SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3740 (Tops)

63 more reviews
Viewed 901 times 
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 164
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 137
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:1/14/10 0:05 AM
Last Updated:11/21/10 8:42 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 31 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LynnRowe said...
WOW that's pretty!!! Ok, now I gotta do another one, but in a print this time! Your grey "muslin" looks super comfy for casual chilly days. Your print top looks smashing!!! (And yes, actually, it does bug me that yours looks better than mine...that's just so rude of you!) LOL!!!
1/14/10 0:27 AM
Leora said...
I really like both versions too! The fit is perfect on the print top but the gray top looks so comfy. I'll have to pass on this pattern since I'll never turn out such a nice one without a coverstitch, but hope to see you make more!
1/14/10 4:20 AM
Rebecca D said...
What a helpful review, thank you. I love the fabric on the second version, so bright and cheery, just what's needed in the middle of winter.
1/14/10 6:20 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice top and great review. Thanks for the tip about the neck seam.
1/14/10 7:03 AM
JDpenelope said...
Looks like you've mastered this pattern (again, and as usual). The fit looks perfect, and it's nice to hear that the cowl isn't fussy -- if you do it right! The neckline doesn't look too low cut, either. The print fabric dresses it up -- I gotta remember that.
1/14/10 9:00 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
I love the great fit you achieved. Wonderful hint about constructing the cowl neck to avoid unsightly seams showing. Very pretty on you.
1/14/10 9:10 AM
sewbehind said...
Very cute, Patti! Thanks for a very helpful review.
1/14/10 9:16 AM
JanJanB said...
Very pretty. Thanks for the great review. I wondered about the cowl.
1/14/10 10:56 AM
Barbara V said...
Great tops, Patti. The neckline is quite nice. I'm looking forward to trying this pattern. Thanks!
1/14/10 11:41 AM
Time4me said...
Nice top and great review. The pattern seems to be deliberately drafted for a dropped shoulder but we PRs don't seem to want that! Good thing we are so crafty. It is funny that two of you now had had issues with the cowl. This is totally not an issue for me. I wonder if it is due to the fabric? I have cotton in my bamboo/cotton/lycra jersey.
1/14/10 1:04 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very pretty top.
1/14/10 5:25 PM
HeyJane said...
I love your top. Thanks for all the tips about the pattern.
1/15/10 12:04 PM
EyeSew1 said...
I cut my top out before reading your review. With your helpful tips I can make the needed adjustments before I sew. The colors in this print look beautiful on you! I love how your top turned out. Thanks for the great review!
5/9/10 3:53 PM
Christas said...
I never thought of using a contrasting fabric for the cowl. That looks very nice! The wiggly line on the sleeve is a really cute detail too. Thanks for the tips in your review!
11/21/10 9:39 PM
MNBarb said...
A good style for you. I like the coordinating fabrics.
11/21/10 9:54 PM
Barbara V said...
Oh, this one is cute too. Love the fabric and your use of contrast on the collar and sleeve.
11/21/10 10:38 PM
homejewel said...
How funny we picked the same fabric for the same pattern! I love your version - especially with 2 different prints. Very nice!
11/21/10 11:29 PM
Annette1 said...
I LOVE this! The contrasting cowl and wiggly-lined sleeves just take it to a WHOLE NEW LEVEL. :o)
11/22/10 0:11 AM
Vonnevo said...
Love your wiggly line version, Patti !!!!
11/22/10 1:43 AM
marec said...
What a pretty top on you. I love both versions. The wiggley line is so interesting and quirky. Both tops look cozy and stylish. Are you cold on that side of the mountain? It's very snowy over here.
11/22/10 10:24 AM
Gelbean said...
I love both of your tops! I have this pattern but haven't gotten to it yet.
11/22/10 1:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Butterick 5624

photo
by: Alison Cum...

Review

Pattern

Simplicity 3628

photo
by: Aroura

Review
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

Buy Now