SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 6844 (Cassock - Matrix Coat Style)

1 more reviews
Viewed 4712 times 
Reviewed by:SewEccentric
photo

 
 
About SewEccentricstar
TX USA
Member since: 5/13/03
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/10/04 1:11 AM
Last Updated:6/9/05 10:50 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Judy Williment said...
I would never have guessed from the pattern picture that you'd get that type of skirt - looks fantastic!
3/10/04 3:38 AM
JDpenelope said...
Just *who" is that modelling your coat? Who took the photo? You are one talented--and adventurous--seamstress.
3/10/04 6:45 AM
Linda E. said...
my daughter would love this coat she is into the coat from matrix. beautiful coat who is the interesting model.
3/10/04 6:51 AM
kathi s said...
Wow!
3/10/04 7:20 AM
Mary Reed said...
Fabulous coat! On the wool blend version yoiu made, what type of wool fabric was it - also a twill? And the fiber content of your favorite version? It is truly a fabulous costume, I have always passed up the "religious" wear section of the costume books. Now I see what I have been missing.
3/10/04 8:47 AM
MaryBeth said...
HeHeHeHe! I'm giggling and squirming with delight at this review and the fabric anaylsis. More! More!
3/10/04 9:42 AM
SewEccentric said...
Wow, thanks everyone! That's actually my husband modelling (everyone in my family is subjected to this). I kept making him spin to get the flair. Then he whined he was getting dizzy so I told him to spin the other way :P You should see him model my Superman costume, it's funny! I take the pics with my digital camera and just edit out the backgrounds in Photoshop.
3/10/04 10:34 AM
cindyann said...
Wow! Great coat, excellent picture! Looks fabulous.
3/10/04 4:12 PM
SewingSusan said...
I am so impressed!! Fantastic coat...hubba hubba regarding the model.
3/11/04 6:50 AM
Annette H said...
Fashion magazine stuff!
3/11/04 6:08 PM
Ann C said...
AWESOME.
3/11/04 8:05 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Looks great - too funny on how you obtained such a cool photo.
6/10/04 10:24 AM
KTC said...
Devantier is right: I was pretty much a beginner when I started, and this pattern was a BAPTISM BY FIRE! Plus, I imitated the cover and used black vinyl! For some reason, I just couldn't get it to fit my 10-year-old son. Another Butterick (BOYS") pattern worked fine for my 6-y-o son in a size 5; however, this NEO pattern was unisex. The size 12 should have fit my older son, but it didn't. I suspect that it's sized for GIRLS, because the A view (the primary view) is a gown. Tne Neo option is view B. I did OK with their lining instructions. The sleeve finishing could have been clearer, though.
11/18/04 9:19 AM
KTC said...
Devantier, you need to re-post the project photo! I want to see how the coat looks when it's done well!
11/18/04 9:22 AM
SewEccentric said...
sorry for the delays - I finally updated the photo link. And um, and the guy modeling is not my husband now *LOL*.
6/9/05 11:36 PM
ngakmafaery said...
I do enjoy the photo, all husband politics aside! I think I have the pattern around, and will take another look at it...hmm, got to be some fantastic fabric I can use around here somewhere...
9/17/06 7:20 PM
Lynza said...
Any chance someone who's done this can give me some pointers? I foolishly chose this as my first pattern project since I was a teenager.
9/20/06 8:49 PM
Ulfilas said...
I want to make a cassock for myself and I've never made anything from a pattern.. always been my Mum that made things for me. I saw a simplicity pattern.. maybe that would be a better option for a noob?
8/15/08 6:11 AM
Chrypffs said...
I have recently purchased this pattern! I was debating what fabric to use. After reading the review, I think I've narrowed it down to poplin or twill...any suggestions?
9/14/08 9:36 PM
Miss Lola said...
I made the rode for an Evangelist, in a white polyester (owner purchased the fabric), the instructions were easy to follow, i did not line the upper torso (just too hot here so. fla), but I too would suggest using a twill or a bottom weight cotton.
5/19/09 10:46 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Kwik Sew 6184

photo
by: HOWsMom

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Paper Pattern

Buy Now