Online Sewing Class: Fit the Tee to a T
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 1819 (Sheila's Jacket)

2 more reviews
Viewed 996 times 
Reviewed by:Karen31
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karen31star
Member since: 1/25/09
Reviews: 3 (patterns: 3)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 5 people
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/17/10 9:39 PM
Last Updated:1/21/10 11:15 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Just Make it Sew


Quality Fashion Fabrics
Deals!

Home Sewing Depot


Home Dec Sewing Supplies
Deals!

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Lee Ann Hawkins said... (2/15/10 2:43 AM) Reply
Hi Karen, just now saw this! You are glam as always.
OP Gal said... (1/28/10 3:42 PM) Reply
Very pretty and stylish jacket. I love the fabric. Thanks for the informative review.
Donna Makowski said... (1/28/10 2:52 PM) Reply
Thanks - I just ordered the pattern!
DTBSBarb said... (1/28/10 1:58 PM) Reply
Hi Karen: Great review. I just got this pattern, so now I'm anxious to try it. This is your "old" SPIFFY fitting buddy, Barb.
Christas said... (1/21/10 10:25 PM) Reply
Love your fabric choice - very nice review!
PeppermintPam said... (1/21/10 9:29 PM) Reply
Thanks for the explanation. I think I will try this as I like a higher armscye on my jackets and blouses too. Great job!
Karen31 said... (1/21/10 2:30 PM) Reply
Peppermint Pam - re: raising the armscye - you also need to adjust the sleeve accordingly, i.e. when I raise an armsye from the notch points, on sleeve pattern beginning at same point I will redraw the cutting line, measuring point where sleeve meets side seam to ensure the highest points are same, and the sleeve now fits the redrafted armscye. Sometimes I do it freehand if the fabric's forgiving or a sweater or boucle type where there's a little flexibility, others use a french curve.
Carol Mendoza said... (1/21/10 1:41 PM) Reply
Very nice looking jacket!
PeppermintPam said... (1/21/10 12:08 PM) Reply
Nice jacket. I love the fabric you used. Since you raised the armscye 1 1/4 inches, how did you adjust the sleeve to fit? Thanks for reviewing this one.
Hilary said... (1/21/10 11:47 AM) Reply
Your jacket looks cute on you! Very nice!
becca a said... (1/18/10 6:52 PM) Reply
Great, stylish jacket. I've been curious about Silhouette patterns--nice to see one made up.
Aixoise said... (1/18/10 1:52 PM) Reply
Instant gratification works for me! Lovely jacket in a fabric that's just right for the style. You aced the fit - looks terrific on you.
CaroleM said... (1/18/10 9:00 AM) Reply
Thanks for the info, I'll be sure to try that pattern. Love the fabric you used.
EleanorSews said... (1/17/10 9:53 PM) Reply
Your jacket does have that high-end look to it. Quite nice. Thanks for the review.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

McCall's 6498

photo
by: misslydia

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2013-101

photo
by: mollymolly

Review
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Pattern Details