SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5008 (Oxford Pant)

8 more reviews
Viewed 4960 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 243
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 86 people
patterns reviewed: 224
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/8/04 10:34 PM
Last Updated:9/26/05 10:40 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
Very handsome, Lisa!
3/8/04 11:03 PM
SewTabby said...
Those are some really sharp pants!
3/8/04 11:19 PM
Georgene said...
Good looking pant! Modified version of what they call an "Oxford bag" pant, hence the name I guess. I'd be interested to see your results with the Euro front with zipper on this body.
3/8/04 11:25 PM
MaryBeth said...
Great review, Lisa. I like the pant and the fabric on you very much. Isn't it great to finally have a pants pattern that fits?
3/8/04 11:48 PM
Irene said...
Great looking pants, and a very helpful review! Is the waistband construction the same as for the Euros? I'm looking for a dressy/professional-looking pant that is also comfortable, and pockets are a must.
3/9/04 1:02 AM
Ann Smith said...
Boy you really are quick with this review! Great looking pants. I found the same problems with the pocket on LH Cruise pant: no notch to match and too small pocket piece.
3/9/04 1:23 AM
AnneM said...
Those look great on you.
3/9/04 4:11 AM
Liane M said...
WOW! Those look great. I saw this pattern in my new Threads but did not find it on Loes' website. I just ordered it. I can't wait to get this pattern.
3/9/04 4:47 AM
Rebecca D said...
Lisa, these pants look fantastic. I couldn't believe when PatternReview loaded up and this review was there. It is a record. Thank you so much for all the details you provided. For me, a deeper back crotch and shorter front crotch are exactly what I need. I am ordering this one.
3/9/04 5:48 AM
jlg said...
Lisa, your pants look fantastic on you. Great review.
3/9/04 5:56 AM
JDpenelope said...
Do you get extra points for speed? Appears that you've got it all figured out when it comes to pants fitting issues! Pants look great on.
3/9/04 6:44 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Wow! Thanks for the comments, ladies! Irene, the elastic is sewn into a circle, sewn to the wrong side of the waist band, turned and topstitched...just like the Euros.
3/9/04 7:00 AM
mClones said...
Sharp looking pants! Great fit.
3/9/04 8:33 AM
Diane E said...
Lisa, these are fantastic pants! I'm delighted to hear about the crotch shape, because just as Rebecca said, that'll be great for me, too! Thanks for the detailed and fast review, and thanks for making me buy ANOTHER pattern ;)
3/9/04 8:56 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Very nice pants, Lisa! The fit looks terriffic!
3/9/04 9:00 AM
Peggy L said...
Lisa - these look great. Aren't you the trend setter - and I just got the Euros last week! I'm really impressed with the waist- they don't even look like elastic waist pants in the photo.
3/9/04 10:02 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Peggy -- that's probably because I don't have a skinny waist like the model... not so much fabric gathered up to fit my middle. ;)
3/9/04 10:35 AM
cindyann said...
Very nice looking pants. They look bettern than the pattern pics!
3/9/04 10:54 AM
AuntieShel said...
Lisa, I wondered how you got these sewed up and reviewed so fast. I just saw them in Threads for the first time three days ago. Good job!! Your review is wonderful and your pants look great. Just wondered if you've made the Cruise Pant and how they compare, if you did. I may end up getting this one, I love the wider leg.
3/9/04 12:47 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Franatic, I don't have the Cruise Pants (yes! There is a pattern I do not own! ;) ). This really is a departure from the norm for me...usually when a new pattern is issued I wait for the reviews to come out and waffle back and forth, putting in the shopping cart three or four times before I finally order it. When I saw this one I thought "Euros with pockets!" and ordered it quick, before I thought about it. What amazed me was how fast it got to me (the much lauded Sewing Place service... ;) ). I doubt I'll get another review posted this fast!
3/9/04 1:20 PM
Deepika said...
Very nice pants Lisa and congratulations on sewing the pants in record time.
3/9/04 2:46 PM
Ann C said...
Very nice pants.
3/9/04 7:56 PM
AuntieShel said...
Lisa, thanks for your reply--I like the way your described the back crotch scoop on these, so I guess I'll just have to get it. I know what you mean about "one you don't own." If I get rid of a pattern, five more take its place.
3/9/04 8:18 PM
CatherineN said...
Thanks for reviewing a new pattern so quickly. These pants look very nice on you.
3/10/04 12:32 PM
sewywabbit said...
Wh-hat? Loes Hinse has a new pattern? Where have I been? Your pants are very flattering.
3/10/04 12:43 PM
kathi s said...
Thanks for your update! It helps to see what sorts of difficulties others are experiencing in the quest for the holy grail- er, fit (sorry).
6/1/04 8:48 AM
Bonnie K said...
Lisa, Did you have any problems with the pockets "bulging" out. I'm curious as to how Loes handles this problem. If there is no pooch I may have to get this pattern. Bonnie
6/1/04 10:35 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Bonnie, the pockets really don't 'pouch' -- Loes trims away the excess pocket under the waistband and in both pairs I used lighter weight fabric for the pocket lining (challis in pair one, lining fabric in pair two) so the bulk is minimal. Since I was overly aggressive in the scooping and my second pants are rather, um, slim fitting, I can't put anything really bulky in the pockets. My fault...I should've added to the inseam! Live and learn...
6/1/04 10:45 PM
Elona said...
Cute pants, cute top, cute summer hairdo! Whaddya think of the rear view on these pants, Lisa? Is it more Big Four or European, in your opinion?
7/16/04 7:49 PM
Rebecca D said...
Lisa, the latest pair with the flares are fantastic! I have to get this patttern out and do it (which is what I've been saying for 3 months now).
7/17/04 6:18 AM
Rustybobn said...
Lisa, Those pants are great!
7/17/04 7:03 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Gee, Elona, I'm like someone who is asked about differences in different wine vintages; I'd like to elaborate on the subtle differences of the crotch curves, but to be honest I really can't see that much difference; I have to do about the same thing to all the pants I make, regardless of whether it's American or European. I suppose if I pulled them out and compared them closely side-by-side I might figure out what the difference is, but I've just not ever done it. So, I have to plead an 'uneducated palate' on that one...sorry not to be a better help here...
7/17/04 9:18 PM
JDpenelope said...
Lisa, Unfortunately your photos aren't showing up, but your review is very interesting to me, as I'm on toot to make skirts and pants with elasticized waist in a flattering style. I read your description about modifying the pattern from straight leg to tapered inward and then flared out at the bottom. My thoughts exactly as I was reading through your review! Thanks for sharing your experiences with this pattern.
2/6/05 1:27 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Same old Photoworks glitch; they're reformatting all the photos and until they're finished I don't even have access tio the pictures! It was supposed to be done by January...but they're not even close... I'll fix the links as soon as I can!
2/6/05 5:17 PM
Liane M said...
Great idea and another great review. These are my favorite two pants patterns. I guess I need to get busy and try this.
9/27/05 5:24 AM
sophie5477 said...
Loved the pants on you. I keep hearing about the Euro pant....is it a pattern or just a style?
9/29/05 2:51 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Sophie, the European Pants pattern is another one of Loes Hinse's designs...one of her more popular ones! Here's a link to the reviews: European Reveiws
9/29/05 8:26 PM
velma42 said...
Thanks for the hint on the pockets.
12/2/13 2:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 4450

photo
by: roadtotheh...

Review
You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Buy Now
Burda 7372

photo
by: JanineMck

Review