Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 03-2009-109 (Blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 314 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Kbenco
photo
About Kbencostarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/8/06
Reviews written: 190
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 189
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/16/10 11:28 PM
Last Updated:1/16/10 11:38 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
I like your changes, the blouse is beautiful.
1/16/10 11:34 PM
katharin said...
Your version of this blouse looks great, much more flattering than the burda version. Thanks for the helpful review.
1/17/10 0:07 AM
dingyadi said...
That is so nice, I love what you have done with the neckband. So much better than the version in the mag.
1/17/10 1:20 AM
RuthieSews said...
Very nice indeed. The neckband sounds a complete pain. Glad you can make things from the mag for your teen daughter.
1/17/10 4:53 AM
sandramary said...
Good call on the gathering. I also thought the gathers at the waist looked weird in the mag! It's lovely made up in your crisp white fabric.
1/17/10 5:21 AM
becca a said...
Your version of this shirt is beautiful--so much better than BWOF's picture.
1/17/10 8:18 AM
Christas said...
Such a pretty blouse! The embellishment is very nice. I skipped over this blouse - glad you brought it to my attention by reviewing yours.
1/17/10 9:16 AM
Heatherrique said...
Fine looking top! Your version is stunning.
1/17/10 10:23 AM
fourkid said...
Very cute blouse. I had to go back and forth between the two versions several times (my eye is not a quick as yours!) and I totally agree. The magazine version looks sort of "dropped" and quite unflattering - I love your version.
1/17/10 10:57 AM
Nancy K said...
Lovely blouse. It looks really good on your dd.
1/17/10 12:08 PM
nellc said...
Very pretty blouse. Your version is much nicer than the one in the magazine.
1/17/10 12:47 PM
SG1 said...
Beautiful blouse! I always figured the gathers would hit my post-baby bust just about right.
1/17/10 1:34 PM
Sewingelle said...
wow, this looks great in your version. I instantly discarded this style from the magazine picture because of the low bust and big tummy possibilities it offered, but perhaps I'll rethink
1/17/10 6:23 PM
Karen6790 said...
I really disliked this in the magazine - nice to see that a little rethinking can turn out such a great blouse. Your daughter looks great in it and it's far more flattering than the original version.
1/17/10 8:25 PM
JenniferBee said...
Love you version, I hated the version in the magazine. Great looking blouse, clever DD.
1/18/10 1:19 AM
rsersh said...
This is so great. I liked seeing how it looked tucked in too. Thanks for including comments on your alterations. They sound like a great idea!
1/27/10 6:54 PM
Jane S said...
Wow, Burda should replace their picture with your daughter's. I so agree with your assessment of the original...why pleat my tummy?! But this is wonderful...bravo to both of you for seing the true potential.
2/1/10 5:13 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

McCall's 2824 Baby Crafts
photo
Review by Rhonda Noa... on 9/10/03
Read Review

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Details
Price: $26.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Jenny Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Jenny Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1242
photo
Review by marusya gr... on 12/4/13
Read Review

McCalls 3033 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 3033 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9772 Pattern
Burda 9772 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us