Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Colette Patterns: 1006 (Rooibus) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 773 times 20 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:purple dot
photo
About purple dot
FL USA
Member since: 6/26/04
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/9/10 10:38 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nikarphar said...
Colette patterns definitely suffers from the "vanity sizing" syndrome.I am not sure if the pattern would be worth our time as these are more suitable for plus size figures.THanks for the honest review and nice dress !
1/9/10 11:41 PM
Sew4Fun said...
It's a lovely dress despite the issues you had. Thanks for a really helpful review. If you don't mind me asking, as a comparison and a guide, what size would you usually start with if sewing a dress from the Big 4 (Simplicity, Vogue, McCalls, Butterick)?
1/10/10 1:01 AM
Athene said...
This is a lovely dress. With a bit of tweaking (as you mentioned the back darts and perhaps a softer fabric) I think you will get the results you want. The style and the color of this dress is fabulous. Thank you for your review.
1/10/10 4:16 AM
Time4me said...
nikarphar, I have to say ouch. I don't consider myself plus sized but really just on the larger size of average and I have to say it is a relief that I can find a pattern that allows me to have a post baby body and fit it more or less out of the envelope. Colette does draft for a more natural, curvy figure as she assumes that someone who is a size 12 or 14 would also have breasts. It is really refreshing and wonderful to have a designer draft for real women, not the next to impossible figures that model most other fashion. I don't even think that size 18 is plus sized is it, I know for sure 16 isn't.
1/10/10 4:34 AM
lamstu said...
A very cute dress and a helpful review. It's always interesting to read about the smaller pattern companies' products.
1/10/10 6:52 AM
AuntieShel said...
Your dress is beautiful, thank you so much for this candid review. I loved this dress the minute I saw it. Despite the modifications you had to make, it is beautiful. I will keep these in mind when I make this dress.
1/10/10 11:05 AM
becca a said...
What a lovely dress! I agree with you about side zippers--it is so much easier to get dressed with a back zipper.
1/10/10 1:32 PM
Darla in PA said...
Your dress turned out very pretty.
1/10/10 7:38 PM
purple dot said...
Sew4Fun--I tend to go by the finished measurements rather than the given body measurements so I might sew a 4 or 6 depending on the ease.
1/10/10 10:55 PM
3HoursPast said...
Collette sizing tends to be closer to rtw sizing. Your dress is just gorgeous, good work. Some of us like side zippers and plenty of room for our curves. (Size 6, collette. I'm not a big girl.)
1/13/10 6:22 PM
Jacqui315 said...
What a fabulous dress! Thanks for a good review. I hope to make this in a softer fabric.
1/15/10 12:32 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Vogue Patterns 8742 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by GoodbyeVal... on 2/14/13
Read Review

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Baby Toy Basics Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Baby Toy Basics Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 4-8)
Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 4-8)

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 4703
photo
Review by maryfrana on 1/3/09
Read Review

Burda 7134 Pattern
Burda 7134 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6598 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6598 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us