SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8327 (Skirt)

4 more reviews
Viewed 977 times 
Reviewed by:Heidi Cooper
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heidi Cooperstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 8
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/14/10 10:21 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 28 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
46 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leora said...
So impressive! Your skirt is gorgeous!!
10/4/10 6:30 PM
Patti in IL said...
You have inspired me to work on my leather deconstruction project!
2/12/10 4:41 PM
kiddo said...
Brilliante!!! I agree with Ann Smith, your vision is amazing. Repurposing the zippered parts was just so clever!
2/11/10 1:35 PM
MaryStern said...
Thank you for the great info here. I had purchased a piece of blue leather a long time ago, and now I think I will go ahead and experiment thanks to your encouragement.
2/11/10 10:02 AM
Chia said...
What an excellent and detailed review. Loved learning about your experience in working with leather.
2/11/10 2:30 AM
Linda E. said...
wow that is just too cool... you did a great job ,,
2/10/10 8:25 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Outstanding! What a spectacular transformation.
2/10/10 5:47 PM
DougieB said...
I am constantly amazed at the skill and imagination of the members. I wish I'd read all these reviews years ago when I was afraid to step outside the box at all! My congratulations to Heidi for her wonderful results and for the very informative review.
2/10/10 4:06 PM
lgraham27 said...
Awesome skirt, great review
2/10/10 11:50 AM
lgraham27 said...
Awesome skirt, great review
2/10/10 11:50 AM
ocean girl said...
I enjoyed reading about your challenging sewing. I do admire the fact that you would rip apart leather. I've done it several times and have encountered all the problems that you have stated. You did a fantastic job with all the piecing. Congratulations on having a project turn out so professionally.
2/10/10 11:23 AM
marietweet said...
Great idea, love the skirt...Who knew you could wash and dry leather! Thanks for that tip, too.
2/10/10 10:12 AM
bananaoil said...
Wowie Kazowie! Hats off to you for an amazing project. I saw the pattern envelope and I don't think I'd have ever imagined that design made up in leather.
2/10/10 9:58 AM
cruizing said...
great job. Love the finished project. On washing leather did you just put it in the washer and dryer?
2/10/10 8:29 AM
Minnasews said...
Wow, what a beautiful job. I really like the back. Looks like a slimming pattern for those of us who have more "junk in the trunk" than I'd like!
2/10/10 8:13 AM
AuntA said...
I've been collecting sample leathers for some time. Your project was enormous!!! Great going, as I know it is very tedious when revamping a pattern, none the less sewing is the final move when holes are made. Thank You !! Great Job.......
2/10/10 7:55 AM
sugarduck said...
I, too, am completely impressed by your refashioning skills. This is a great skirt - totally unexpected and unique, as you were aiming for. Thanks for the informative review. P.S. Congrats on the contest win!
2/9/10 2:02 PM
kate1950 said...
That skirt is the bomb! It looks wonderful!! Kudos to you.
2/9/10 12:33 PM
Heidi Cooper said...
Wow, thank you all for the really nice comments :-) Cannmal--I used my Pfaff 2170 and it sewed through the leather like 'buttah' even though I was using a Jeans needle instead of a leather needle.
1/26/10 11:04 AM
Cannmal said...
Bravo...I am so impressed. What machine or machines did you use on this project?
1/25/10 7:08 PM
kaitiaki said...
Love it. I know what you mean about the ripping leather though! I find that adds to the macho feeling though. Great job!
1/20/10 8:23 PM
saskprairiegirl said...
An amazing example of "refashioning". How exciting! I can't wait to hear about your next project.
1/20/10 8:21 AM
ElizabethDee said...
amazing skirt! love your wonderful descriptions of how you made this.
1/18/10 5:47 PM
yorkshire lass said...
Oh wow. Wonderful skirt and very, very helpful review. You did an awesome job of this. It was clearly a labour of love and I will look forward to seeing what you make with the teal skins.
1/18/10 6:12 AM
FaithM said...
I am impressed! Nice work!!!
1/17/10 7:34 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
A super review. What a fabulous skirt. Isn't it great to get something wonderful from cast-offs. You did a tremendous job!
1/17/10 3:45 PM
Ann Smith said...
An amazing vision to transform these jackets this way and an inspirational review. Just astounding what you have done.
1/16/10 1:02 PM
Kayseri said...
This is a completely amazing skirt, let alone you made from old coats.
1/15/10 6:26 PM
Nancy K said...
Brilliant! I have an old leather coat in my closet that is 80's dated and too big for me now and a pair of leather pants. You have inspired me to finally use them. I love it and thanks for a terrific write up of your process.
1/15/10 6:18 PM
Karendee said...
Fantastic skirt!
1/15/10 5:01 PM
Nan Kay said...
This is impressive! I bet it will be fun to wear too.
1/15/10 4:21 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
WOWOWOWOWOWOW!
1/15/10 2:53 PM
RLL said...
What a lot of work you put into this. Great descriptive review and a really fabulous skirt.
1/15/10 1:53 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Amazing refashioning project! Not only did you choose a most stylish skirt design, you also whipped that leather into submission and achieved a gorgeously draped garment. Pat yourself on the back!
1/15/10 9:41 AM
Lynnelle said...
What a great remake. Simply wonderful.
1/15/10 9:00 AM
Annette Wright said...
I'm slightly in shock....WOW!!!
1/15/10 8:12 AM
fourkid said...
Fantastic!
1/15/10 7:54 AM
Passion4Sewing said...
What an awesome, stylish skirt! Good work! Nice review.
1/15/10 7:03 AM
AnneM said...
Cool, cool, cool. Great style, I just love it. Congratulations, and thank you for sharing your leather lessons learned.
1/15/10 5:58 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Fantastic job! That skirt rocks. Your review is a GREAT read, too.
1/15/10 5:27 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Absolutely brilliant. I admire your tenacity at tackling this kind of project! Leather isn't the easiest to work with, but just look at those results. Have fun wearing!
1/15/10 4:16 AM
shorts said...
Impressive is exactly what I was going to say! You did an amazing job sewing this but just coming up with the idea is truly amazing!
1/15/10 1:01 AM
mesewlot said...
Wow! You did a great job!
1/14/10 11:54 PM
QuiltersFan said...
Great review. Love what you did with the skirt.
1/14/10 11:41 PM
Laurasews said...
Some liberating tips regarding leather and I love your vision. The skirt is much better than the jackets it is derived from.
1/14/10 11:11 PM
SexiSadi said...
All I can say is: That's impressive!
1/14/10 10:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Cutting Line Designs 11202

photo
by: FrammaJoy

Review
Chelsea

Chelsea

Buy Now
Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Buy Now