SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2443 (Misses' Dresses)

81 more reviews
Viewed 669 times 
Reviewed by:lizziwhizz
photo

 
 
About lizziwhizzstarstar
ME USA
Member since: 4/22/07
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 90
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:1/25/10 5:55 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Vests    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
candyo said...
All you need is a racerback bra or Strap Perfect (which I use with great success) and that issue would be solved.
2/6/10 12:02 PM
KatiCo said...
Lizziwhiz--please don't dump this! Although I understand your comfort issues, it does look cute on you, and there are racerback bras that will work fine with it, as well as layering a tee. The vest in a deep color from the print would also solve some of your concerns, and add balance. I wanted to thank you very much for your review, as I'm just returning to sewing after a long absence and your info was extremely valuable. I had recently bought this pattern and was just looking at it prior to logging on. Besides the help re the difficulty with the bodice, your info on the components' comparison with RTW sizing and the fit of this was invaluable to me--I wish more reviewers would include it. I'm only 5' and the size issue is a major reason I've procrastinated on starting again, as I know that going from measurements is not going to go that smoothly due to the differences in ease, etc. I really appreciated this review :) After reading the comments, I wanted to add a thank you to Mollyshark, as well.
1/27/10 9:03 PM
KatiCo said...
Sorry, didn't know my original comment had posted, so rewrote. Also hadn't read other comments, so duplicated the racerback bra suggestion. Apparently, we all had the same response--it's a keeper :)although we don't know how you feel wearing it... They really mean it about not hitting the refresh button after editing--it will keep repeating the original post.
1/27/10 8:48 PM
Kayseri said...
Its a shame this dress was so much work, the fabric is lovely and suits the style perfectly. The only noticeable fault now it's finished is the drop at the back waist - but this doesn't look unattractive and overall the dress looks very good. I'd put this in the cupboard for a week or two and see if you can resolve the bra issue. You may find once you've had a break from the construction horror that you enjoy wearing it.
1/27/10 0:44 AM
FloraNature said...
When I first saw this on you I thought what a flattering dress. Perhaps you can consider wearing this with a racer-back bra. It shows off your hour glass figure very well!
1/26/10 9:04 AM
mollyshark said...
Couple comments. I agree on the zipper in knit issue. I've been seeing that a lot and unless it is a very fitted dress, that is ridiculous. As far as the waistband/bodice length issues...maybe a little pre-cut tissue fitting would have helped with this one? I am only 5'3" but very long waisted. My back waist measurement says I should be oh, maybe 5'7"! So that is an adjustment I always have to do. Could be that this was just cut differently than you! As far as racerback, that is a great summer look. You can either get a racerback bra as someone suggested or, even better, get one of those bras with the removable straps and put on some that go with the dress. Yes, I'm serious. Check out www.strappys.com They are great fun! Also one word on knits in general. If there is any stretch, pleat, dart, pucker..baste that piece before you attach it to another. Will save you biting off your fingers as it stretches. Also a walking foot is the best! Good luck on your next one!
1/25/10 6:46 PM
crazygrad said...
It looks pretty cute on you! And come on now... you don't a have a finger out in the pic, so it can't be THAT bad!
1/25/10 6:35 PM
Renren said...
Your review is quite humorous in the light of a disappointing project, but I must tell you, lizziwhizz, I really like your dress and I think that racerback styling is very nice on you. You have the shoulders to carry it off and to look lean and athletic. I understand the issues you had to contend with, but if I saw you wearing this out and about I would think you were wearing a very pretty dress.
1/25/10 6:19 PM
JTink said...
Oh WoW! I'm sorry this was so much trouble for you, but it looks great! The bra straps wouldn't show if you wore a razor back bra. You did a great job on this and have the perfect little figure for it.
1/25/10 6:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Vogue Patterns 1051

photo
by: kealoha

Review
SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Margo Handbag

Margo Handbag

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8837

photo
by: KathB

Review