SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8620 (JACKET)

11 more reviews
Viewed 1043 times 
Reviewed by:sew2little
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About sew2littlestar
CA USA
Member since: 1/12/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/22/10 7:33 PM
Last Updated:1/30/10 7:05 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
DaisyEsq said...
Thank you for a great review. Your jacket looks wonderful.
1/22/10 7:44 PM
Sew4Fun said...
I was thinking this pattern would be boxy but on you it looks very shapely. Thanks for taking the time to include a photo on you. It's helpful, as was your review.
1/22/10 8:29 PM
Fashions said...
Absolutely LOVE it! Love the collar and I actually like the sleeve length too. I had my eye on that pattern for a while now. If I decide to make it I probably won't lengthen the sleeves.
1/22/10 9:51 PM
Patti B said...
Oh, I like it! And of course you need another jacket in this style. It looks as if it will be great with pants or a pencil skirt (your favorite -- not).
1/22/10 10:07 PM
moushka said...
Great looking jacket, very flattering. Thanks for a thoughtful review.
1/22/10 10:29 PM
Fictionfan said...
Excellent review, thanks! Looks great on you, better than I thought the pattern could look. Great collar for you, flattering jacket. Very Nice!
1/22/10 10:38 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Thanks for the review. You have certainly paved the way for the rest of us to make successful jackets.
1/22/10 10:40 PM
Michelle99 said...
Great jacket. I didn't look twice at this pattern, but now I might. Is the zipper uncomfortable around your chin when it's zipped up? Or would you just not wear it zipped all the way?
1/23/10 4:08 AM
Rebecca D said...
Your jacket is fantastic, thanks for such a helpful review, especially as regards sizing which is often a challenge with Marcy Tilton patterns. You should totally make this jacket again with the graffiti pattern and orange zipper. As for styling, I think it looks great with your jeans and I wonder if you could wear it over a simple shift/sheath dress.
1/23/10 8:11 AM
lmg said...
Oh thanks for the review. I have this cut out and with your info I think I will cut it down a size. Lovely jacket.
1/23/10 12:42 PM
sew2little said...
Thanks, everyone! Michelle99--the zipper stands away from the body when it's all zipped up like a giant turtleneck, so the zipper isn't a problem, but it's probably not a look I'd wear. When I zip it up a bit more, it looks fine.
1/23/10 2:28 PM
lamstu said...
Very cute and wearable muslin! I am still on the fence about this jacket. Thanks in particular for mentioning your experience of trying to pair it with a skirt.
1/23/10 10:40 PM
Jane S said...
WOw, I love how this turned out. You look so chic in this jacket. I've been wondering about getting this pattern but it's so wearable but cool, too. bravo!
1/24/10 1:52 AM
Kay Y said...
Your jacket looks fabulous on you - casual but surprisingly shapely, and lovely neckline. I hadn't considered this pattern at all but now ... hmmm.
1/24/10 2:33 PM
crazygrad said...
That jacket rocks the casbah! I really love the Clash!
1/30/10 7:20 PM
Barbara V said...
Marci, Both of your jackets are fabulous. One being denim and the other an artsy print lends to a feel of completely different jacket styles. Your fine tuning the fit and proportions make them look just right for you. Nice work and very helpful review!
1/30/10 7:41 PM
kkkkaty said...
oh, gosh, I love it....
1/30/10 8:09 PM
digs57 said...
That looks like the perfect jacket for warmer weather. The open neckline is very flattering. It looks fabulous in that fabric.
1/31/10 8:04 AM
carolynw said...
gorgeous - your jacket is so eye catching in the nicest way. great review
1/31/10 9:38 AM
Rebecca D said...
Love it in the latest fabric - just stunning!
1/31/10 9:51 AM
DorothyK said...
Fantastic jacket, and of course I love the fabric. Next time I should ask you to shop for me.
2/1/10 0:45 AM
marjenann said...
Striking jacket!! Love what you did with this fabric!!
2/2/10 7:42 AM
Patti B said...
Gosh, I hadn't seen version 2! Nice!
3/2/10 7:36 PM
Modiste Madness said...
I love your version with such unique fabric. I looks great.
5/31/10 8:20 AM
Michele W said...
I adore this fabric! Your jacket looks fabulous on you.
4/6/11 6:02 PM
marec said...
Wonderful jacket-I love that grafitti print.
10/28/11 8:57 PM
MNBarb said...
I'm stalking your pattern reviews to get ideas. This jacket is so originally wonderful. I love how the right fabric can make a pattern go from so-so to terrific. You have a good eye for what will bring a garment to the "next level".
2/17/12 7:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Made By Rae Washi Dress

photo
by: meleliza

Review
Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now
8 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 inch Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now