Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1128 (MISSES' COAT, TOP AND PANTS) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 720 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:dingyadi
photo
Friend of PR
About dingyadistar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 5/18/07
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 29 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/24/10 3:28 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous top !!! Your excellent review has successfuly enabled me :)
1/24/10 7:13 AM
lamstu said...
This looks great on you. I'd never have looked twice at this pattern until I saw your version.
1/24/10 8:40 AM
Wino said...
Very cute-love your fabric choice. Thanks for the heads-up on the facing issues.
1/24/10 9:46 AM
ALY said...
Very cute top. I especially love the snake print fabric you used. In drafting the facing, Vogue may have assumed the neck line pleats would not release(open up) until they were below the bottom edge of the facing. Depending on the shape of the person wearing the top(high bust or larger than B cup), they may open up closer to the neckline and the facing was not large enough at the bottom edge to match the amount of fabric released from the pleats. Your fix was appropriate for the problem and worked great.
1/24/10 9:50 AM
Heatherrique said...
Very stylish top! The pleated neckline looks superb on you. Thanks for your neckline facing adjustment for non-knits.
1/24/10 2:21 PM
Longarm said...
That is such a beutiful top! And it fits you very nicely. Love the fabric. I have never worked with silk charmeuse but this makes me thing it is time to try!
1/27/10 5:27 PM
Patricia Schoeman said...
Great review - good point on the fabric type
1/27/10 7:58 PM
Tailypo said...
This pattern is next on my what-to-sew pile. Thanks for the helpful review! I'll keep an eye on that facing.
1/28/10 11:14 PM
kiwilass said...
You've done a great job on this top. I have just finished mocking up a muslin in a knit and found I had the same problem with the facing riding up. When I make another -and I will because this top is cute and flattering- I'll be sure to make the facing adjustments you've recommended. Thanks
4/16/10 6:06 AM
cleverkitty said...
Wish I read your review first, the facing was terrible and I made it from a jersey, did not lay flat at all. Also this top looks better in a plain print or solid, I used a busy flower print and the tucks hardly showed up. I would bind it next time for sure. Your top is beautiful and makes me want to sew it again...
6/1/10 7:07 PM
Re Becca said...
Thanks for the heads up, I just cut this out of silk charmeuse, and thought the facings looked really bizzare wide! I will see if I can't work out a binding instead of those hinky facings.
1/30/11 8:56 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

McCall's 5510 pjs for girls
photo
Review by chunter on 7/20/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sassy Bag
Sassy Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-5 )
Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at home)
Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at home)

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used Kitchen curtains
photo
Review by sewsunny37 on 9/20/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2165 Pattern ( Size ALL )
Simplicity 2165 Pattern ( Size ALL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8727 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8727 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us