SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1129 (MISSES' JACKET)

11 more reviews
Viewed 785 times 
Reviewed by:Allie in Hong Kong
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Allie in Hong Kongstarstarstarstar
NA HONG KONG
Member since: 9/2/03
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 92 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/27/10 4:57 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ceejayem said...
Thanks for this helpful review, especially the information re. lining and fabric selection. It looks very classy.
2/23/14 3:37 AM
hikeswiss said...
You selected the perfect fabric for this coat and I wish I had done the same because it really does require some bulk to hang properly. I, too, had to surge the pieces once cut but since the markings were critical for the placement of the drape, I had to go back and mark them in chalk. The sleeves are quite slim so I agree with you; measure before you cut it out and add an inch or two to the sleeve width. Your coat is gorgeous!
11/13/10 0:29 AM
salsera7 said...
Thanks so much for making this and making it look classy! I looked at the pattern when it first came out but it didn't jump out at me. Seeing your version made me think about a textured heather gray woolen I have that would be perfect...was a Joann's earlier for the Vogue sale...guess I'll have to go back tomorrow to get this pattern. :)
1/29/10 8:55 PM
Mahler said...
Thank you for the informations on the possibilities of adding a linning. I love your version of the jacket. That said, is there anything you sew I do not like? No! I guess you did not line the drape part Thank you for this excellent review and the lovely picture of you wearing the stunning jacket.
1/28/10 12:32 PM
becca a said...
Very chic coat. You look fantastic.
1/28/10 8:49 AM
persevering said...
Yes your silhouette is fabulous, as is this jacket. Everything I've seen that you've made is inspiring to me - you take so much care that the results are impeccably great taste. (As is your apartment - enjoyed reading about it on your blog - & love your sewing area that appears earlier on.)
1/27/10 11:17 PM
sewbehind said...
Gorgeous fabric, even though it was a pain to work with. Your results are fabulous. Great jacket.
1/27/10 5:53 PM
Carolyndh said...
Very flattering and stylish! Love your rendition of it.
1/27/10 4:19 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful jacket, love the fabric!!
1/27/10 4:10 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Wow! I love this made up in boucle! The pink lining is just right .... now I have to get this pattern.
1/27/10 2:25 PM
Deb Fox said...
Superb mix of pattern and fabric. Donna Karan would be proud! It looks like you just walked off the runway with it. Your sewing skills for this garment are exceptional, and it shows. You could not convince me that this is not a very, very expensive designer coat.
1/27/10 1:48 PM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous jacket! Thanks for reminding me about this pattern--I have it in my stash. ;)
1/27/10 11:46 AM
Michelle99 said...
Love your version of this! Up to now I haven't liked all of those I've seen made up. The Solid textured fabric works well and your closures are beautiful. The pink lining is a refreshing tease. I'm gonna get myself that pattern now!
1/27/10 11:45 AM
RadarRadiance said...
It looks wonderful, great fit and job!
1/27/10 10:51 AM
RLL said...
Very nice. That boucle is fabulous for this.
1/27/10 10:46 AM
Catbird said...
I think Donna Karan herself would be proud of this coat. That fabric is perfect and you've done a beautiful job with it. It's so odd that they didn't include a lining! Your lining is gorgeous. This looks great on you!
1/27/10 10:02 AM
DorothyK said...
Stunning.
1/27/10 9:55 AM
frame said...
Beautiful!
1/27/10 8:54 AM
jent said...
Incredibly stylish! Looks gorgeous on you!
1/27/10 6:37 AM
Rebecca D said...
This jacket looks great on you. Love the pink lining. Thanks for a great review.
1/27/10 6:19 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 7845

photo
by: aussiecath

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Buy Now