Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1142 (CASUAL) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 783 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:JenniferBee
photo
About JenniferBeestar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/3/03
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/10/10 10:36 PM
Last Updated:1/18/10 0:53 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dingyadi said...
Thanks for this review - I have this pattern and have been holding off on making it until someone reviews it. You have inspired me!
1/10/10 11:51 PM
rivergum said...
Wow, Jennifer, that looks fantastic! I love your crisp cotton version, although it probably will look lovely in georgette or chiffon as well.
1/11/10 0:38 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Lovely - can't wait to see your next version!
1/11/10 2:40 AM
Michelle99 said...
Beautiful. I'll bet this shirt is a real pleasure to wear in hot weather.
1/11/10 4:52 AM
Rebecca D said...
Thanks for reviewing this one. I bought it when it came out and hope to get to it this summer. I love the white, it looks very fresh and modern and the top looks great on you.
1/11/10 6:31 AM
moushka said...
Wonderful top! Looks great on you. Thank you for reviewing this pattern as I was wondering how it was constructed. I love the decorative stitch you used to fasten the pleats.
1/11/10 7:37 AM
carolynw said...
Great looking top - have looked at this pattern and though "no" but you are making me re-think
1/11/10 9:17 AM
thirteenstitches said...
So unique and lovely! Great job. I think adding a belt would be very pretty also.
1/11/10 10:34 AM
Mahler said...
I love that pattern. This is so beautiful on you !
1/11/10 12:30 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
This pattern has been fascinating me for a while. I'm glad you had success with it. It looks good.
1/11/10 1:49 PM
sewsue said...
Nice to read your review. What an interesting top, love the colour on you too.
1/11/10 3:06 PM
busymomof3 said...
What a cute and unique top! This looks great and it is your muslin. Can't wait to see your next one.
1/11/10 3:09 PM
Schnauzer said...
Lovely top, Jennifer!
1/11/10 3:58 PM
JenniferBee said...
Thank you all for your comments, I love this top on me, especially good for hot days. I'll be checking the stash today to see if I've any suitable georgette for the next version :-)
1/11/10 8:32 PM
carnelian said...
Ah brave pioneer... Nice bar tacs.
1/11/10 9:11 PM
Vonnevo said...
Jennifer, these tops look great and I recognise the blue georgette. I have the same fabric in my stash - purchased during our FabShopHop on the first PRWeekend, DownUnder.
1/18/10 2:07 AM
Rebecca D said...
Your second top is so feminine and lovely. I wish we could see it in motion.
1/18/10 6:44 AM
Wino said...
Love the georgette version-intersting pattern.
1/18/10 9:21 AM
carolynw said...
love the georgette - have now decided must get this pattern!
1/18/10 9:55 AM
Kayseri said...
This is so pretty and unusual
1/18/10 10:17 PM
DorothyK said...
I've been going back and forth about this pattern, but after reading your review, I think I will try it. I like both of your versions.
1/19/10 11:29 AM
Pam in Virginia said...
I love both of your versions and I think the bartacks were quite ingenious. I think I actually like the cotton version better! Lovely work.
2/8/11 11:40 AM
ALF840 said...
Thanks for mentioning that the pattern was essentially two manipulated squares--I thought this would be too fussy to try, but now I will give it a go because BOTH of your versions are just so pretty.
6/27/11 4:58 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

McCall's 8705 View C
photo
Review by atcsgame on 2/18/09
Read Review

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern
Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8784 dress
photo
Review by Norsecross on 8/11/12
Read Review

Simplicity 2853 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
Simplicity 2853 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6226 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6226 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us