SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> AB041LI (The Liverpool)

19 more reviews
Viewed 1102 times 
Reviewed by:donna mel
photo

 
 
About donna melstar
MA USA
Member since: 3/7/08
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/24/10 2:33 PM
Last Updated:8/5/10 6:15 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peggy said...
This is such a sharp tunic. Love your fabric. Thanks for your review.
1/24/10 3:05 PM
kacy22 said...
Beautiful! I made this tunic (haven't done a review) and found the same "issues" you did. I love your fabric choice. Great job!
1/24/10 3:22 PM
busymomof3 said...
I love this on you!! I have been trying decide on this pattern but think it's a go now! I like the back on the fold, no design break-up :)
1/24/10 3:53 PM
busymomof3 said...
oops, double posted.
1/24/10 3:53 PM
ClaireF in CA said...
Beautiful tunic, and it fits you so well! I haven't tried any of Amy's clothing either, so thank you so much for this review! Strange that she left out all of those picture views!
1/24/10 8:19 PM
crazygrad said...
groovin', on a sunday afternoon... like it!
1/24/10 8:57 PM
Birgitte said...
You look fantastic in this, I love it. And..."Dear AMY, please give us your bright and fabulous designs in something more than heavy weight cottons." lol I'm so with you, that would be awesome!
1/24/10 9:37 PM
ColorMeHome said...
Thank you so much for your review. You look terrific in your tunic! I have this pattern but have been hesitant to make it because of the sizing. I think I might give it a try now.
1/25/10 0:09 AM
lamstu said...
Love the tunic. You certainly succeeded in your quest for color! (I am in that boat with you.)
1/25/10 6:39 AM
CCQ said...
Looks great on you! I have the pattern and am about ready to cut. Ditto on the Amy Butler heavy cotton!
1/25/10 11:11 AM
JodieT said...
Thank you for your review. I have been hesitant to buy this pattern, but have been so drawn to it. I made her Cabo Halter and was not pleased with it. It needed a lot of altering. It was too short waisted for me, big at the bottom and too tight in the boobs. I am going to try again. I really like the back without the center back seam. It seems to me a lot of independent designers break up patterns a lot with center seam when there really is not need.
1/29/10 3:25 PM
RobinMCPA said...
I love your tunic!! It really looks great on you. I also like that you cut the back on the fold - I will do this too when I make this pattern. No pattern breakup and will also give me a little extra room in the back. Great review!
2/2/10 4:55 PM
PippaM said...
You can see some good pictures on pink chalk studio's blog (especially the sleeve with button).
2/15/10 11:02 PM
donna mel said...
PippaM, thanks for the blog info...i searched hi and low and couldn't find the photos, tho.
2/16/10 7:18 AM
busymomof3 said...
I found the link http://pinkchalkstudio.com/blog/2009/11/13/review-amy-butler-the-liverpool-sewing-pattern/ . Also, I'm getting ready to make this top so I emailed Debbie on the AB site and asked for a drawing or directions on the sleeve cuff. She sent me both immediately.
2/24/10 11:14 AM
donna mel said...
Thanks for sending that link! her photo really does help.
2/25/10 7:15 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous blouse! Thanks also for the helpful review. I like this pattern but without a line drawing I had no idea about the details and I won't purchase a pattern unless I know what I'm getting.
3/24/10 6:10 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Sorry triple post. I'm having issues with the new comment format.
3/24/10 6:11 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Yeah silly me again. See above. :)
3/24/10 6:12 PM
kimmieal said...
great fabric choice, and lots of good tips on how the pattern was tweaked to suit her! thanks!
4/2/10 2:17 AM
ryansmumAria said...
wow! I absolutely love how that top looks on you. I want one now!
8/6/10 0:03 AM
JessB said...
awesome! Well done - it looks gorgeous. I want one too!!!
8/6/10 0:32 AM
MNBarb said...
I think tunics are a great look for you. It looks so good with the wider cropped pants. I really like the fitted style on you, very flattering!
8/9/10 10:19 PM
koolchicken said...
The top looks great, I think you did a really nice job. If you're looking for additional photos Amy Butlers site has them. Just look under the insperation tab, it shows the backside. I like to look there before I begin her patterns and save the photos to look at while sewing.
12/14/10 9:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2011-105

photo
by: CissieW

Review
Simplicity 2219

photo
by: aleah42

Review
Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Buy Now
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Buy Now