SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 425 (Craig's Blouse)

2 more reviews
Viewed 594 times 
Reviewed by:JudyP
photo

 
 
About JudyPstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 7/15/05
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/29/10 9:05 AM
Last Updated:1/30/10 1:19 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Red Curtain said...
I think your shirt looks really nice on you and it is very well made. Nice job. Your comments about the adjustments and muslin are helpful too. I think it works for you too, even though you are not sure. A colorful short necklace would really do it justice!
1/29/10 10:33 AM
katlew03 said...
Great looking shirt. Good fit.
1/29/10 11:40 AM
sewtime said...
Great blouse!!
1/29/10 2:59 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Looks very nice on you... I love a white blouse and you do have it fitting perfect.
1/29/10 5:14 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Oh goodness, I think your blouse looks great on you, especially the gathers. I was so surprised to read your rating after seeing the photo.
1/29/10 5:58 PM
aunt saidee said...
Thanks for the tips about the silk twill--it sounds divine. Would you wear this with a jacket or alone? I think it looks fine, too; maybe you have my disease of being overly-critical of one's self. LOL I am loooking forward to trying these patterns with cup-adjusted pattern pieces--what a godsend!
1/30/10 2:45 AM
chelsy21 said...
Thanks for the good review! I have this pattern in my stash waiting for time to sew it. I guess I need to find a soft fabric for it. However, I do like yours. Sometimes we have to get used to a garment, I think.
1/30/10 8:04 AM
OP Gal said...
I hope you learn to love that blouse because it looks great on you and fits perfectly. Thanks for the review.
1/30/10 9:16 AM
JudyP said...
Thanks everyone, I think I should change my pattern rating after all of your nice comments! I wear this blouse with jeans. I am trying to wear nicer clothes for everyday and not save everything for an occasion. My kids are past the age where if you just look at them they smear something on you, so the only one who spills and stains on me is me!
1/30/10 1:19 PM
Aunt Gail said...
Good review with all sorts of great hints and observations. TY for telling us about your experience. I am a D+ cup and must admit I agree with you--that a few extra gather RIGHT where we both don't need the emphasis is prolly not a good idea. I had been looking @ this pattern but I think I'll take a pass--you look fine in it--but I think I would just BLOSSOM out all over--and it is NOT Spring time in Oregon yet!
1/30/10 6:19 PM
Sherril Miller said...
When I looked at the line drawing of this blouse, it looks like the gathers should be under the bust, which is a weird place for them. I like them higher over the bust, where the gathers are actually serving a purpose. How do you plan to wash the silk twill?
1/30/10 6:38 PM
JudyP said...
I pre-washed and dried the silk twill in the machine and I will wash the blouse in the machine on gentle and then hang to dry.
1/31/10 8:53 AM
Kellie R. said...
This is a lovely blouse. I think the gathers are pretty so don't think twice about them! You look fabulous in your pretty new blouse!
1/31/10 6:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 8593

photo
by: Nan Kay

Review
Vogue Patterns 8795

photo
by: JillyBe

Review
Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

Buy Now