Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
EvaDress: E50-3818 (1956 Evening Gown) - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 1012 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 35 people   
Reviewed by:Twinset
photo
Friend of PR
About Twinsetstarstarstarstar
QC CANADA
Member since: 9/15/07
Reviews written: 64
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 124 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/26/10 1:49 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
50 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jilly cooper said...
5 hours on the bust drape - wow, no wonder the dress looks fantastic. love the fabric too, just oozes style :)
1/26/10 2:05 AM
Birgitte said...
I adore this on you, and I had to go straight to the picture of you with the band :)) you did an amazing job and I hope you get many more opportunities to wear it- just stunning. And a very helpful review, thank you.
1/26/10 2:27 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Simply gorgeous!
1/26/10 2:33 AM
Elona said...
What a lovely, lovely dress, and you look beautiful in it!
1/26/10 3:05 AM
Vonnevo said...
WOW !!! Gorgeous, glamourous, stylish and sophisticated !!! This jazz fan would love to hear a little snippet of you singing too :)
1/26/10 4:29 AM
joanico said...
Just amazing!
1/26/10 4:36 AM
dingyadi said...
Utterly beautiful!
1/26/10 4:40 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Gorgeous! Looks fantastic on you.
1/26/10 4:46 AM
Paris75008 said...
Oh m'gosh. What an amazing glamorous dress and you look simply STUNNING wearing it. Only 2 days to make it? That has to be some kind of sewing record. Thanks for the very helpful review and the lovely pics.
1/26/10 5:29 AM
Paris75008 said...
Oops, double post. I must have been under the spell of that gorgeamous dress!
1/26/10 5:34 AM
Elke said...
Gorgeous dress looks fabulous on you! I enjoyed reading your review with lovely photos.
1/26/10 5:38 AM
newmama said...
Stunning, gorgeous, very flattering. Absolutely amazing dress that looks wonderful on you. Even the muslin has "wow" factor!
1/26/10 6:54 AM
MsMaryO said...
Absolutely beautiful!
1/26/10 8:02 AM
cindyann said...
My goodness, that is just lovely! You look gorgeous!
1/26/10 8:13 AM
Catbird said...
I have been in suspense since this drama began and I could hardly wait to see how it all turned out. This was worth the wait -- it's absolutely gorgeous!! You look tiny, elegant, happy and at ease on stage. You must have set a speed record on this project, and you proved you have nerves of steel. I am so impressed and I LOVE your favorite b&w picture. Excellent review, too. Wow.
1/26/10 8:30 AM
Kellie R. said...
This dress is breathtaking and you look stunning wearing it! What a perfect event in which to wear such a gown. I'm the attendees of the event had all eyes on YOU! Fabulous, just fabulous!
1/26/10 9:20 AM
Christas said...
Absolutely gorgeous!
1/26/10 9:33 AM
carolynw said...
Virginie this is over the top beautiful and it fits you like a dream. Beautiful and so elegant in every way. Loved your article in Threads!
1/26/10 9:35 AM
Sigrid. said...
Gorgeous dress, so well suited for the occasion. You look fabulous.
1/26/10 9:45 AM
colorkitten said...
Fantastic dress! And thanks for all the info on this pattern company, too.
1/26/10 9:50 AM
Sickofitcindy said...
The dress came out wonderfully and you look beautiful. Well done!
1/26/10 10:03 AM
ClioBklyn said...
WOW! Simply stunning! Great job.
1/26/10 10:22 AM
DaisyEsq said...
Stunning!
1/26/10 10:30 AM
Cowtown Karen said...
Utterly fantastic!
1/26/10 10:57 AM
Cowtown Karen said...
Utterly fantastic!
1/26/10 10:59 AM
Barbara V said...
What a masterpiece! Such a perfect beautiful dress for your singing event. Lovely work, great pictures; you look fabulous!
