SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6365 (Bags in Six Styles)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1874 times 
Reviewed by:Kris O
photo

 
 
About Kris Ostar
OK USA
Member since: 5/4/03
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/10/04 9:46 AM
Last Updated:3/11/04 11:17 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Debra Avery said...
i made view c on this pattern which was easy enough to make, but the lining is much shorter than the bag, so in other words, the inside is only as deep as about 1/2 the bag. the instructions say this is the way the designer wanted it. the second time i made it, i went ahead and cut the lining deeper and i liked it better. very simple to sew, not wide but deep. made it in black toile first and red hat fabric second.
4/13/05 7:16 AM
JDpenelope said...
PS. I love your bag.
3/11/04 9:36 PM
JDpenelope said...
Wow, there's a lot of unusual materials in your bag! Is the pleather difficult to sew? You attended to many details on this purse, including the facing! I'm not sure how fusible fleece would work with pleather, but it worked nicely for me on my first bag (made of a mystery home dec fabric).
3/11/04 9:17 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Looks like fashionable,bright bags being sold in department stores everywhere. I have made many purses over the years prior to this new craze and the best "interfacing" to use is fusible fleece. With pleather you may have to apply the fleece to the lining fabric instead of pleahter because of the heat. I done with other fabrics as well and it works ok with the lining fabric, provided that is cotton or something a little sturday. You could even sew in the fleece. This just gives bags more weight and neccesary stiffness.
3/11/04 5:43 AM
AnneM said...
The pattern url: http://www.simplicity.com/designFrame.cfm?designId=10820&design=6365&CFID=1720624&CFTOKEN=32932375 (I usually book-mark the page, and then go to it in a new window. If you use Opera, you can turn the address window back on.)
3/11/04 4:23 AM
cindyann said...
very cool looking bag! Nice job
3/10/04 4:11 PM
Kris O said...
PamJr, sorry about the link. I used to know how to do it directly, but Simplicity has changed its website and I can't figure out how to link to the pattern. The best I can do is the home page and you'll have to input the pattern number from there.
3/10/04 12:12 PM
sewywabbit said...
So cute...no one would ever guess that you made this!!
3/10/04 11:55 AM
SewTabby said...
Very nice bag!
3/10/04 11:27 AM
PamJr said...
Thanks for the review. The pattern isn't shown on the link you give.
3/10/04 9:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Simplicity 1783

photo
by: CJgal

Review
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

More Info
Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

More Info