SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3690 (Diapers, Diaper Cover, Insert)

1 more reviews
Viewed 458 times 
Reviewed by:techmom95
photo

 
 
About techmom95
USA
Member since: 3/28/09
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/10/10 12:26 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    Baby clothes    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
homejewel said...
I wish I would have made some diaper covers when my little ones were in cloth diapers. It looks great!
1/10/10 4:54 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Thanks for the helpful review. Looks good!!
1/10/10 7:20 PM
callmeRuth said...
Sewing diapers can become addicting. This Kwik Sew pattern looks good. Nice work.
1/10/10 11:14 PM
mendospot said...
I so intended to sew diapers when my DD was born--I bought the stuff and everything but never did. I did cloth diaper her though. Your diaper looks fantastic.
1/11/10 0:27 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
Wow thank you. This would really save money on cloth diapering!
1/12/10 12:01 PM
techmom95 said...
I've started labeling them 1.0, 2.0 with a marker! I've been experimenting with adding snaps in different spots to get the best fit. Also learned NOT to use cotton thread - it wicks! Polyester works great.
1/20/10 12:04 PM
emmacrealock said...
I just started researching making diapers. Did you make separate diaper and covers or did you make the one piece (diaper+cover)? From a 'use perspective', what are the pro's/cons of each method? I'm going to be a grammie - it is amazing how many choices are out there and so much has changed in the pst 30 years!
2/9/10 8:04 PM
techmom95 said...
I first started out doing all in ones, but once my son started sleeping on his side at night I got some leaks. I switched to making a fitted diaper and separate cover so there is absorbancy on the sides and that works great! My favorite right now is a fitted made with bamboo fleece and lined with suedecloth or microfleece so it feels dry. If you make an AIO, they take FOREVER to dry. Plus you're spending a lot on all that PUL. With covers, if they just get wet and not poopy, you can hang them on the changing table to dry a couple of times between washes. My mom and husband haven't griped, so it's not hard to use them. Snaps are the way to go for sure though. I've also been serging some instead of turning and topstitching - I like those a lot.
2/26/10 10:32 AM
Athene said...
Your diaper looks so professional and so cute.
7/27/11 2:52 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Patrones Magazine 305-2

photo
by: Mikgirl

Review
Style 1021

photo
by: miausiau

Review
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Buy Now