SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3666 ( Women's Jackets)

Viewed 541 times 
Reviewed by:Passion4Sewing
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Passion4Sewingstarstarstar
SC USA
Member since: 9/21/08
Reviews written: 227
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 193
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/13/10 1:51 AM
Last Updated:1/13/10 12:11 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mokonabarb said...
This is SO lovely!! I agree, your jacket looks so much better than the original! I have this pattern and now I can't wait to try it. BTW, the pattern specifies wovens or stable knits, as I recall. I'm not entirely sure what "stable knits" means...knits without much stretch?? (Sorry for the newbie question) Anyhow, how do you think this would work with moderate stretch knits, or t-shirt knits? I've got a lot of scraps that I'd like to use up.:-)
9/14/10 7:35 PM
ClaireF in CA said...
Your review is wonderful and I enjoyed your pictures so much! Kwik Sew patterns are among my favs, and using this jacket pattern to refashion another was a great idea! Fun thrift store find! Sometimes it seems harder to refashion, than to start from scratch - you did a beauiful job! Love it!
1/24/10 9:03 PM
Slyone said...
Looks very Koos of Course
1/18/10 1:37 PM
moonchild61 said...
I covet this jacket; it is just stunning!
1/15/10 7:31 PM
raymondmom said...
Great review - wonderful explanation. Jacket looks very well done.
1/14/10 10:53 PM
Jane S said...
You made a beautiful jacket. I'm so sorry about your sister but I hope this jacket brings back happier memories.
1/14/10 8:38 PM
sfgb said...
The jacket is beautiful and very creative. I especially like the seam-binding seams and your choice of coordinating fabrics.
1/14/10 9:39 AM
Kayseri said...
I love this - all the different colors and patterns come together to a fabulous jacket.
1/14/10 4:04 AM
alibi said...
The new jacket looks so much better than the original--what a great up-cycle!
1/14/10 2:02 AM
AnneM said...
Fun. I always think of sizing garment down, but no reason why we can't size them up by combining multiple ones or small amounts of fabric. You must have a very artistic community to get thrift-shop finds like that.
1/13/10 1:09 PM
j222b said...
U R TALENTED!
1/13/10 11:25 AM
dwindy said...
Very cute and creative
1/13/10 10:39 AM
carolynw said...
WOW!! This is beautiful - you'll get lots of compliemnts on this one of a kind jacket. I think in RTW you would have to pay mega $ for this. Great review
1/13/10 9:40 AM
fourkid said...
Beautiful - and a great detailed review. I love how you re-did that too-small jacket into such an amazing garment.
1/13/10 9:04 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I love the recycling of the too small garment from the thrift. Thanks for the bias tape photos,explanation, and how you covered the seams-I really liked that and will try it sometime for a color block join. I noticed in a man's undershirt the other day this technique used inside the shoulder seams and liked the concept. Thanks for the nice review.
1/13/10 8:49 AM
thirteenstitches said...
Beautiful! You are very talented!
1/13/10 8:35 AM
no7262 said...
WOW! You did an awesome job! The jacket came out beautiful! Nora :)
1/13/10 7:13 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Kwik Sew 3521

photo
by: labyrinthq...

Review
You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

More Info
NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

More Info