curvy there as I always think. Anyway, the new pants look absolutely perfect! I don't blame you for wanting to make a hundred more :oP lol!
1/3/11 8:51 AM
Lynnelle said...
Thanks for the informative review. These fit you beautifully!
8/7/12 1:26 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Marfy 1441 Sporty Jacket
photo
Review by julesberry on 11/20/07
Read Review

Christine Jonson Patterns A-Line Dress Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns A-Line Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

HotPatterns HP108 Geisha Girl
photo
Review by myrayerets... on 11/11/09
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Miranda Day Bag
Miranda Day Bag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8499 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8499 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6049 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6049 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us