1/26/10 11:08 AM
SueV said...
wow! love it! great review
1/26/10 11:18 AM
ssssdeb said...
You did an awesome job and look absolutely stunning!
1/26/10 12:16 PM
ssssdeb said...
You did an awesome job and look absolutely stunning!
1/26/10 12:16 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Gorgeous!! Thanks so much for this review and your comments on EvaDress - I've got several of their patterns in my wishlist so it's great to hear good things aout them!
1/26/10 12:59 PM
Passion4Sewing said...
Stunning! I'm sure you turned some heads!
1/26/10 1:26 PM
Mahler said...
You simply look magnificent. Quelle robe madame, quelle robe! Perfect review. By chance Madeleine was there to save you. Your muslin is so nice, can't you dye it and wear it as a summer dress ;-) Quel travail de maitre ! I am so fully impressed.
1/26/10 2:10 PM
RLL said...
Absolutely beautiful. What dedication you had considering your time constraint. WOW....really beautiful.
1/26/10 2:36 PM
moushka said...
Between this incredible dress and your article in Threads, you're becoming a PR legend! Wonderful dress, terrific review. You're such an inspiration!
1/26/10 3:40 PM
DorothyK said...
Spectacular. Perfect for the event and perfect for you. It must have been such a thrill to wear it. I like your idea for the summer dress also.
1/26/10 5:41 PM
DorothyK said...
Spectacular. Perfect for the event and perfect for you. It must have been such a thrill to wear it. I like your idea for the summer dress also.
1/26/10 5:41 PM
nellc said...
You look gorgeous in your beautiful dress!
1/26/10 6:30 PM
SusiM said...
Just stunning!! This is a very special gown!
1/26/10 7:28 PM
Nancy K said...
Absolutely fabulous! You need to upgrade your experience; you are certainly more than intermediate!
1/26/10 8:27 PM
rozzybabe said...
I've wanted to sew a formal dress from the Eva Dress site for a long time, but have always been nervous just in case I picked something too detailed, or not a suitable style/silhouette. I've looked at this pattern before, & thank you so much for your comment that it's not as restrictive at the lower flounce. Your dress is absolutely stunning; your fabric choice couldn't have been better. A fabulous look & even more amazing sewing job. Thanks for all the tips! This will be my first "formal" style purchase from Eva dress. Congratulations on a successful evening; you looked elegant & beautiful!
1/26/10 8:44 PM
Karen6790 said...
Absolutely amazing - love the black and white photos because you and your fabulous dress look like old movie stills! Beautiful color on you as well.
1/26/10 9:27 PM
zazzie said...
Un mot: magnifique.
1/26/10 9:30 PM
amy in mpls said...
beautiful!! absolutely gorgeous! (now we want the you tube!)
1/26/10 9:58 PM
CynthiaSue said...
you are so inspiring Virginie! utterly gorgeous dress and gorgeous you!
1/26/10 11:01 PM
skae said...
I just ordered this patterns and plan on making a dress for my daughter. I just loved the detail and the dress. Its just stunning. Thanks
1/26/10 11:43 PM
Sewnla said...
Gorgeous. You looked right out of the 50's you must have wowed the audience. You are amazing to be able to sew like that and to be able to sing - what talent.
1/27/10 1:08 AM
ryan's mom said...
Beautiful!!!
1/27/10 6:16 AM
SamaraK. said...
wow! Wonderful!
1/27/10 4:50 PM
Lynn67 said...
WOW! I'm finishing up a dress and never heard of this place before or I would've checked it out. Your work is beautiful and you're stunning!
1/27/10 6:39 PM
TJSEWS said...
Unbelievably beautiful!
5/4/10 9:05 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Sew Simple 2011
photo
Review by CookMJ0531 on 12/9/13
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3637 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3637 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5890 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 5890 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Drafted from RTW self-drafted oven mitt
photo
Review by mistrydesi... on 12/13/06
Read Review

Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)
Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt
Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Easy Coat
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us