SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8327 (Skirt)

4 more reviews
Viewed 974 times 
Reviewed by:Heidi Cooper
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heidi Cooperstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 8
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/14/10 10:21 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
46 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SexiSadi said...
All I can say is: That's impressive!
1/14/10 10:52 PM
Laurasews said...
Some liberating tips regarding leather and I love your vision. The skirt is much better than the jackets it is derived from.
1/14/10 11:11 PM
QuiltersFan said...
Great review. Love what you did with the skirt.
1/14/10 11:41 PM
mesewlot said...
Wow! You did a great job!
1/14/10 11:54 PM
shorts said...
Impressive is exactly what I was going to say! You did an amazing job sewing this but just coming up with the idea is truly amazing!
1/15/10 1:01 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Absolutely brilliant. I admire your tenacity at tackling this kind of project! Leather isn't the easiest to work with, but just look at those results. Have fun wearing!
1/15/10 4:16 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Fantastic job! That skirt rocks. Your review is a GREAT read, too.
1/15/10 5:27 AM
AnneM said...
Cool, cool, cool. Great style, I just love it. Congratulations, and thank you for sharing your leather lessons learned.
1/15/10 5:58 AM
Passion4Sewing said...
What an awesome, stylish skirt! Good work! Nice review.
1/15/10 7:03 AM
fourkid said...
Fantastic!
1/15/10 7:54 AM
Annette Wright said...
I'm slightly in shock....WOW!!!
1/15/10 8:12 AM
Lynnelle said...
What a great remake. Simply wonderful.
1/15/10 9:00 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Amazing refashioning project! Not only did you choose a most stylish skirt design, you also whipped that leather into submission and achieved a gorgeously draped garment. Pat yourself on the back!
1/15/10 9:41 AM
RLL said...
What a lot of work you put into this. Great descriptive review and a really fabulous skirt.
1/15/10 1:53 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
WOWOWOWOWOWOW!
1/15/10 2:53 PM
Nan Kay said...
This is impressive! I bet it will be fun to wear too.
1/15/10 4:21 PM
Karendee said...
Fantastic skirt!
1/15/10 5:01 PM
Nancy K said...
Brilliant! I have an old leather coat in my closet that is 80's dated and too big for me now and a pair of leather pants. You have inspired me to finally use them. I love it and thanks for a terrific write up of your process.
1/15/10 6:18 PM
Kayseri said...
This is a completely amazing skirt, let alone you made from old coats.
1/15/10 6:26 PM
Ann Smith said...
An amazing vision to transform these jackets this way and an inspirational review. Just astounding what you have done.
1/16/10 1:02 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
A super review. What a fabulous skirt. Isn't it great to get something wonderful from cast-offs. You did a tremendous job!
1/17/10 3:45 PM
FaithM said...
I am impressed! Nice work!!!
1/17/10 7:34 PM
yorkshire lass said...
Oh wow. Wonderful skirt and very, very helpful review. You did an awesome job of this. It was clearly a labour of love and I will look forward to seeing what you make with the teal skins.
1/18/10 6:12 AM
ElizabethDee said...
amazing skirt! love your wonderful descriptions of how you made this.
1/18/10 5:47 PM
saskprairiegirl said...
An amazing example of "refashioning". How exciting! I can't wait to hear about your next project.
1/20/10 8:21 AM
kaitiaki said...
Love it. I know what you mean about the ripping leather though! I find that adds to the macho feeling though. Great job!
1/20/10 8:23 PM
Cannmal said...
Bravo...I am so impressed. What machine or machines did you use on this project?
1/25/10 7:08 PM
Heidi Cooper said...
Wow, thank you all for the really nice comments :-) Cannmal--I used my Pfaff 2170 and it sewed through the leather like 'buttah' even though I was using a Jeans needle instead of a leather needle.
1/26/10 11:04 AM
kate1950 said...
That skirt is the bomb! It looks wonderful!! Kudos to you.
2/9/10 12:33 PM
sugarduck said...
I, too, am completely impressed by your refashioning skills. This is a great skirt - totally unexpected and unique, as you were aiming for. Thanks for the informative review. P.S. Congrats on the contest win!
2/9/10 2:02 PM
AuntA said...
I've been collecting sample leathers for some time. Your project was enormous!!! Great going, as I know it is very tedious when revamping a pattern, none the less sewing is the final move when holes are made. Thank You !! Great Job.......
2/10/10 7:55 AM
Minnasews said...
Wow, what a beautiful job. I really like the back. Looks like a slimming pattern for those of us who have more "junk in the trunk" than I'd like!
2/10/10 8:13 AM
cruizing said...
great job. Love the finished project. On washing leather did you just put it in the washer and dryer?
2/10/10 8:29 AM
bananaoil said...
Wowie Kazowie! Hats off to you for an amazing project. I saw the pattern envelope and I don't think I'd have ever imagined that design made up in leather.
2/10/10 9:58 AM
marietweet said...
Great idea, love the skirt...Who knew you could wash and dry leather! Thanks for that tip, too.
2/10/10 10:12 AM
ocean girl said...
I enjoyed reading about your challenging sewing. I do admire the fact that you would rip apart leather. I've done it several times and have encountered all the problems that you have stated. You did a fantastic job with all the piecing. Congratulations on having a project turn out so professionally.
2/10/10 11:23 AM
lgraham27 said...
Awesome skirt, great review
2/10/10 11:50 AM
lgraham27 said...
Awesome skirt, great review
2/10/10 11:50 AM
DougieB said...
I am constantly amazed at the skill and imagination of the members. I wish I'd read all these reviews years ago when I was afraid to step outside the box at all! My congratulations to Heidi for her wonderful results and for the very informative review.
2/10/10 4:06 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Outstanding! What a spectacular transformation.
2/10/10 5:47 PM
Linda E. said...
wow that is just too cool... you did a great job ,,
2/10/10 8:25 PM
Chia said...
What an excellent and detailed review. Loved learning about your experience in working with leather.
2/11/10 2:30 AM
MaryStern said...
Thank you for the great info here. I had purchased a piece of blue leather a long time ago, and now I think I will go ahead and experiment thanks to your encouragement.
2/11/10 10:02 AM
kiddo said...
Brilliante!!! I agree with Ann Smith, your vision is amazing. Repurposing the zippered parts was just so clever!
2/11/10 1:35 PM
Patti in IL said...
You have inspired me to work on my leather deconstruction project!
2/12/10 4:41 PM
Leora said...
So impressive! Your skirt is gorgeous!!
10/4/10 6:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

McCall's 6281

photo
by: RebeccaMar...

Review
Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick 5484

photo
by: Doobee64

Review