Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1132 (MISSES' JACKET, SKIRT AND PANT) thumbsup - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 721 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Nan Kay
photo
Friend of PR
About Nan Kaystar
MO USA
Member since: 5/27/09
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/31/10 3:37 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Pants    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $27.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RadarRadiance said...
I love it on you and it is age appropriate! You pull it off great, very nice!
1/31/10 4:08 PM
Enid E said...
This looks wonderful on you! Nice job with the plaid too... I have looked at this pattern and now I know I am going to get it, and..... I am no spring chicken....
1/31/10 5:15 PM
LynnRowe said...
Love the jacket & skirt!!! I will be making the jacket at some point. ROTFLMAO re the cat feet!!! :D :D :D
1/31/10 5:37 PM
mchick said...
You look wonderful in it. It is absolutely age appropriate!
1/31/10 5:47 PM
RMJ said...
I think it looks great. Makes me wish I needed a suit.
1/31/10 5:49 PM
bluenines said...
looks great on you! and you did a great job, even with the problems that the fabric gave you
1/31/10 5:50 PM
lizpalmer said...
I loved this pattern when I first saw it, and I was hoping that someone would make a good version of it - and you have certainly done that. Looks fab on you and I think the fabric is lovely, even if it was a pain to work with. Nice job.
1/31/10 6:19 PM
sewnsewtoo said...
I love your outfit. It is very flattering and age appropriate. I disagree with you. I think you did a great job of matching the plaid.
1/31/10 6:37 PM
Kellie R. said...
What a great style on you. It's a lovely outfit and very well done!
1/31/10 6:38 PM
persevering said...
Yes this looks great on you! Not only this but everything I've seen that you've sewn! We're the same height and I'd really appreciate it if you could let me know about your measurements and if you made alterations not mentioned because I think I'm close to 12 in sizing but inexperienced and confused. Thanks! :)
1/31/10 6:39 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Fabulous suit! Love the plaid! Great job
1/31/10 6:56 PM
Nan Kay said...
Golly, you all make me feel much better about this project! Persevering, I wear a size 6 rtw, my measurements are approx (changes a little with how good or bad I have been), 37, 28, 371/2. But the trick for me is to go by the measurments on the pattern pieces themselves, not what the outside of the envelope says. Ease is a very personal issue and that outside measurement can be so different from what the pieces measure! Then I usually cut my side seams just a little wider than the normal allowance, that way I can make it a little looser or take it in whichever. Works for me anyway!
1/31/10 11:24 PM
senaSews said...
Beautiful suit! IMO it looks great on you!
2/1/10 3:48 AM
fryman said...
your hourglass figure can handle the peplum, regardless of size (my opinion) Lucky you who still has a waistline to show off! Also, the cheveron side seams look very professional and clean. Perhaps a lighter fabric? Do make it again and give another review. Pictures were great.
2/1/10 9:04 AM
AuntieShel said...
Absolutely beautiful!!!
2/1/10 9:40 AM
persevering said...
How kind of you to share measurements! I loved this pattern when I first saw it but could never imagine how good it could look on a body similar to mine. This style is amazing and flattering on a hour-glass figure like yours. (Remember, we really don't perceive our own bodies as others do. It seems we think we are larger than we are.) I hope you continue to make and wear clothes that are fitted because they are what flatter you the most, IMHO. Your ideas do work! In addition, it is totally age appropriate. After your comments and review, I have no hesitation to make this, or a similar style and I am 57. Thanks again!
2/1/10 12:54 PM
Bonny Dune said...
You look beautiful in it. Still laughing about the kitty feet under the door.
2/24/10 7:16 PM
kcstarr49 said...
Looks good to me!
6/5/10 9:58 AM
Miss Judy said...
I think the fabric looks absolutely stunning--it gives a very soft look to the suit! And your matching at the seams looks as good as the Vogue version! Thank you so much for sharing and inspiring!
2/22/11 2:32 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Butterick 5533 Misses' Jacket
photo
Review by marec on 10/31/13
Read Review

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern
SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2010-104 skirt
photo
Review by olgarosita on 2/17/13
Read Review

Vogue 1003 Pattern ( Size 18 )
Vogue 1003 Pattern ( Size 18 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4989 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG )
Butterick 4989 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us