SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3666 ( Women's Jackets)

Viewed 541 times 
Reviewed by:Passion4Sewing
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Passion4Sewingstarstarstar
SC USA
Member since: 9/21/08
Reviews written: 226
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 192
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/13/10 1:51 AM
Last Updated:1/13/10 12:11 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
no7262 said...
WOW! You did an awesome job! The jacket came out beautiful! Nora :)
1/13/10 7:13 AM
thirteenstitches said...
Beautiful! You are very talented!
1/13/10 8:35 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I love the recycling of the too small garment from the thrift. Thanks for the bias tape photos,explanation, and how you covered the seams-I really liked that and will try it sometime for a color block join. I noticed in a man's undershirt the other day this technique used inside the shoulder seams and liked the concept. Thanks for the nice review.
1/13/10 8:49 AM
fourkid said...
Beautiful - and a great detailed review. I love how you re-did that too-small jacket into such an amazing garment.
1/13/10 9:04 AM
carolynw said...
WOW!! This is beautiful - you'll get lots of compliemnts on this one of a kind jacket. I think in RTW you would have to pay mega $ for this. Great review
1/13/10 9:40 AM
dwindy said...
Very cute and creative
1/13/10 10:39 AM
j222b said...
U R TALENTED!
1/13/10 11:25 AM
AnneM said...
Fun. I always think of sizing garment down, but no reason why we can't size them up by combining multiple ones or small amounts of fabric. You must have a very artistic community to get thrift-shop finds like that.
1/13/10 1:09 PM
alibi said...
The new jacket looks so much better than the original--what a great up-cycle!
1/14/10 2:02 AM
Kayseri said...
I love this - all the different colors and patterns come together to a fabulous jacket.
1/14/10 4:04 AM
sfgb said...
The jacket is beautiful and very creative. I especially like the seam-binding seams and your choice of coordinating fabrics.
1/14/10 9:39 AM
Jane S said...
You made a beautiful jacket. I'm so sorry about your sister but I hope this jacket brings back happier memories.
1/14/10 8:38 PM
raymondmom said...
Great review - wonderful explanation. Jacket looks very well done.
1/14/10 10:53 PM
moonchild61 said...
I covet this jacket; it is just stunning!
1/15/10 7:31 PM
Slyone said...
Looks very Koos of Course
1/18/10 1:37 PM
ClaireF in CA said...
Your review is wonderful and I enjoyed your pictures so much! Kwik Sew patterns are among my favs, and using this jacket pattern to refashion another was a great idea! Fun thrift store find! Sometimes it seems harder to refashion, than to start from scratch - you did a beauiful job! Love it!
1/24/10 9:03 PM
Mokonabarb said...
This is SO lovely!! I agree, your jacket looks so much better than the original! I have this pattern and now I can't wait to try it. BTW, the pattern specifies wovens or stable knits, as I recall. I'm not entirely sure what "stable knits" means...knits without much stretch?? (Sorry for the newbie question) Anyhow, how do you think this would work with moderate stretch knits, or t-shirt knits? I've got a lot of scraps that I'd like to use up.:-)
9/14/10 7:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2010-23

photo
by: myraminx

Review
8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Buy Now