Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Islander Sewing Systems: Road Runner (Road Runner) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2597 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 242
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 86 people
patterns reviewed: 223
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/6/02 11:58 AM
Last Updated:11/19/04 9:41 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Thanks for reviewing this. I really like Margaret Islander's sewong vidoes, but have never seen one of her patterns made up. Based on the drawings at her website I didn't think they would look good on me because they appear so oversized. Too bad there aren't photos of actual seewn garments so we could preview the fit.
5/8/02 4:58 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Yow! My typing is really bad today. I mean "too bad there aren't photos of sewn garments" on her website.
5/8/02 5:01 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I'm really bad at telling size from line drawings; I can't draw stuff to scale myself...maybe it's a perception thing. Photos on her website would help! This particular pattern would probably be fine for an 'apple'; being a 'pear', I'm going to have to work on it. I guess I'm just enamoured enough of the sleeve treatment that I'm not willing to give up on it yet. (Maybe I'm just a glutton for punishment).
5/9/02 0:51 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Lisa, you did a beautiful job on this Jacket!! I sure with i had fabric like that just 'laying around' Keep up the good work. You are an inspiration
6/1/02 4:01 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks, Darla-- you've encouraged me! I hesitated putting a photo of such a baggy thing up but thought it might help someone to see how it fit 'out of the envelope'.
6/1/02 12:06 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Rustybobn said...
Hey Lisa! I like it--even the "stretchy geezer chair" fabric! (I've gotten some internet surprises like that, too.) I'm glad you were able to improve the fit of the pattern.
11/20/04 8:05 AM
Mini said...
Thanks for the update-it looks much more proportional now. I noticed while watching her shirtmaking video that Ms Islander looked like she was wearing this jacket. It appeared to have big 80's shoulder pads, so maybe that was why the shoulders were drafted so huge. Your version looks more up to date.
11/20/04 12:17 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Lisa, I really like your jacket. Good color, and I hope the fabric is better as a jacket than on that geezer chair. I've had this pattern for about 5 years and I've been intimidated about those pockets. Can you please describe how you inset your favorite inseam pocket treatment. And thanks for the tip about the shoulders width.
11/21/04 9:01 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Sherril, I did the same inseam pocket treatment I do for pants (it's the technique that's listed in the review). Just leave off the welt altogether and it's just like any other inseam pocket...except you catch the opposite side in the front seam after it's made.
11/22/04 7:15 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Kwik Sew 2732
photo
Review by sassyseams... on 12/4/11
Read Review

Simple Things The Flight Cap Digital Pattern (004)
Simple Things The Flight Cap Digital Pattern (004)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Lark Digital Pattern
Jamie Christina Lark Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2009-131
photo
Review by sky on 1/31/12
Read Review

Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1182 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1182 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1367 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 1367 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us