SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 1819 (Sheila's Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 963 times 
Reviewed by:Karen31
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karen31star
Member since: 1/25/09
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 3
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/17/10 9:39 PM
Last Updated:1/21/10 11:15 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lee Ann Hawkins said... (2/15/10 2:43 AM) Reply
Hi Karen, just now saw this! You are glam as always.
OP Gal said... (1/28/10 3:42 PM) Reply
Very pretty and stylish jacket. I love the fabric. Thanks for the informative review.
Donna Makowski said... (1/28/10 2:52 PM) Reply
Thanks - I just ordered the pattern!
DTBSBarb said... (1/28/10 1:58 PM) Reply
Hi Karen: Great review. I just got this pattern, so now I'm anxious to try it. This is your "old" SPIFFY fitting buddy, Barb.
Christas said... (1/21/10 10:25 PM) Reply
Love your fabric choice - very nice review!
PeppermintPam said... (1/21/10 9:29 PM) Reply
Thanks for the explanation. I think I will try this as I like a higher armscye on my jackets and blouses too. Great job!
Karen31 said... (1/21/10 2:30 PM) Reply
Peppermint Pam - re: raising the armscye - you also need to adjust the sleeve accordingly, i.e. when I raise an armsye from the notch points, on sleeve pattern beginning at same point I will redraw the cutting line, measuring point where sleeve meets side seam to ensure the highest points are same, and the sleeve now fits the redrafted armscye. Sometimes I do it freehand if the fabric's forgiving or a sweater or boucle type where there's a little flexibility, others use a french curve.
Carol Mendoza said... (1/21/10 1:41 PM) Reply
Very nice looking jacket!
PeppermintPam said... (1/21/10 12:08 PM) Reply
Nice jacket. I love the fabric you used. Since you raised the armscye 1 1/4 inches, how did you adjust the sleeve to fit? Thanks for reviewing this one.
Hilary said... (1/21/10 11:47 AM) Reply
Your jacket looks cute on you! Very nice!
becca a said... (1/18/10 6:52 PM) Reply
Great, stylish jacket. I've been curious about Silhouette patterns--nice to see one made up.
Aixoise said... (1/18/10 1:52 PM) Reply
Instant gratification works for me! Lovely jacket in a fabric that's just right for the style. You aced the fit - looks terrific on you.
CaroleM said... (1/18/10 9:00 AM) Reply
Thanks for the info, I'll be sure to try that pattern. Love the fabric you used.
EleanorSews said... (1/17/10 9:53 PM) Reply
Your jacket does have that high-end look to it. Quite nice. Thanks for the review.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

StyleArc Steffi Jacket

photo
by: Polycotton

Review
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Pattern Details
Vogue Patterns 8280

photo
by: Missland1

Review