SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Other> 00-0000-0 (that*darn*kat kids' undies)

10 more reviews
Viewed 122 times 
Reviewed by:Imaan
photo

 
 
About Imaanstar
NSW Australia
Member since: 6/3/08
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:1/10/10 4:40 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cabinbaby said... (1/11/10 10:25 PM) Reply
I would do exactly what JeanM and Janine S said. I would trace off the size 2 but lengthen it. I would probably trace the size 2 and then make a horizontal slash to the pattern. Then I would separate the pattern pieces by an inch or two. That way you have the same width but a higher rise. My kids are tall and skinny too. I like to bulk process this pattern. Cut six pairs at once, sew all the seams, add all the bands, etc. It goes so much faster than doing it individually.
QuiltSewSewSue said... (1/11/10 3:01 AM) Reply
Imaan - I live by 'when in doubt, baste'! Well done, so lovely your daughter loves them!
JenniferBee said... (1/11/10 1:17 AM) Reply
Congratulations on your first review, I'm sure you will be making lots more of these.
SewLil said... (1/10/10 7:19 PM) Reply
Great job! I've had this so long my oldest has already outgrown the sizes! I better get on it for my 5yo.
Janine S said... (1/10/10 6:00 PM) Reply
Well done, Imaan. The first of anything is always the most difficult - you'll whizz through the next pairs. Like JeanM, I used to use the small size and just lengthen for my DD when she measured a size2 widthwise as an 8yo!! She's still tiny now as a 25yo, so it's probably going to be an adjustment you'll always be making.
JeanM said... (1/10/10 1:11 PM) Reply
These look great! I might have to try these for my younger son. As parent of two skinny-for-their-age-children, may I suggest that you trace off the smaller size in width by the longer size in height, which will get you the skinny with length. I do that regularly with Ottobre patterns for my younger son (he's almost 6, and his waist is about the size of an average 12 month old....)
Nancy Rhodes said... (1/10/10 9:32 AM) Reply
Well done! all will be anxious to see the mounds of undies you make for your tribe... Fun to learn about a pattern with no elastic too. Well done review as well...
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Simplicity 7078

photo
by: Jemajyng

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Pattern Details