SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Islander Sewing Systems> Road Runner (Road Runner)

2 more reviews
Viewed 2599 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 243
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 87 people
patterns reviewed: 224
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/6/02 11:58 AM
Last Updated:11/19/04 9:41 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Thanks for reviewing this. I really like Margaret Islander's sewong vidoes, but have never seen one of her patterns made up. Based on the drawings at her website I didn't think they would look good on me because they appear so oversized. Too bad there aren't photos of actual seewn garments so we could preview the fit.
5/8/02 4:58 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Yow! My typing is really bad today. I mean "too bad there aren't photos of sewn garments" on her website.
5/8/02 5:01 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I'm really bad at telling size from line drawings; I can't draw stuff to scale myself...maybe it's a perception thing. Photos on her website would help! This particular pattern would probably be fine for an 'apple'; being a 'pear', I'm going to have to work on it. I guess I'm just enamoured enough of the sleeve treatment that I'm not willing to give up on it yet. (Maybe I'm just a glutton for punishment).
5/9/02 0:51 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Lisa, you did a beautiful job on this Jacket!! I sure with i had fabric like that just 'laying around' Keep up the good work. You are an inspiration
6/1/02 4:01 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks, Darla-- you've encouraged me! I hesitated putting a photo of such a baggy thing up but thought it might help someone to see how it fit 'out of the envelope'.
6/1/02 12:06 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Rustybobn said...
Hey Lisa! I like it--even the "stretchy geezer chair" fabric! (I've gotten some internet surprises like that, too.) I'm glad you were able to improve the fit of the pattern.
11/20/04 8:05 AM
Mini said...
Thanks for the update-it looks much more proportional now. I noticed while watching her shirtmaking video that Ms Islander looked like she was wearing this jacket. It appeared to have big 80's shoulder pads, so maybe that was why the shoulders were drafted so huge. Your version looks more up to date.
11/20/04 12:17 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Lisa, I really like your jacket. Good color, and I hope the fabric is better as a jacket than on that geezer chair. I've had this pattern for about 5 years and I've been intimidated about those pockets. Can you please describe how you inset your favorite inseam pocket treatment. And thanks for the tip about the shoulders width.
11/21/04 9:01 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Sherril, I did the same inseam pocket treatment I do for pants (it's the technique that's listed in the review). Just leave off the welt altogether and it's just like any other inseam pocket...except you catch the opposite side in the front seam after it's made.
11/22/04 7:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

McCall's 6322

photo
by: Julia Bobb...

Review
Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

Buy Now