Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3740 (Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 898 times 62 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 31 people   
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 162
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 70 people
patterns reviewed: 135
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:1/14/10 0:05 AM
Last Updated:11/21/10 8:42 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $11.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LynnRowe said...
WOW that's pretty!!! Ok, now I gotta do another one, but in a print this time! Your grey "muslin" looks super comfy for casual chilly days. Your print top looks smashing!!! (And yes, actually, it does bug me that yours looks better than mine...that's just so rude of you!) LOL!!!
1/14/10 0:27 AM
Leora said...
I really like both versions too! The fit is perfect on the print top but the gray top looks so comfy. I'll have to pass on this pattern since I'll never turn out such a nice one without a coverstitch, but hope to see you make more!
1/14/10 4:20 AM
Rebecca D said...
What a helpful review, thank you. I love the fabric on the second version, so bright and cheery, just what's needed in the middle of winter.
1/14/10 6:20 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice top and great review. Thanks for the tip about the neck seam.
1/14/10 7:03 AM
JDpenelope said...
Looks like you've mastered this pattern (again, and as usual). The fit looks perfect, and it's nice to hear that the cowl isn't fussy -- if you do it right! The neckline doesn't look too low cut, either. The print fabric dresses it up -- I gotta remember that.
1/14/10 9:00 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
I love the great fit you achieved. Wonderful hint about constructing the cowl neck to avoid unsightly seams showing. Very pretty on you.
1/14/10 9:10 AM
sewbehind said...
Very cute, Patti! Thanks for a very helpful review.
1/14/10 9:16 AM
JanJanB said...
Very pretty. Thanks for the great review. I wondered about the cowl.
1/14/10 10:56 AM
Barbara V said...
Great tops, Patti. The neckline is quite nice. I'm looking forward to trying this pattern. Thanks!
1/14/10 11:41 AM
Time4me said...
Nice top and great review. The pattern seems to be deliberately drafted for a dropped shoulder but we PRs don't seem to want that! Good thing we are so crafty. It is funny that two of you now had had issues with the cowl. This is totally not an issue for me. I wonder if it is due to the fabric? I have cotton in my bamboo/cotton/lycra jersey.
1/14/10 1:04 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very pretty top.
1/14/10 5:25 PM
HeyJane said...
I love your top. Thanks for all the tips about the pattern.
1/15/10 12:04 PM
EyeSew1 said...
I cut my top out before reading your review. With your helpful tips I can make the needed adjustments before I sew. The colors in this print look beautiful on you! I love how your top turned out. Thanks for the great review!
5/9/10 3:53 PM
Christas said...
I never thought of using a contrasting fabric for the cowl. That looks very nice! The wiggly line on the sleeve is a really cute detail too. Thanks for the tips in your review!
11/21/10 9:39 PM
MNBarb said...
A good style for you. I like the coordinating fabrics.
11/21/10 9:54 PM
Barbara V said...
Oh, this one is cute too. Love the fabric and your use of contrast on the collar and sleeve.
11/21/10 10:38 PM
homejewel said...
How funny we picked the same fabric for the same pattern! I love your version - especially with 2 different prints. Very nice!
11/21/10 11:29 PM
Annette1 said...
I LOVE this! The contrasting cowl and wiggly-lined sleeves just take it to a WHOLE NEW LEVEL. :o)
11/22/10 0:11 AM
Vonnevo said...
Love your wiggly line version, Patti !!!!
11/22/10 1:43 AM
marec said...
What a pretty top on you. I love both versions. The wiggley line is so interesting and quirky. Both tops look cozy and stylish. Are you cold on that side of the mountain? It's very snowy over here.
11/22/10 10:24 AM
Gelbean said...
I love both of your tops! I have this pattern but haven't gotten to it yet.
11/22/10 1:26 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Colette Patterns 0003 Sorbetto
photo
Review by hme75 on 5/22/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Cowl Neck Tunic Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Cowl Neck Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used Burrito Pillow Case Patte
photo
Review by Mary Stief... on 2/6/12
Read Review

Petite Plus V202 VHS
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1587 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1587 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6095 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
New Look 6095 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us