Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2443 (Misses' Dresses) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 667 times 79 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:lizziwhizz
photo
About lizziwhizzstarstar
ME USA
Member since: 4/22/07
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 90
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:1/25/10 5:55 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Vests    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JTink said...
Oh WoW! I'm sorry this was so much trouble for you, but it looks great! The bra straps wouldn't show if you wore a razor back bra. You did a great job on this and have the perfect little figure for it.
1/25/10 6:18 PM
Renren said...
Your review is quite humorous in the light of a disappointing project, but I must tell you, lizziwhizz, I really like your dress and I think that racerback styling is very nice on you. You have the shoulders to carry it off and to look lean and athletic. I understand the issues you had to contend with, but if I saw you wearing this out and about I would think you were wearing a very pretty dress.
1/25/10 6:19 PM
crazygrad said...
It looks pretty cute on you! And come on now... you don't a have a finger out in the pic, so it can't be THAT bad!
1/25/10 6:35 PM
mollyshark said...
Couple comments. I agree on the zipper in knit issue. I've been seeing that a lot and unless it is a very fitted dress, that is ridiculous. As far as the waistband/bodice length issues...maybe a little pre-cut tissue fitting would have helped with this one? I am only 5'3" but very long waisted. My back waist measurement says I should be oh, maybe 5'7"! So that is an adjustment I always have to do. Could be that this was just cut differently than you! As far as racerback, that is a great summer look. You can either get a racerback bra as someone suggested or, even better, get one of those bras with the removable straps and put on some that go with the dress. Yes, I'm serious. Check out www.strappys.com They are great fun! Also one word on knits in general. If there is any stretch, pleat, dart, pucker..baste that piece before you attach it to another. Will save you biting off your fingers as it stretches. Also a walking foot is the best! Good luck on your next one!
1/25/10 6:46 PM
FloraNature said...
When I first saw this on you I thought what a flattering dress. Perhaps you can consider wearing this with a racer-back bra. It shows off your hour glass figure very well!
1/26/10 9:04 AM
Kayseri said...
Its a shame this dress was so much work, the fabric is lovely and suits the style perfectly. The only noticeable fault now it's finished is the drop at the back waist - but this doesn't look unattractive and overall the dress looks very good. I'd put this in the cupboard for a week or two and see if you can resolve the bra issue. You may find once you've had a break from the construction horror that you enjoy wearing it.
1/27/10 0:44 AM
KatiCo said...
Sorry, didn't know my original comment had posted, so rewrote. Also hadn't read other comments, so duplicated the racerback bra suggestion. Apparently, we all had the same response--it's a keeper :)although we don't know how you feel wearing it... They really mean it about not hitting the refresh button after editing--it will keep repeating the original post.
1/27/10 8:48 PM
KatiCo said...
Lizziwhiz--please don't dump this! Although I understand your comfort issues, it does look cute on you, and there are racerback bras that will work fine with it, as well as layering a tee. The vest in a deep color from the print would also solve some of your concerns, and add balance. I wanted to thank you very much for your review, as I'm just returning to sewing after a long absence and your info was extremely valuable. I had recently bought this pattern and was just looking at it prior to logging on. Besides the help re the difficulty with the bodice, your info on the components' comparison with RTW sizing and the fit of this was invaluable to me--I wish more reviewers would include it. I'm only 5' and the size issue is a major reason I've procrastinated on starting again, as I know that going from measurements is not going to go that smoothly due to the differences in ease, etc. I really appreciated this review :) After reading the comments, I wanted to add a thank you to Mollyshark, as well.
1/27/10 9:03 PM
candyo said...
All you need is a racerback bra or Strap Perfect (which I use with great success) and that issue would be solved.
2/6/10 12:02 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

McCall's 2233
photo
Review by marykpfist on 12/27/11
Read Review

Vogue 8957 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8957 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8824 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8824 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used *n/a
photo
Review by wsu 1 fan on 6/14/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Tommy Boxers Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Tommy Boxers Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern
Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us