SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 1819 (Sheila's Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 934 times 
Reviewed by:Karen31
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karen31star
Member since: 1/25/09
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 3
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/17/10 9:39 PM
Last Updated:1/21/10 11:15 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EleanorSews said...
Your jacket does have that high-end look to it. Quite nice. Thanks for the review.
1/17/10 9:53 PM
CaroleM said...
Thanks for the info, I'll be sure to try that pattern. Love the fabric you used.
1/18/10 9:00 AM
Aixoise said...
Instant gratification works for me! Lovely jacket in a fabric that's just right for the style. You aced the fit - looks terrific on you.
1/18/10 1:52 PM
becca a said...
Great, stylish jacket. I've been curious about Silhouette patterns--nice to see one made up.
1/18/10 6:52 PM
Hilary said...
Your jacket looks cute on you! Very nice!
1/21/10 11:47 AM
PeppermintPam said...
Nice jacket. I love the fabric you used. Since you raised the armscye 1 1/4 inches, how did you adjust the sleeve to fit? Thanks for reviewing this one.
1/21/10 12:08 PM
Carol Mendoza said...
Very nice looking jacket!
1/21/10 1:41 PM
Karen31 said...
Peppermint Pam - re: raising the armscye - you also need to adjust the sleeve accordingly, i.e. when I raise an armsye from the notch points, on sleeve pattern beginning at same point I will redraw the cutting line, measuring point where sleeve meets side seam to ensure the highest points are same, and the sleeve now fits the redrafted armscye. Sometimes I do it freehand if the fabric's forgiving or a sweater or boucle type where there's a little flexibility, others use a french curve.
1/21/10 2:30 PM
PeppermintPam said...
Thanks for the explanation. I think I will try this as I like a higher armscye on my jackets and blouses too. Great job!
1/21/10 9:29 PM
Christas said...
Love your fabric choice - very nice review!
1/21/10 10:25 PM
DTBSBarb said...
Hi Karen: Great review. I just got this pattern, so now I'm anxious to try it. This is your "old" SPIFFY fitting buddy, Barb.
1/28/10 1:58 PM
Donna Makowski said...
Thanks - I just ordered the pattern!
1/28/10 2:52 PM
OP Gal said...
Very pretty and stylish jacket. I love the fabric. Thanks for the informative review.
1/28/10 3:42 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
Hi Karen, just now saw this! You are glam as always.
2/15/10 2:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2009-127

photo
by: Maree P

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now