SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3666 ( Women's Jackets)

Viewed 541 times 
Reviewed by:Passion4Sewing
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Passion4Sewingstarstarstar
SC USA
Member since: 9/21/08
Reviews written: 223
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 189
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/13/10 1:51 AM
Last Updated:1/13/10 12:11 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
no7262 said...
WOW! You did an awesome job! The jacket came out beautiful! Nora :)
1/13/10 7:13 AM
thirteenstitches said...
Beautiful! You are very talented!
1/13/10 8:35 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I love the recycling of the too small garment from the thrift. Thanks for the bias tape photos,explanation, and how you covered the seams-I really liked that and will try it sometime for a color block join. I noticed in a man's undershirt the other day this technique used inside the shoulder seams and liked the concept. Thanks for the nice review.
1/13/10 8:49 AM
fourkid said...
Beautiful - and a great detailed review. I love how you re-did that too-small jacket into such an amazing garment.
1/13/10 9:04 AM
carolynw said...
WOW!! This is beautiful - you'll get lots of compliemnts on this one of a kind jacket. I think in RTW you would have to pay mega $ for this. Great review
1/13/10 9:40 AM
dwindy said...
Very cute and creative
1/13/10 10:39 AM
j222b said...
U R TALENTED!
1/13/10 11:25 AM
AnneM said...
Fun. I always think of sizing garment down, but no reason why we can't size them up by combining multiple ones or small amounts of fabric. You must have a very artistic community to get thrift-shop finds like that.
1/13/10 1:09 PM
alibi said...
The new jacket looks so much better than the original--what a great up-cycle!
1/14/10 2:02 AM
Kayseri said...
I love this - all the different colors and patterns come together to a fabulous jacket.
1/14/10 4:04 AM
sfgb said...
The jacket is beautiful and very creative. I especially like the seam-binding seams and your choice of coordinating fabrics.
1/14/10 9:39 AM
Jane S said...
You made a beautiful jacket. I'm so sorry about your sister but I hope this jacket brings back happier memories.
1/14/10 8:38 PM
raymondmom said...
Great review - wonderful explanation. Jacket looks very well done.
1/14/10 10:53 PM
moonchild61 said...
I covet this jacket; it is just stunning!
1/15/10 7:31 PM
Slyone said...
Looks very Koos of Course
1/18/10 1:37 PM
ClaireF in CA said...
Your review is wonderful and I enjoyed your pictures so much! Kwik Sew patterns are among my favs, and using this jacket pattern to refashion another was a great idea! Fun thrift store find! Sometimes it seems harder to refashion, than to start from scratch - you did a beauiful job! Love it!
1/24/10 9:03 PM
Mokonabarb said...
This is SO lovely!! I agree, your jacket looks so much better than the original! I have this pattern and now I can't wait to try it. BTW, the pattern specifies wovens or stable knits, as I recall. I'm not entirely sure what "stable knits" means...knits without much stretch?? (Sorry for the newbie question) Anyhow, how do you think this would work with moderate stretch knits, or t-shirt knits? I've got a lot of scraps that I'd like to use up.:-)
9/14/10 7:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Vogue Patterns 1173

photo
by: maryfrana

Review
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8670

photo
by: jlg

Review