Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 6844 (Cassock - Matrix Coat Style) - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 4699 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:SewEccentric
photo
About SewEccentricstar
TX USA
Member since: 5/13/03
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/10/04 1:11 AM
Last Updated:6/9/05 10:50 PM


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $13.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $13.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Judy Williment said...
I would never have guessed from the pattern picture that you'd get that type of skirt - looks fantastic!
3/10/04 3:38 AM
JDpenelope said...
Just *who" is that modelling your coat? Who took the photo? You are one talented--and adventurous--seamstress.
3/10/04 6:45 AM
Linda E. said...
my daughter would love this coat she is into the coat from matrix. beautiful coat who is the interesting model.
3/10/04 6:51 AM
kathi s said...
Wow!
3/10/04 7:20 AM
Mary Reed said...
Fabulous coat! On the wool blend version yoiu made, what type of wool fabric was it - also a twill? And the fiber content of your favorite version? It is truly a fabulous costume, I have always passed up the "religious" wear section of the costume books. Now I see what I have been missing.
3/10/04 8:47 AM
MaryBeth said...
HeHeHeHe! I'm giggling and squirming with delight at this review and the fabric anaylsis. More! More!
3/10/04 9:42 AM
SewEccentric said...
Wow, thanks everyone! That's actually my husband modelling (everyone in my family is subjected to this). I kept making him spin to get the flair. Then he whined he was getting dizzy so I told him to spin the other way :P You should see him model my Superman costume, it's funny! I take the pics with my digital camera and just edit out the backgrounds in Photoshop.
3/10/04 10:34 AM
cindyann said...
Wow! Great coat, excellent picture! Looks fabulous.
3/10/04 4:12 PM
SewingSusan said...
I am so impressed!! Fantastic coat...hubba hubba regarding the model.
3/11/04 6:50 AM
Annette H said...
Fashion magazine stuff!
3/11/04 6:08 PM
Ann C said...
AWESOME.
3/11/04 8:05 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Looks great - too funny on how you obtained such a cool photo.
6/10/04 10:24 AM
KTC said...
Devantier is right: I was pretty much a beginner when I started, and this pattern was a BAPTISM BY FIRE! Plus, I imitated the cover and used black vinyl! For some reason, I just couldn't get it to fit my 10-year-old son. Another Butterick (BOYS") pattern worked fine for my 6-y-o son in a size 5; however, this NEO pattern was unisex. The size 12 should have fit my older son, but it didn't. I suspect that it's sized for GIRLS, because the A view (the primary view) is a gown. Tne Neo option is view B. I did OK with their lining instructions. The sleeve finishing could have been clearer, though.
11/18/04 9:19 AM
KTC said...
Devantier, you need to re-post the project photo! I want to see how the coat looks when it's done well!
11/18/04 9:22 AM
SewEccentric said...
sorry for the delays - I finally updated the photo link. And um, and the guy modeling is not my husband now *LOL*.
6/9/05 11:36 PM
ngakmafaery said...
I do enjoy the photo, all husband politics aside! I think I have the pattern around, and will take another look at it...hmm, got to be some fantastic fabric I can use around here somewhere...
9/17/06 7:20 PM
Lynza said...
Any chance someone who's done this can give me some pointers? I foolishly chose this as my first pattern project since I was a teenager.
9/20/06 8:49 PM
Ulfilas said...
I want to make a cassock for myself and I've never made anything from a pattern.. always been my Mum that made things for me. I saw a simplicity pattern.. maybe that would be a better option for a noob?
8/15/08 6:11 AM
Chrypffs said...
I have recently purchased this pattern! I was debating what fabric to use. After reading the review, I think I've narrowed it down to poplin or twill...any suggestions?
9/14/08 9:36 PM
Miss Lola said...
I made the rode for an Evangelist, in a white polyester (owner purchased the fabric), the instructions were easy to follow, i did not line the upper torso (just too hot here so. fla), but I too would suggest using a twill or a bottom weight cotton.
5/19/09 10:46 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Butterick 5348
photo
Review by Kristine K... on 8/14/09
Read Review

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Pussy Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 6M- 4)
Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 6M- 4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 4634 year 1958
photo
Review by Kellie R. on 1/31/10
Read Review

Butterick 5883 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5883 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6029 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 6029 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us