SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 6844 (Cassock - Matrix Coat Style)

1 more reviews
Viewed 4718 times 
Reviewed by:SewEccentric
photo

 
 
About SewEccentricstar
TX USA
Member since: 5/13/03
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/10/04 1:11 AM
Last Updated:6/9/05 10:50 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Miss Lola said...
I made the rode for an Evangelist, in a white polyester (owner purchased the fabric), the instructions were easy to follow, i did not line the upper torso (just too hot here so. fla), but I too would suggest using a twill or a bottom weight cotton.
5/19/09 10:46 AM
Chrypffs said...
I have recently purchased this pattern! I was debating what fabric to use. After reading the review, I think I've narrowed it down to poplin or twill...any suggestions?
9/14/08 9:36 PM
Ulfilas said...
I want to make a cassock for myself and I've never made anything from a pattern.. always been my Mum that made things for me. I saw a simplicity pattern.. maybe that would be a better option for a noob?
8/15/08 6:11 AM
Lynza said...
Any chance someone who's done this can give me some pointers? I foolishly chose this as my first pattern project since I was a teenager.
9/20/06 8:49 PM
ngakmafaery said...
I do enjoy the photo, all husband politics aside! I think I have the pattern around, and will take another look at it...hmm, got to be some fantastic fabric I can use around here somewhere...
9/17/06 7:20 PM
SewEccentric said...
sorry for the delays - I finally updated the photo link. And um, and the guy modeling is not my husband now *LOL*.
6/9/05 11:36 PM
KTC said...
Devantier, you need to re-post the project photo! I want to see how the coat looks when it's done well!
11/18/04 9:22 AM
KTC said...
Devantier is right: I was pretty much a beginner when I started, and this pattern was a BAPTISM BY FIRE! Plus, I imitated the cover and used black vinyl! For some reason, I just couldn't get it to fit my 10-year-old son. Another Butterick (BOYS") pattern worked fine for my 6-y-o son in a size 5; however, this NEO pattern was unisex. The size 12 should have fit my older son, but it didn't. I suspect that it's sized for GIRLS, because the A view (the primary view) is a gown. Tne Neo option is view B. I did OK with their lining instructions. The sleeve finishing could have been clearer, though.
11/18/04 9:19 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Looks great - too funny on how you obtained such a cool photo.
6/10/04 10:24 AM
Ann C said...
AWESOME.
3/11/04 8:05 PM
Annette H said...
Fashion magazine stuff!
3/11/04 6:08 PM
SewingSusan said...
I am so impressed!! Fantastic coat...hubba hubba regarding the model.
3/11/04 6:50 AM
cindyann said...
Wow! Great coat, excellent picture! Looks fabulous.
3/10/04 4:12 PM
SewEccentric said...
Wow, thanks everyone! That's actually my husband modelling (everyone in my family is subjected to this). I kept making him spin to get the flair. Then he whined he was getting dizzy so I told him to spin the other way :P You should see him model my Superman costume, it's funny! I take the pics with my digital camera and just edit out the backgrounds in Photoshop.
3/10/04 10:34 AM
MaryBeth said...
HeHeHeHe! I'm giggling and squirming with delight at this review and the fabric anaylsis. More! More!
3/10/04 9:42 AM
Mary Reed said...
Fabulous coat! On the wool blend version yoiu made, what type of wool fabric was it - also a twill? And the fiber content of your favorite version? It is truly a fabulous costume, I have always passed up the "religious" wear section of the costume books. Now I see what I have been missing.
3/10/04 8:47 AM
kathi s said...
Wow!
3/10/04 7:20 AM
Linda E. said...
my daughter would love this coat she is into the coat from matrix. beautiful coat who is the interesting model.
3/10/04 6:51 AM
JDpenelope said...
Just *who" is that modelling your coat? Who took the photo? You are one talented--and adventurous--seamstress.
3/10/04 6:45 AM
Judy Williment said...
I would never have guessed from the pattern picture that you'd get that type of skirt - looks fantastic!
3/10/04 3:38 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Kwik Sew Sewing for Toddlers

photo
by: KAHooke

Review
StyleArc Cosy Cardi

photo
by: Pollycotto...

Review
You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

More Info
SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

More Info