Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Au Bonheur des Petites Mains: VL000001 (Bonheur Raincoat) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 401 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:sfshaza
photo
About sfshazastar
CA USA
Member since: 9/12/07
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 85 people
patterns reviewed: 156
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/20/10 1:35 AM
Last Updated:1/20/10 1:42 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vibekeinyork said...
Amazing! What a showstopper.
1/20/10 2:43 AM
Lilibet said...
Absolutely stunning. I love it.
1/20/10 3:29 AM
lizpalmer said...
This is fabulous - it looks amazing, and what a beuatiful job you made of it, despite the French etc! Thank you for pointing out this pattern company. I love their patterns, and it's so good to see something a bit different and exciting. I look forward, as always, to seeing your future creations.
1/20/10 4:07 AM
FreyaStark said...
Very snazzy. Looks like it would have been quite a complex pattern to make even with decent instructions, so good on you for pulling it off. I've just bought two of their patterns and I'm looking forward to trying them. Fortunately at least one of them will be easier than this one.
1/20/10 4:37 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Wonderful color combo and great details that you executed so beautifully. Thanks for showing us this unique coat pattern.
1/20/10 6:10 AM
Rebecca D said...
I admire your perseverance - wow. This coat turned out beautifully and I can't wait to see a picture of you wearing it.
1/20/10 6:24 AM
thirteenstitches said...
Extremely impressive! I love it! I don't see me ever having what it takes to complete a coat like this. Wear it with pride : )
1/20/10 7:47 AM
Nancy K said...
Great coat! An impressive job without instructions for such an intricate garment.
1/20/10 8:17 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Cool, cool way cool look!
1/20/10 8:38 AM
Patti B said...
Gosh, you do love a challenge, don't you? |grin| This is just a stunner. Love your verve!
1/20/10 10:06 AM
DorothyK said...
This coat is too fantastic for words. I'm in awe that you tackled a pattern so difficult - in a foreign language, no less - and on which you even improvised. I love the pattern, the fabric, the color, the details - everything. Congratulations on this masterpiece. I want it!!!
1/20/10 10:41 AM
sewing for fun said...
WOW! What a great raincoat - such beautiful colors and fantastic details! It looks wonderful AND functional. Where did you get that great fabric?!
1/20/10 10:53 AM
Elona said...
What a striking and delightful coat! Good work.
1/20/10 11:06 AM
Ann Smith said...
You are incredible. This looks tricky even with instructions. Fantastic job with a perfect, though difficult, fabric. Love it.
1/20/10 11:59 AM
sfshaza said...
Thanks, everyone. Sewing4Fun, I got the fabric at a local discount fabric store called FabriX. Dorothy, this coat is way too big for you. ;)
1/20/10 12:51 PM
dingyadi said...
Wow! I can see how much work and skill has gone into this. Amazing! Love that pattern company too, thank you for drawing it to peoples' attention
1/20/10 1:16 PM
digs57 said...
My applause for producing a garment that's FAR more interesting looking (thanks to its colour scheme, good choice there) than the wishy-washy pattern photo. It looks like you levelled up both front and back hems, is that so?
1/20/10 3:43 PM
sfshaza said...
Thanks, diggs. I left the back hem as-is. I shortened the front hem to look more like the technical drawing. I shortened it maybe 4" at CF, tapered to nothing at the side seams. (That's approximate as I didn't measure it.)
1/20/10 5:52 PM
Karendee said...
You have done an AMAZING job on this coat, Shams!!! Your work is just so creative and clever.
1/20/10 5:57 PM
sfshaza said...
Deleting repeated comment.
1/20/10 6:16 PM
Sewlovelier said...
Wow, this is just fabulous. Your attention to detail amazing.
1/20/10 6:54 PM
sfshaza said...
I hate it when I do a refresh and it repeats my comment. :)
1/20/10 6:54 PM
beth5646 said...
Your coat is gorgeous. I love it. I just ordered the pattern and can't wait to get it. Thank you for the instructions on your blog--I will make good use of them.
1/20/10 10:23 PM
betty bushwacker said...
un-bloomin'-believable. I love it!!
1/21/10 8:54 AM
waltzqueen said...
What a FUN and fabulous Imperméable!! I love the red with the grey, and I'm wild about the sleeve gussets and pockets!! What a magnificent job you did with such a complicated pattern. Well done!!
1/21/10 4:15 PM
Barbara V said...
Incredible job on this amazing pattern. Your choice of fabric and color plus your attention to detail (without instructions) make your one-of-a-kind jacket a knockout!
1/22/10 9:11 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

McCall's 4767 Girl's Dress
photo
Review by nesca on 8/26/09
Read Review

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3738 Jackets
photo
Review by Seamingly ... on 5/9/10
Read Review

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops
Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6849 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6849 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Loes Hinse Wrap Skirt
Loes Hinse Wrap Skirt

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us