SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1128 (MISSES' COAT, TOP AND PANTS)

4 more reviews
Viewed 726 times 
Reviewed by:dingyadi
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About dingyadistar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 5/18/07
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 29 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/24/10 3:28 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous top !!! Your excellent review has successfuly enabled me :)
1/24/10 7:13 AM
lamstu said...
This looks great on you. I'd never have looked twice at this pattern until I saw your version.
1/24/10 8:40 AM
Wino said...
Very cute-love your fabric choice. Thanks for the heads-up on the facing issues.
1/24/10 9:46 AM
ALY said...
Very cute top. I especially love the snake print fabric you used. In drafting the facing, Vogue may have assumed the neck line pleats would not release(open up) until they were below the bottom edge of the facing. Depending on the shape of the person wearing the top(high bust or larger than B cup), they may open up closer to the neckline and the facing was not large enough at the bottom edge to match the amount of fabric released from the pleats. Your fix was appropriate for the problem and worked great.
1/24/10 9:50 AM
Heatherrique said...
Very stylish top! The pleated neckline looks superb on you. Thanks for your neckline facing adjustment for non-knits.
1/24/10 2:21 PM
Longarm said...
That is such a beutiful top! And it fits you very nicely. Love the fabric. I have never worked with silk charmeuse but this makes me thing it is time to try!
1/27/10 5:27 PM
Patricia Schoeman said...
Great review - good point on the fabric type
1/27/10 7:58 PM
Tailypo said...
This pattern is next on my what-to-sew pile. Thanks for the helpful review! I'll keep an eye on that facing.
1/28/10 11:14 PM
kiwilass said...
You've done a great job on this top. I have just finished mocking up a muslin in a knit and found I had the same problem with the facing riding up. When I make another -and I will because this top is cute and flattering- I'll be sure to make the facing adjustments you've recommended. Thanks
4/16/10 6:06 AM
cleverkitty said...
Wish I read your review first, the facing was terrible and I made it from a jersey, did not lay flat at all. Also this top looks better in a plain print or solid, I used a busy flower print and the tucks hardly showed up. I would bind it next time for sure. Your top is beautiful and makes me want to sew it again...
6/1/10 7:07 PM
Re Becca said...
Thanks for the heads up, I just cut this out of silk charmeuse, and thought the facings looked really bizzare wide! I will see if I can't work out a binding instead of those hinky facings.
1/30/11 8:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

McCall's 4236

photo
by: Miss Jasmi...

Review

Pattern

Vogue Patterns 1323

photo
by: GoodbyeVal...

Review
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Buy Now