SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2473 (Princess Sheath Dress wMidriff)

25 more reviews
Viewed 615 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 318 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/12/10 11:21 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
2takeKate said...
Ease of Doom, indeed! Reminds me of the plaid rayon BIAS (strike three!) skirt I attempted that ended up in the trash. Fabric choices aside, this is still a cool dress pattern.
10/4/11 6:57 PM
2takeKate said...
Ease of Doom, indeed! Reminds me of the plaid rayon BIAS (strike three!) skirt I attempted that ended up in the trash. Fabric choices aside, this is still a cool dress pattern.
10/4/11 6:57 PM
Karen6790 said...
Shame the collar didn't work, that was really cute. But stop beating up on yourself - it's cute for now, it's warm, and the fabulous stuff you've made by far outnumbers this one. I'm about 3/4 of the way through a dress that is either going to be a wadder, a gift or a pencil skirt, mostly because I refused to admit that the fabric wasn't appropriate for the pattern, so I feel your pain.
1/13/10 9:22 PM
fourkid said...
A great review - since you make so many fantastic garments and I can see your angst with this particular dress - but you still make it look cute.
1/13/10 6:57 AM
sew2little said...
I received a plaid jacket for Christmas with mismatched seams that make the back of your dress look like perfection. Those of us who sew do look at clothing with a more critical eye--most of the time. I too have this pattern and will not try it with a plaid! (I was able to exchange the jacket!)
1/13/10 1:07 AM
Mufffet said...
Thanks for your candid honesty! Just always wear this when you can lean against a wall!>;) Chalk it up to experience and notice how well you sewed it though!
1/12/10 4:02 PM
michababy said...
I agree. No more torturing for you! Thanks for the fabric tips and the splitting suggestions!
1/12/10 2:35 PM
eword10 said...
OMG, I almost spit out my food with your Ease of Doom comment! I have this pattern and hope I have better luck. I will keep your fabric talk in mind when choosing mine. I can understand not willing to give up on a vision though. And you have so many cute things you've already made, why torture yourself?
1/12/10 1:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

More Info
PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

More Info
BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2009-136

photo
by: Quickie

Review