SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Au Bonheur des Petites Mains> VL000001 (Bonheur Raincoat)

Viewed 403 times 
Reviewed by:sfshaza
photo

 
 
About sfshazastar
CA USA
Member since: 9/12/07
Reviews written: 159
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 89 people
patterns reviewed: 159
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/20/10 1:35 AM
Last Updated:1/20/10 1:42 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vibekeinyork said...
Amazing! What a showstopper.
1/20/10 2:43 AM
Lilibet said...
Absolutely stunning. I love it.
1/20/10 3:29 AM
lizpalmer said...
This is fabulous - it looks amazing, and what a beuatiful job you made of it, despite the French etc! Thank you for pointing out this pattern company. I love their patterns, and it's so good to see something a bit different and exciting. I look forward, as always, to seeing your future creations.
1/20/10 4:07 AM
FreyaStark said...
Very snazzy. Looks like it would have been quite a complex pattern to make even with decent instructions, so good on you for pulling it off. I've just bought two of their patterns and I'm looking forward to trying them. Fortunately at least one of them will be easier than this one.
1/20/10 4:37 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Wonderful color combo and great details that you executed so beautifully. Thanks for showing us this unique coat pattern.
1/20/10 6:10 AM
Rebecca D said...
I admire your perseverance - wow. This coat turned out beautifully and I can't wait to see a picture of you wearing it.
1/20/10 6:24 AM
thirteenstitches said...
Extremely impressive! I love it! I don't see me ever having what it takes to complete a coat like this. Wear it with pride : )
1/20/10 7:47 AM
Nancy K said...
Great coat! An impressive job without instructions for such an intricate garment.
1/20/10 8:17 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Cool, cool way cool look!
1/20/10 8:38 AM
Patti B said...
Gosh, you do love a challenge, don't you? |grin| This is just a stunner. Love your verve!
1/20/10 10:06 AM
DorothyK said...
This coat is too fantastic for words. I'm in awe that you tackled a pattern so difficult - in a foreign language, no less - and on which you even improvised. I love the pattern, the fabric, the color, the details - everything. Congratulations on this masterpiece. I want it!!!
1/20/10 10:41 AM
sewing for fun said...
WOW! What a great raincoat - such beautiful colors and fantastic details! It looks wonderful AND functional. Where did you get that great fabric?!
1/20/10 10:53 AM
Elona said...
What a striking and delightful coat! Good work.
1/20/10 11:06 AM
Ann Smith said...
You are incredible. This looks tricky even with instructions. Fantastic job with a perfect, though difficult, fabric. Love it.
1/20/10 11:59 AM
sfshaza said...
Thanks, everyone. Sewing4Fun, I got the fabric at a local discount fabric store called FabriX. Dorothy, this coat is way too big for you. ;)
1/20/10 12:51 PM
dingyadi said...
Wow! I can see how much work and skill has gone into this. Amazing! Love that pattern company too, thank you for drawing it to peoples' attention
1/20/10 1:16 PM
digs57 said...
My applause for producing a garment that's FAR more interesting looking (thanks to its colour scheme, good choice there) than the wishy-washy pattern photo. It looks like you levelled up both front and back hems, is that so?
1/20/10 3:43 PM
sfshaza said...
Thanks, diggs. I left the back hem as-is. I shortened the front hem to look more like the technical drawing. I shortened it maybe 4" at CF, tapered to nothing at the side seams. (That's approximate as I didn't measure it.)
1/20/10 5:52 PM
Karendee said...
You have done an AMAZING job on this coat, Shams!!! Your work is just so creative and clever.
1/20/10 5:57 PM
sfshaza said...
Deleting repeated comment.
1/20/10 6:16 PM
Sewlovelier said...
Wow, this is just fabulous. Your attention to detail amazing.
1/20/10 6:54 PM
sfshaza said...
I hate it when I do a refresh and it repeats my comment. :)
1/20/10 6:54 PM
beth5646 said...
Your coat is gorgeous. I love it. I just ordered the pattern and can't wait to get it. Thank you for the instructions on your blog--I will make good use of them.
1/20/10 10:23 PM
betty bushwacker said...
un-bloomin'-believable. I love it!!
1/21/10 8:54 AM
waltzqueen said...
What a FUN and fabulous Imperméable!! I love the red with the grey, and I'm wild about the sleeve gussets and pockets!! What a magnificent job you did with such a complicated pattern. Well done!!
1/21/10 4:15 PM
Barbara V said...
Incredible job on this amazing pattern. Your choice of fabric and color plus your attention to detail (without instructions) make your one-of-a-kind jacket a knockout!
1/22/10 9:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

McCall's 7321

photo
by: sewnaomi

Review
Sis Boom Jamie Dress

photo
by: Jeremmy

Review
Jackets for Real People DVD

Jackets for Real People DVD

Buy Now
SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

Buy Now