Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3666 ( Women's Jackets) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 540 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Passion4Sewing
photo
Friend of PR
About Passion4Sewingstarstarstar
SC USA
Member since: 9/21/08
Reviews written: 214
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/13/10 1:51 AM
Last Updated:1/13/10 12:11 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
no7262 said...
WOW! You did an awesome job! The jacket came out beautiful! Nora :)
1/13/10 7:13 AM
thirteenstitches said...
Beautiful! You are very talented!
1/13/10 8:35 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I love the recycling of the too small garment from the thrift. Thanks for the bias tape photos,explanation, and how you covered the seams-I really liked that and will try it sometime for a color block join. I noticed in a man's undershirt the other day this technique used inside the shoulder seams and liked the concept. Thanks for the nice review.
1/13/10 8:49 AM
fourkid said...
Beautiful - and a great detailed review. I love how you re-did that too-small jacket into such an amazing garment.
1/13/10 9:04 AM
carolynw said...
WOW!! This is beautiful - you'll get lots of compliemnts on this one of a kind jacket. I think in RTW you would have to pay mega $ for this. Great review
1/13/10 9:40 AM
dwindy said...
Very cute and creative
1/13/10 10:39 AM
j222b said...
U R TALENTED!
1/13/10 11:25 AM
AnneM said...
Fun. I always think of sizing garment down, but no reason why we can't size them up by combining multiple ones or small amounts of fabric. You must have a very artistic community to get thrift-shop finds like that.
1/13/10 1:09 PM
alibi said...
The new jacket looks so much better than the original--what a great up-cycle!
1/14/10 2:02 AM
Kayseri said...
I love this - all the different colors and patterns come together to a fabulous jacket.
1/14/10 4:04 AM
sfgb said...
The jacket is beautiful and very creative. I especially like the seam-binding seams and your choice of coordinating fabrics.
1/14/10 9:39 AM
Jane S said...
You made a beautiful jacket. I'm so sorry about your sister but I hope this jacket brings back happier memories.
1/14/10 8:38 PM
raymondmom said...
Great review - wonderful explanation. Jacket looks very well done.
1/14/10 10:53 PM
moonchild61 said...
I covet this jacket; it is just stunning!
1/15/10 7:31 PM
Slyone said...
Looks very Koos of Course
1/18/10 1:37 PM
ClaireF in CA said...
Your review is wonderful and I enjoyed your pictures so much! Kwik Sew patterns are among my favs, and using this jacket pattern to refashion another was a great idea! Fun thrift store find! Sometimes it seems harder to refashion, than to start from scratch - you did a beauiful job! Love it!
1/24/10 9:03 PM
Mokonabarb said...
This is SO lovely!! I agree, your jacket looks so much better than the original! I have this pattern and now I can't wait to try it. BTW, the pattern specifies wovens or stable knits, as I recall. I'm not entirely sure what "stable knits" means...knits without much stretch?? (Sorry for the newbie question) Anyhow, how do you think this would work with moderate stretch knits, or t-shirt knits? I've got a lot of scraps that I'd like to use up.:-)
9/14/10 7:35 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Vogue Patterns 1170
photo
Review by SueV on 5/18/10
Read Review

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern
Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Maddie Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Maddie Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2009-102 Jacket/blouse
photo
Review by Jali on 11/3/09
Read Review

Simplicity 1702 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )
Simplicity 1702 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 9014 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 9014 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us